You May Now Kill the Bride

Author: R.L. Stine

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 352

View: 266

NEW Fear Street stories with a retro look, perfect for fans of Stranger Things! Two sisters, divided by time. Each with a terrible resentment she can barely contain. Two Fear family weddings, decades apart... Each bride will find that the ancient curse that haunts the Fears LIVES ON. It feeds off the evil that courses through their blood. It takes its toll in unexpected ways, and allows dark history to repeat itself. In this all-new Fear Street story, family ties bind sisters together—till DEATH do they part.

You May Now Kill the Bride

Author: Deborah Donnelly

Publisher: Dell

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 395

You are cordially invited. . . . Don’t miss amateur detective Carnegie Kincaid, expert in all things matrimony and murder, in the Hallmark original movie Wedding Planner Mystery on Hallmark Movies & Mysteries! On picturesque San Juan Island, love and lavender are in the air. So, unfortunately, are jealousy, pettiness . . . and murder. Wedding planner Carnegie Kincaid has come to the Puget Sound paradise to oversee her best friend’s wedding. But when her own mother announces her engagement to a local millionaire, Carnegie inherits more than two hostile about-to-be stepsisters and a new father she doesn’t quite trust. Juggling cops and caterers, secret lovers and sullen in-laws, Carnegie finds a season of love in an idyllic setting turning into chaos. But when the millionaire’s key employee turns up dead and the local police—including one gorgeous blond hunk of a deputy—start breathing down her neck, can she stop a match made in heaven from becoming an invitation to murder? From the Paperback edition.

Will Write for Shoes

How to Write a Chick Lit Novel

Author: Cathy Yardley

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 224

View: 414

* What is Chick Lit exactly? * How do I write a Chick Lit novel? * What are the steps I need to take to get published? Once dismissed as a fad by the popular press and literary community, the women's fiction genre called Chick Lit is now one of the hottest growing markets for new writers. In Will Write for Shoes, veteran Chick Lit and romance author Cathy Yardley addresses the common questions (and misconceptions) about the genre. Based on years of teaching about commercial women's fiction, this definitive guide provides invaluable tips and step-by-step methods for writing and selling a successful Chick Lit novel. Features include: * The history of Chick Lit * A blueprint for writing a Chick Lit novel * New trends in the genre * Tips and tools for breaking into the market * FAQs and miscellanea A directory of agents and publishers who acquire Chick Lit, sample submission materials, and online resources make this fun and comprehensive manual a must-have for all women who want to write a Chick Lit novel.

You May Now Kiss the Bride

Biblical Principles for Lifelong Marital Happiness

Author: James M. Riccitelli

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 260

View: 822

You May Now Kiss the Bride tells how to transition successfully from courtship ecstasy to married bliss. The author points out what a couple may expect after the kiss, the reception, and the honeymoon, and how to deal Christianly with problems that inevitably develop because of the new intimate relationship. He explains why a couple, after a few months of married life, may be puzzled and ask themselves, "Is this the same person I knew in courtship?" He then offers solutions that are guaranteed to work because their source is the Bible. Already married? You May Now Kiss the Bride also makes clear what to do to recapture the joy of married life and turn an unhappy marriage around. A damaged marriage heading for divorce can be repaired! The author explains how. Jesus said divorce is unnecessary, and You May Now Kiss the Bride explains why Jesus spoke "the exception clause" and what He meant by it. The book also presents simple diagrams illustrating authority and submission, why males and females handle problem-solving differently, and how the definition of love differs when female, male, or God uses the word. You May Now Kiss the Bride is ideal for both pre-marital and post-wedding counseling. Any person desiring stronger personal relationships with others can also profit from this book. The biblical principles set forth and the techniques to implement them are simple but effective.

Sequels

An Annotated Guide to Novels in Series

Author: Janet Husband

Publisher: American Library Association

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 782

View: 773

A guide to series fiction lists popular series, identifies novels by character, and offers guidance on the order in which to read unnumbered series.

Blood Wedding

Author: Federico García Lorca

Publisher: Manchester University Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 96

View: 361

Bodas de sangre is arguably the best-known work by the most celebrated of all twentieth-century Spanish writers. A passionate story of family feud and tragic elopement is played out in the setting of a poor country village, building up to a dramatic ending full of the intensely poetic symbolism characteristic of Lorca.

The Sherbrooke Bride

Bride Series

Author: Catherine Coulter

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 236

The first book in Catherine Coulter's beloved Bride series. Douglas Sherbrooke, Earl of Northcliffe, marries the wrong woman-only to find himself haunted by a bride of an entirely different kind.

The Reluctant Bride

One Woman's Journey (Kicking and Screaming) Down the Aisle

Author: Lucy Mangan

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 384

View: 121

Will Lucy make it down the aisle? It's going to be an uphill struggle . . . The bride: A late starter in life, Lucy always swore she'd never get married. But now she has to find a caterer who doesn't charge a fortune for a cupcake, a dressmaker who doesn't make her cry and a way to bring Great-Auntie Betty down from Dundee for the sixpence she is willing to spend - isn't it meant to be HER special day? The groom: Christopher has spent twenty minutes compiling his guest list and checking his suit fits before returning to his newspaper - this wedding business isn't so hard after all. The mother of the bride: Armed with colour-coded wedding planning folders she is all set. However, twice-daily conversations with her daughter don't seem to be shortening the 'to-do' list she's drawn up. The father of the bride: A wedding? My daughter? Who's she marrying? The best friend: Gillian has stood by Lucy through thick and thin, but she is refusing to be a bridesmaid and wear a daft dress.

The Strange Bride

Author: Grace Ogot

Publisher: East African Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 156

View: 779

An interpretation of a Luo myth. The people of GotOwaga lead a placid, almost idyllic, life-style until the glamorous and mysterious Nyawir suddenly appears from an unknown world.

Killing the Moonlight

Modernism in Venice

Author: Jennifer Scappettone

Publisher: Columbia University Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 472

View: 556

As a city that seems to float between Europe and Asia, removed by a lagoon from the tempos of terra firma, Venice has long seduced the Western imagination. Since the 1797 fall of the Venetian Republic, fantasies about the sinking city have engendered an elaborate series of romantic clichés, provoking conflicting responses: some modern artists and intellectuals embrace the resistance to modernity manifest in Venice's labyrinthine premodern form and temporality, whereas others aspire to modernize by "killing the moonlight" of Venice, in the Futurists' notorious phrase. Spanning the history of literature, art, and architecture—from John Ruskin, Henry James, and Ezra Pound to Manfredo Tafuri, Italo Calvino, Jeanette Winterson, and Robert Coover—Killing the Moonlight tracks the pressures that modernity has placed on the legacy of romantic Venice, and the distinctive strains of aesthetic invention that resulted from the clash. In Venetian incarnations of modernism, the anachronistic urban fabric and vestigial sentiment that both the nation-state of Italy and the historical avant-garde would cast off become incompletely assimilated parts of the new. Killing the Moonlight brings Venice into the geography of modernity as a living city rather than a metaphor for death, and presents the archipelago as a crucible for those seeking to define and transgress the conceptual limits of modernism. In strategic detours from the capitals of modernity, the book redrafts the confines of modernist culture in both geographical and historical terms.