Living In Fear

The History Of Horror In The Mass Media

Author: Les Daniels

Publisher: Da Capo Press, Incorporated

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 248

View: 795

'Living in Fear' unearths images overlooked or forgotten in the history of the movies, literature, comics, radio, theatre, and television. Guaranteed to send a frisson through the most jaded horror fan, here are a host of insights and leads for the student of popular culture and hours of entertainment for fans of Stephen King, John Carpenter, and other contemporary terror inspirers.

I Was a TV Horror Host

Memoirs of a Creature Features Man

Author: John Stanley

Publisher: Creatures at Large

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 201

View: 744

Once upon a time there were weird TV hosts in costumes who introduced old horror and science fiction movies on late-night programming. John Stanley, who hosted the highly rated "Creature Features" in the San Francisco-Bay Area for six years (1979-84), preferred to be just himself in normal clothing -- but in the process met some of the most unusual entertainment icons of the 20th Century. In addition to an historic overview of creepy storytellers from early movies and the Golden Age of Radio, this pictorial history, including 559 photos, many in print for the first time, updates Stanley's exclusive interview material to describe such leading players as Leonard Nimoy, William Shatner and Gene Roddenberry of "Star Trek," Lucille Ball, Arnold Schwarzenegger, fantasy author Ray Bradbury, Psycho novelist Robert Bloch, "Psycho" star Anthony Perkins, Vincent Price, Christopher Lee, special effects master Ray Harryhausen, B-picture producer Roger Corman, movie gimmick specialist William Castle, George Romero, and "Star Wars" figures Anthony Daniels, David Prowse and Peter Mayhew. Stanley also profiles fellow horror hosts Joe Bob Briggs, Elvira, Ghoulardi and Zacherley. The result is a swirling cauldron of fascinating media history -- as only Stanley, who spent 33 years at the San Francisco Chronicle writing about movies and TV production, could recast it.

The Essential Monster Movie Guide

A Century of Creature Features on Film, Tv and Video

Author: Stephen Jones

Publisher: Watson-Guptill Publications

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 448

View: 830

This guide alphabetically lists 4000 plus horror movies and television shows, some very obscure, that featured monsters. Each entry provides a plot synopsis, identifies the cast and director, and rates the film on a five star scale. No index. Originally published by Billboard Books. c. Book News Inc.

Creature Features

The Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror Movie Guide

Author: John Stanley

Publisher: Berkley

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 596

View: 374

Thoroughly updated to incorporate the latest releases, this offbeat movie guide presents critical and humorous reviews of science fiction, fantasy, and horror films from every medium, offering thousands of capsulized reviews, a five-star rating system, video and laserdisc distribution information, and more. Original.

Vampira and Her Daughters

Women Horror Movie Hosts from the 1950s into the Internet Era

Author: Robert Michael “Bobb” Cotter

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 172

View: 122

From Vampira to Elvira, Mistress of the Dark, female horror movie hosts have long been a staple of late-night television. Broadcast on local stations and cable access channels, characters such as Moona Lisa, Stella, Crematia Mortem and Tarantula Ghoul brought an entertaining blend of macabre camp and after-prime-time sexuality to American living rooms in the 1950s through 1990s. Despite a near total lack of local programming today, the tradition continues on the Internet and Roku and other modern media. Featuring exclusive interviews and rare photographs, this book covers dozens of “dream ghouls” with alphabetical entries, from Aunt Gertie to Veronique Von Venom.

Fate Is My Pimp/Romance Takes a Rain Check

Author: Will Viharo

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 378

View: 582

FATE IS MY PIMP picks up the torrid trail of Vic Valentine, Private Eye as he traverses the mean streets of San Francisco and beyond in search of a mobster's missing teenage daughter, encountering various voluptuous vixens, a female surf band, and a stalker leaving him mysterious musical messages, all while infiltrating an Elvis-theme commune for runaways, led by a deviously decadent Deacon Rivers. Follow the further misadventures of this misguided misfit introduced in LOVE STORIES ARE TOO VIOLENT FOR ME as he continues looking for love in all the wrong places, and unfortunately for him - finding it. Plus! ROMANCE TAKES A RAIN CHECK finds Vic back on the East Coast, tracking down a lead on his cop father's killer, visiting his mother in an asylum, and reuniting with his high school sweetheart, Dolly Duncan, now married to a doper dentist. Nothing is what it seems, times and people have changed, and Vic is going to learn the hard way - again - that some bones, and boners, are best left buried.

This Music Leaves Stains

The Complete Story of the Misfits

Author: James Greene Jr.

Publisher: Scarecrow Press

ISBN:

Category: Music

Page: 202

View: 807

Few bands in the past three decades have proven as affecting or exciting as the Misfits, the ferocious horror punk outfit that lurked in the shadows of suburban New Jersey and released a handful of pivotal underground recordings during their brief, tumultuous time together. Led by Glenn Danzig, a singer possessed of vision and blessed with an incredible baritone, the Misfits pioneered a death rock sound that would reverberate through the various musical subgenres that sprung up in their wake. This Music Leaves Stains now presents the full story behind the Misfits and their ubiquitous, haunting skull logo, a story of unique talent, strange timing, clashing personalities, and incredible music that helped shape rock as we know it today. James Greene, Jr., maps this narrative from the band's birth at the tail end of the original punk movement through their messy dissolve at the dawn of the 1980s right on through the legal warring and inexplicable reunions that helped carry the band into the 21st century. Music junkies of any stripe will surely find themselves engrossed in this saga that finally pieces together the full story of the greatest horror punk band that ever existed, though Misfits fans will truly marvel at the thorough and detailed approach James Greene, Jr. has taken in outlining the rise, fall, resurrection, and influence of New Jersey's most frightening musical assembly.

Scared!

How to Draw Fantastic Horror Comic Characters

Author: Steve Miller

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 144

View: 182

A guide to drawing horror comics provides a brief history of the genre, from EC Comics to Vertigo, and offers detailed, step-by-step instructions for drawing such creatures as werewolves, vampires, and swamp monsters.

Post Script

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Film adaptations

Page:

View: 257

Essays in film and the humanities.

Television Horror Movie Hosts

68 Vampires, Mad Scientists and Other Denizens of the Late-Night Airwaves Examined and Interviewed

Author: Elena M. Watson

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 256

View: 131

Midnight, 1954. A striking woman in a torn black dress slinks down a cobwebbed, candelabra’d corridor. She stops, shrieks hysterically into the camera, then solemnly says, “Good evening, I am Vampira.” Her real name is Maila Nurmi and she was the first in a long line of television horror movie hosts, commonly seen on independent stations’ late-night “grade Z” offerings dressed as some zany ghoul or mad scientist. This book covers the major hosts in detail, along with styles and show themes. Merchandise tie-in and fan reactions are also chronicled. The appendices list film and record credits.

Video Movie Guide 2002

Author: Mick Martin

Publisher: Fawcett

ISBN:

Category: Motion pictures

Page: 1582

View: 542

This bestselling video guide to films, serials, TV movies, and old TV series available on video is completely updated with the newest releases. Containing more than 18,000 listings, this revised edition includes 400 new entries that are detailed with a summary, commentary, director, cast members, MPAA rating, and authors' rating.

Monster Mash

The Creepy, Kooky Monster Craze In America, 1957-1972

Author: Mark Voger

Publisher: TwoMorrows Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 192

View: 451

Time-trip back to the frightening era of 1957-1972, when monsters stomped into the American mainstream! Once Frankenstein and fiends infiltrated TV in 1957, an avalanche of monster magazines, toys, games, trading cards, and comic books crashed upon an unsuspecting public. This profusely illustrated full-color hardcover covers that creepy, kooky Monster Craze through features on Famous Monsters of Filmland magazine, the #1 hit “Monster Mash,” Aurora’s model kits, TV shows (Shock Theatre, The Addams Family, The Munsters, and Dark Shadows), “Mars Attacks” trading cards, Eerie Publications, Planet of the Apes, and more! It features interviews with James Warren (Creepy, Eerie, and Vampirella magazines), Forrest J Ackerman (Famous Monsters of Filmland), John Astin (The Addams Family), Al Lewis (The Munsters), Jonathan Frid (Dark Shadows), George Barris (monster car customizer), Ed “Big Daddy” Roth (Rat Fink), Bobby (Boris) Pickett (Monster Mash singer/songwriter) and others, with a Foreword by TV horror host Zacherley, the “Cool Ghoul.” Written by Mark Voger.

Video Movie Guide 2001

Author: Mick Martin

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 1600

View: 617

Reviews thousands of movies and rates each film according to a five-star rating system, and features cross-indexing by title, director, and cast.

The Video Movie Guide 2000

Author: Mick Martin

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN:

Category: Motion pictures

Page: 1600

View: 770

The latest edition of the perennial bestseller reviews more than 18,000 films and TV shows on video, including hundreds of the latest releases. The guide also reviews television series and shows how to order the shows on video. Includes an Index of directors and cast, as well as a list of Academy Award winners of the past eight decades.

The Frankenstein Scrapbook

The Complete Movie Guide to the World's Most Famous Monster

Author: Stephen Jones

Publisher: Citadel Press

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 143

View: 392

Comedy on Record

The Complete Critical Discography

Author: Ronald L. Smith

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN:

Category: American wit and humor

Page: 728

View: 661

Cue

The Weekly Magazine of New York Life

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Amusements

Page:

View: 192