Yes, I'm Adopted!

Author: Sharlie Zinniger

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Adoption

Page: 24

View: 690

Simple text and ample pictures describe what adoption is and how it works.

Cinematic Representations of Alzheimer’s Disease

Author: Raquel Medina

Publisher: Springer

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 224

View: 345

This book offers a cross-cultural approach to cinematic representations of Alzheimer’s disease in non-mainstream cinema. Even though Alzheimer’s disease, the most common form of dementia, is a global health issue, it is not perceived or represented homogenously around the world. Contrary to very well-known mainstream films, the films discussed do not focus on the negative aspects normally associated with Alzheimer’s disease, but on the importance of portraying the perspective of the persons living with Alzheimer’s and their personhood. Similarly, this book analyses how the films use Alzheimer’s as a trope to address issues relating to different areas of life and society such as, for example, family matters, intergenerational relationships, gender issues, national traditions versus global modernity, and caring for people with dementia. By examining an array of films, from crime fiction to documentary, that each present non-stigmatising representations of Alzheimer’s disease, this in-depth study ultimately demonstrates the power of culture in shaping meaning.

Current Housing Reports

Annual housing survey, Saginaw, Mich., standard metropolitan statistical area. Housing characteristics for selected metropolitan areas. H-170

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Housing

Page:

View: 387

Societal Peace and Ideal Citizenship for Turkey

Author: Rasim Özgür Dönmez

Publisher: Lexington Books

ISBN:

Category: Political Science

Page: 312

View: 924

This book aims to understand the ways and means for ensuring societal peace by evaluating problems about citizenship in the Turkish regime. It also offers the ideal citizenship regime for Turkey in relation to various issues, such as the environment, gender, youth, and poverty.

Let Loose the Tigers

Passions run high when the past releases its secrets (Queenie’s Story, Book 2)

Author: Josephine Cox

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 223

View: 970

As she retraces her steps back north, Queenie threatens to disturb more than one person's future... In the sequel to Her Father's Sins, Josephine Cox writes a captivating saga in Let Loose the Tigers, in which Queenie returns to Blackburn... and to her past. Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale and Rosie Goodwin. Queenie Bedford fled her native Blackburn and the bitter knowledge that she and Rick Marsden, the man she loved, could never marry. But in 1965 she returns north again to stand by her friend Sheila Thorogood, imprisoned for running a brothel with her mother Maisie. Though Rick had vowed to find her, Queenie takes care that he should not know of her whereabouts. The magnificent Edwardian house in Blackpool is sadly neglected - but Queenie moves in with the ailing Maisie, and sets about transforming it into a sparklingly clean, highly respectable guesthouse. Meanwhile, Queenie meets the frail and confused Hannah Jason, locked away years ago for murder, and desperate for news of her long-lost son. As Rick continues his dogged search for Queenie, she sets out to find Hannah's son. But both their enquiries threaten to unlock the cage where crucial secrets have long been held captive. What readers have been saying about Let Loose the Tigers: 'This book was brilliant, once you pick it up you cannot put it down because you need to know what happens next' 'Keeps you spellbound till the end'

Made This Way

Author: David J. Daynes

Publisher: BalboaPress

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 244

View: 777

Come with me as I take you on an intimate and candid journey through my life. You may be wondering what makes my life so special that warrants you reading this book. Well, my life has been eventful thus far and I think it’s been quite amazing. And I’m not just saying that because it’s been my life. As I begin with my adoption, you might just shed a tear as you discover how I was chosen. It truly was an incredible culmination of Heavenly influence. You may find yourself laughing out loud as I share the best memories I had growing up and growing old. Count how many times I somehow managed to escape a variety of harrowing experiences unscathed. Not to spoil the plot, but it’s because God has always been right by my side. Sit next to me when I was told I was adopted. See how I chose to react and you’ll be astonished at how God introduced me to my biological mother. Yes, God made it possible to meet her. And how it happened is nothing short of mind-blowing. Look through my eyes and witness the power of God I’ve felt and how I know, beyond the shadow of a doubt, that God is real. You’ll even get to find out what happened to my cat, Queso. But my life wasn’t always so great. Stroll with me as I re-live my nightmares and see how I dealt with everything life has thrown at me. Sit ringside as I duke it out and eventually come to terms with my sexuality - and my religion. You may even learn a thing or two as I give my perspective on what the Bible says about being gay and decide for yourself if I really was: Made This Way.

Leadership and Management for HR Professionals

Author: Keith Porter

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 576

View: 878

This is a new and completely revised edition of the successful text published in 2000 entitled Core Management. The book provides excellent coverage of the CIPD syllabus for three core areas of the CIPD syllabus. New end of chapter website links are included. The text is written in an easy-to-read style and each chapter is linked to other relevant parts of the book.