Where the Shadows Lie

A Jungian Interpretation of Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings

Author: Pia Skogemann

Publisher: Chiron Publications

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 210

View: 957

Where the Shadows Lie takes the reader on a journey through Tolkien s Middle-earth, following the hobbits, their companions, and the characters they encounter on their quest. Along the way, Skogemann reveals the deep symbolic layers that are the source of joy and enchantment that many find in reading The Lord of the Rings. Aragorn, with the aid of Gandalf, Legolas, and Gimli, ascends to the throne and becomes the center of a great, unified kingdom--a symbol of the collective Self. The four hobbits, representing individual ego-consciousness, are transformed by the quest and acquire the psychological tools they need to renew the Shire--the small domain enfolded in the great. Jung s theories of the collective unconscious and the archetypes provide a key to understanding the forces of fantasy that are so powerful in Tolkien s masterpiece--and thereby a key to understanding ourselves and the events of the outside world in our modern times."

Where the Shadows Lie

Author: Michael Ridpath

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 804

An ancient saga. A modern legend. A secret worth killing for. Amid Iceland's wild, volcanic landscape, rumors swirl of an ancient manuscript inscribed with a long-lost saga about a ring of terrible power. A rediscovered saga alone would be worth a fortune, but, if the rumors can be believed, there is something much more valuable about this one. Something worth killing for. Something that will cost Professor Agnar Haraldsson his life. Untangling murder from myth is Iceland-born, Boston-raised detective Magnus Jonson. On loan to the Icelandic Police Force for his own protection after a Massachusetts drug cartel puts a bounty on his head, Magnus is eager work the Haraldsson case, a rare lethal crime for the island nation. But his unorthodox investigative technique soon gets him into trouble with his more traditional superiors, intensifying his mixed feelings about returning to his native country—a place of tangled family loyalties haunted by his father's unsolved murder—after nearly two decades. And as Magnus is about to discover, the past casts a long shadow in Iceland. Binding Iceland's landscape and history, secrets and superstitions in a strikingly original plot in the tradition of Arnaldur Indridason and Henning Mankell, Where the Shadows Lie is a heart-pounding new series from an established master.

Where Shadows Lie

Bay City

Author: J. E. Cammon

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Paranormal fiction

Page:

View: 819

In the underbelly of the eastern US seaport of Bay City, supernatural and non-supernatural creatures alike strive to understand the meaning of life, to belong, or simply exist. David is one of them. He is far, far away from his clan. Before Nick, his only friend used to be a vampire named Jarvis. However, Nick's only gift seems to be more of a curse: he brings change wherever he goes. When the three unlikely companions finally find the answers to their questions, they also find more mysteries needing to be solved. Eventually, they will all wish not to have been present on the evening when everything changed forever. Were the answers they received worth trading everything to darkness? After all, shadows lie. But what's a supernatural creature to do where the shadows' lies carry the promise of home?

Where Shadows Lie

Author: J. E. Cammon

Publisher: NY Books

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 560

In the underbelly of the eastern US seaport of Bay City, supernatural and non-supernatural creatures alike strive to understand the meaning of life, to belong, or simply exist. David is one of them. He is far, far away from his clan. Before Nick, his only friend used to be a vampire named Jarvis. However, Nick's only gift seems to be more of a curse: he brings change wherever he goes. When the three unlikely companions finally find the answers to their questions, they also find more mysteries needing to be solved. Eventually, they will all wish not to have been present on the evening when everything changed forever. Were the answers they received worth trading everything to darkness? After all, shadows lie. But what's a supernatural creature to do where the shadows' lies carry the promise of home?

Everyone Has a Different Favourite

A Collection of Poems

Author: C.S. Grey

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 83

View: 606

These poems were almost all written on the spur of the moment. I sat up at 2 am tapping on the keyboard and when I had finished, the poem Insomnia was on the page. Bones (A True Dog Story) comes from the stories my father tells of his hunting dog. The way he tells about the eel episode always brings a laugh. The Greatest Eagle, Under the Scorching sun and The Real Pharaoh all come from my love of wild things. I Want to be a Sailor and When I put to sea came from my love of the sea and being on ships and boats. I wrote My Country, My Home while sitting on a cliff top overlooking the west coast of New Zealand, which also inspired The old Lady on the Hill. Changing Seasons was the first piece I wrote and people who read it encouraged me to do more. A Life on the Land is about a friend of a friend. My favourite poem, The rising storm, was written during a particularly violent thunderstorm. I had to write it by torchlight as the power had gone out. I am the river comes from my love of fishing, as does Where the shadows lie. The saddest of all the poems in this collection, The Last Goodbye, is a tribute to a very good friend (who was also my first girlfriend) who was killed in early 2010 aged 30. For some time now I have had a dream of owning a motorbike. Hence Freedom on a Kickstand. Volcano comes from a documentary I was watching on White Island. Dad spent nearly 30 years working on the railway. This supplied the inspiration for Riding on a Train, and Sitting on the platform. Battle of the River Plate came about because a very good friend suggested I write about a battle or event from history that had not been put into poetry. In our dining room, when I was a child, was a photograph of the HMNZS Achilles. The two themes seemed to go hand in hand. I kept as close to historical truth as possible on this one. I hope you enjoy. Which one is your favourite?

Shadows Lie

Author: Biju Antony

Publisher: Frog in Well

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 276

View: 330

"One stormy night in 1958, two deaths rock Edward's ancestral island home. His wife, Isabella dies of poisoning; and in the backyard, a young man is hung naked from a tamarind tree. On the same night, a local communist party worker, who was planning to elope with his lover, goes missing. Edward's noble catholic family no longer seems to be what they appeared to be. Every member in the household holds a grudge or a secret. - Susanna would do anything to marry the man she loved. - Ely, the young maid abused by her master is yet to forgive him. - Ursula has a secret that comes back to haunt her after years of silence. - The beautiful Bhadra, rumoured to be ageless, lives in a shadowless world of sorcery - across the river in a forbidden estate, hidden beyond a scared serpent grove. Crime Inspector Madhav reaches the island to investigate the mysterious disappearance of the communist party worker, but finds himself quickly sucked into the intrigue of the land. Madhav comes across a pair of strange cards with seemingly meaningless words that lay trampled below the tamarind tree, where the lifeless naked body of the young man dangled some nights ago. But can Madhav unravel the mystery, as each elusive shadow that flickers around him lies?"

The Return of the King

Being the Third Part of the Lord of the Rings

Author: J.R.R. Tolkien

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 761

The third volume in J.R.R. Tolkien's epic adventure THE LORD OF THE RINGS One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them As the Shadow of Mordor grows across the land, the Companions of the Ring have become involved in separate adventures. Aragorn, revealed as the hidden heir of the ancient Kings of the West, has joined with the Riders of Rohan against the forces of Isengard, and takes part in the desperate victory of the Hornburg. Merry and Pippin, captured by Orcs, escape into Fangorn Forest and there encounter the Ents. Gandalf has miraculously returned and defeated the evil wizard, Saruman. Sam has left his master for dead after a battle with the giant spider, Shelob; but Frodo is still alive—now in the foul hands of the Orcs. And all the while the armies of the Dark Lord are massing as the One Ring draws ever nearer to the Cracks of Doom. “A triumphant close . . . a grand piece of work, grand in both conception and execution. An astonishing imaginative tour de force.” – Daily Telegraph Includes the complete appendices and index for The Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Nanotechnology

Ethics and Society

Author: Deb Bennett-Woods

Publisher: CRC Press

ISBN:

Category: Technology & Engineering

Page: 312

View: 637

From manufacturing to medicine, nanotechnology implies revolutionary change. However, the sweeping changes wrought by a technological advance of this magnitude are likely to come at a price that includes unforeseen environmental impact, disruptions in industry, displacement of workers, and deeply controversial applications of the technology and its offspring. Nanotechnology: Ethics and Society provides a conceptually clear and straightforward ethical framework, in which pragmatic questions can be raised regarding the impact of nano-related technologies. The book focuses on general issues related to nanotechnology in nanomaterials and manufacturing as well as impacts on the marketplace and workforce. After an overview of the nanotechnology revolution, the text illustrates key concepts in the assessment model and then applies this model to a case study related to human enhancement technologies. It also offers an ethical agenda for addressing the challenges of nanotechnology. Nanotechnology promises to be the next great technological revolution. This important volume provides a framework for deciding how best to take advantage of nanotechnology opportunities while also minimizing the harm of negative effects.

The Fellowship of the Ring

Being the First Part of The Lord of the Rings

Author: J.R.R. Tolkien

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 100

The first volume in J.R.R. Tolkien's epic adventure THE LORD OF THE RINGS One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them In ancient times the Rings of Power were crafted by the Elven-smiths, and Sauron, the Dark Lord, forged the One Ring, filling it with his own power so that he could rule all others. But the One Ring was taken from him, and though he sought it throughout Middle-earth, it remained lost to him. After many ages it fell into the hands of Bilbo Baggins, as told in The Hobbit. In a sleepy village in the Shire, young Frodo Baggins finds himself faced with an immense task, as his elderly cousin Bilbo entrusts the Ring to his care. Frodo must leave his home and make a perilous journey across Middle-earth to the Cracks of Doom, there to destroy the Ring and foil the Dark Lord in his evil purpose. “A unique, wholly realized other world, evoked from deep in the well of Time, massively detailed, absorbingly entertaining, profound in meaning.” – New York Times