Your Own Worst Enemy

Author: Gordon Jack

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 448

View: 603

For fans of Andrew Smith and Frank Portman and the movies Election and Ferris Bueller’s Day Off comes a hilarious and satirical novel about the highs and (very low) lows of the electoral process, proving that the popular vote is the one that matters most. Stacey Wynn was the clear front-runner for Lincoln High student council president. But then French-Canadian transfer student Julia Romero entered the race…and put the moves on Stacey’s best friend/campaign adviser, Brian. Stacey also didn’t count on Tony Guo, resident stoner, whose sole focus is on removing the school’s ban of his favorite chocolate milk, becoming the voice of the little guy, thanks to a freshman political “mastermind” with a blue Mohawk. Three candidates, three platforms, and a whirlwind of social media, gaffes, high school drama, and protests make for a ridiculously hilarious political circus that just may hold some poignant truth somewhere in the mix.

Your own worst enemy

understanding the paradox of self-defeating behavior

Author: Steven Berglas

Publisher: Basic Books

ISBN:

Category: Medical

Page: 216

View: 588

Describes the underlying causes of self-defeating behavior and provides strategies for overcoming them

Your Own Worst Enemy

Author: Ken Christian

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 304

View: 100

Do you suffer from any of the following? Procrastination Wide swings of mood and self-esteem Ambivalence in making decisions Dreaming big, but never following through If you or someone you love isn't living up to his or her potential -- and suffers from even one or two of the above feelings -- here is a program that can help. Your Own Worst Enemy is the first book devoted to the problem of adult underachievement, a problem stemming from common behavior patterns that can manifest itself in almost every walk of life -- from twentysomethings stuck in dead-end jobs to outwardly successful businesspeople who can't help feeling they've missed their true calling. In Your Own Worst Enemy, Dr. Kenneth Christian details the telltale signs of what he calls self-limiting behavior -- everyday habits that can seem harless (like taking unchallenging jobs) or even worthwhile (like setting absurdly high standards), but that over time can send high-potential people into a tailspin of dead ends and frustration. He identifies underachieving types, from charmers, who substitute congeniality for effort, to extreme risk-takers, who casually gamble their future away, to best-or-nothings, who refuse to play if they can't win. And he offers practical 15-step guide to help underachievers shake off their old habits and start taking an active hand in their own future. Filled with persuasive case studies and useful advice on everything from overhauling workspace to remaking self-image, Your Own Worst Enemy will help underachievers everywhere visualize their goals, break through their barriers, and start realizing their unlimited potential.

You Are Your Own Worst Enemy

How To Stop Self Sabotaging Behaviors Once and For All!

Author: Michael Widmore

Publisher: Gem delos Santos

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 44

View: 515

In this book we are going to be exploring fully about self sabotage. Most do not realize the seriousness of this problem. A vast majority of the problems we are encountering in life actually come from within and not put on by external situations and influences. Because of the nature of how our subconscious mind works, it is able to create events that on the surface look like they come from external situations which is not really the case in a lot of cases. Bad luck, obstacles, illnesses, forgetfulness, procrastination and over a dozen other excuses are things we ourselves cause to sabotage ourselves invisibly. Lack of drive or easily ejecting the first sight of resistance or problems are also manifestations of a messy internal programming and in actuality a form of self sabotage that is not usually recognized and thus fixed. That and more are the very things we are going to be taking care off and permanently fixing in this book. ================= TABLE OF CONTENTS ================= Introduction Self Regrets Guilt Protects Us From Punishment Sense Of Guilt Keeps Us In Control We Were Programmed To Think It's Our Fault Anti-Happiness Programmings Conquer Your Fears! Get To Know Your Fears Basic Fears Fears And Low Self Esteem Fear Of Success Cannot See The Forest For The Trees Myth Of Perfect Timing The Sky Is Falling Thinking Problematic Personality Disorders Passive-Aggressive Personality Self-Defeating Personality Disorder Perfectionism Perfectionisms Is Just Procrastination In Disguise Striving To Be The Best Is A Double-Edged Sword The Vicious Cycle Establish Reasonable Objectives Seek Help Failure Is A Friend Being Overwhelmed Self Limiting Beliefs Divide And Conquer These Bad Beliefs Sense Of Abundance Emotional Freedom Technique The Structure Of Beliefs To Believe Is To See Not To See Is To Believe How We Sabotage Ourselves We Compare Ourselves To Others Poor Self Image Programmed Innate Resistance Hypnotic Goals Establishing Goals You Should Have A Single-Minded Focus Understanding Just What Is Very Important To Us Optimizing Time Start From The End Contingency Plans The Best Ways To Stop Self Sabotage Self Honesty Change Your Habits Find Your "Whys" Reprogramming Our Mental Operating System Install Positive Self Image Positive Thinking Avoid Unrealistic Over Expectation Thinking Do Not Feel Guilty Around Things Beyond Your Control Forgiveness And Moving On Conclusion

Our own worst enemy

why our misguided reactions to 9-11 might be America's greatest threat

Author: Randall J. Larsen

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Political Science

Page: 48

View: 101

You Are Your Own Worst Enemy

Author: Sean Mullick

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 139

View: 518

Sean, Ale, and Oualid were three normal and innocent kids who just liked hanging out. One day they visited a government facility and something caught Sean’s eye. He picked up a strange rock and that sends the tree friends into a huge sprawl and to a different dimension! They have to deal with trying to get home and saving it from their counterparts from different dimensions. Can they preserve the world as they know it or will they be killed by themselves?

Our Own Worst Enemy

Asking the Right Questions About Security to Protect You, Your Family, and America

Author: Randall Larsen

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 300

View: 676

OUR OWN WORST ENEMY provides a solid, practical, logical approach to personal security for all Americans and explains why the government is not prepared to help us in a time of crisis (Katrina, 9/11, etc.). Leading homeland security expert Randall J. Larsen details what we must do as citizens to protect ourselves, our families and our assets. The key, Larsen argues, is finally asking the right questions about homeland security, such as: -"How do we prevent a terrorist organization from becoming a nuclear power?" The media frequently poses the question: "What can we do to ensure that al Qaeda does not smuggle a nuclear weapon into the U.S. through one of our ports?" But the right question should focus on prevention -- and the answer is far different from the discussion that dominates the debate and the spending priorities of the Bush Administration and Congress. -"Who should be in charge of logistics during a major disaster?" Larsen says that it's not the military. The fact is, no one is better at logistics than American businesses such as FedEx, UPS, and Target. OUR OWN WORST ENEMY states that the government should encourage citizens and businesses to be active and learn to "posse up" while looking to the private sector to provide food, water, shelter, and transportation during a natural or man-made crisis. Larsen offers a strong combination of practical advice (Did you know a $1 mask can save your life in the event of a dirty bomb?) and wise examination of such key issues as the economy, borders and immigration, national health care, personal security, and more.

Your Own Worst Enemy

Author: Anthony Devolld

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 170

View: 424

A book of sermons from the sermon series Exceed Yourself about identifying our internal battles and learning how to overcome being our own worst enemy.

My Own Worst Enemy

Overcoming Nineteen Ways We Defeat Ourselves

Author: Alan Nelson

Publisher: Spire

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 255

View: 484

''Mirror, mirror, on the wall'' reveals the enemy to be one's own self. Readers learn how to combat self-sabotaging habits and reach their God-given potential.

Are You Your Own Worst Enemy?

The Nine Inner Strengths You Need to Overcome Self-Defeating Tendencies at Work

Author: Charles E. Watson

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 188

View: 818

Two experts identify common obstacles that prevent people from achieving success, fulfillment, and happiness at work, while offering practical strategies to overcome them.