Where the Shadows Lie

A Jungian Interpretation of Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings

Author: Pia Skogemann

Publisher: Chiron Publications

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 210

View: 239

Where the Shadows Lie takes the reader on a journey through Tolkien s Middle-earth, following the hobbits, their companions, and the characters they encounter on their quest. Along the way, Skogemann reveals the deep symbolic layers that are the source of joy and enchantment that many find in reading The Lord of the Rings. Aragorn, with the aid of Gandalf, Legolas, and Gimli, ascends to the throne and becomes the center of a great, unified kingdom--a symbol of the collective Self. The four hobbits, representing individual ego-consciousness, are transformed by the quest and acquire the psychological tools they need to renew the Shire--the small domain enfolded in the great. Jung s theories of the collective unconscious and the archetypes provide a key to understanding the forces of fantasy that are so powerful in Tolkien s masterpiece--and thereby a key to understanding ourselves and the events of the outside world in our modern times."

Where the Shadows Lie

Author: Michael Ridpath

Publisher: Atlantic Books Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 832

From the million-copy bestselling author, perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson, Anne Holt, and The Killing. "Michael Ridpath is on the war path, trouncing the Scandinavians on their home turf. This is international thriller writing at its best, fine characters, page turning suspense and a great, fresh location." PETER JAMES One thousand years ago: An Icelandic warrior returns from battle, bearing a ring cut from the right hand of his foe. Seventy years ago: An Oxford professor, working from a secret source, creates the twentieth century's most pervasive legend. The professor's name? John Ronald Reuel Tolkein. Six hours ago: An expert on Old Iceland literature, Agnar Haraldsson, is murdered. Everything is connected, but to discover how, Detective Magnus Jonson must venture where the shadows lie...

The Two Towers

Being the Second Part of The Lord of the Rings

Author: J.R.R. Tolkien

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 303

The second volume in J.R.R. Tolkien's epic adventure THE LORD OF THE RINGS One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them Frodo and his Companions of the Ring have been beset by danger during their quest to prevent the Ruling Ring from falling into the hands of the Dark Lord by destroying it in the Cracks of Doom. They have lost the wizard, Gandalf, in a battle in the Mines of Moria. And Boromir, seduced by the power of the Ring, tried to seize it by force. While Frodo and Sam made their escape, the rest of the company was attacked by Orcs. Now they continue the journey alone down the great River Anduin—alone, that is, save for the mysterious creeping figure that follows wherever they go. “Among the greatest works of imaginative fiction of the twentieth century. The book presents us with the richest profusion of new lands and creatures, from the beauty of Lothlórien to the horror of Mordor.” – Sunday Telegraph

The Fellowship of the Ring

Being the First Part of The Lord of the Rings

Author: J.R.R. Tolkien

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 864

The first volume in J.R.R. Tolkien's epic adventure THE LORD OF THE RINGS One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them In ancient times the Rings of Power were crafted by the Elven-smiths, and Sauron, the Dark Lord, forged the One Ring, filling it with his own power so that he could rule all others. But the One Ring was taken from him, and though he sought it throughout Middle-earth, it remained lost to him. After many ages it fell into the hands of Bilbo Baggins, as told in The Hobbit. In a sleepy village in the Shire, young Frodo Baggins finds himself faced with an immense task, as his elderly cousin Bilbo entrusts the Ring to his care. Frodo must leave his home and make a perilous journey across Middle-earth to the Cracks of Doom, there to destroy the Ring and foil the Dark Lord in his evil purpose. “A unique, wholly realized other world, evoked from deep in the well of Time, massively detailed, absorbingly entertaining, profound in meaning.” – New York Times

The Return of the King

Being the Third Part of the Lord of the Rings

Author: J.R.R. Tolkien

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 926

The third volume in J.R.R. Tolkien's epic adventure THE LORD OF THE RINGS One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them As the Shadow of Mordor grows across the land, the Companions of the Ring have become involved in separate adventures. Aragorn, revealed as the hidden heir of the ancient Kings of the West, has joined with the Riders of Rohan against the forces of Isengard, and takes part in the desperate victory of the Hornburg. Merry and Pippin, captured by Orcs, escape into Fangorn Forest and there encounter the Ents. Gandalf has miraculously returned and defeated the evil wizard, Saruman. Sam has left his master for dead after a battle with the giant spider, Shelob; but Frodo is still alive—now in the foul hands of the Orcs. And all the while the armies of the Dark Lord are massing as the One Ring draws ever nearer to the Cracks of Doom. “A triumphant close . . . a grand piece of work, grand in both conception and execution. An astonishing imaginative tour de force.” – Daily Telegraph Includes the complete appendices and index for The Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Nanotechnology

Ethics and Society

Author: Deb Bennett-Woods

Publisher: CRC Press

ISBN:

Category: Technology & Engineering

Page: 312

View: 676

From manufacturing to medicine, nanotechnology implies revolutionary change. However, the sweeping changes wrought by a technological advance of this magnitude are likely to come at a price that includes unforeseen environmental impact, disruptions in industry, displacement of workers, and deeply controversial applications of the technology and its offspring. Nanotechnology: Ethics and Society provides a conceptually clear and straightforward ethical framework, in which pragmatic questions can be raised regarding the impact of nano-related technologies. The book focuses on general issues related to nanotechnology in nanomaterials and manufacturing as well as impacts on the marketplace and workforce. After an overview of the nanotechnology revolution, the text illustrates key concepts in the assessment model and then applies this model to a case study related to human enhancement technologies. It also offers an ethical agenda for addressing the challenges of nanotechnology. Nanotechnology promises to be the next great technological revolution. This important volume provides a framework for deciding how best to take advantage of nanotechnology opportunities while also minimizing the harm of negative effects.

Mobile Agents: Control Algorithms

Author: Joachim Baumann

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN:

Category: Computers

Page: 161

View: 996

In this monograph, Joachim Baumann provides in-depth coverage of essential research issues; namely, mechanisms for locating and terminating mobile agents and for orphan detection in a mobile agent system. The reader will gain insights into the design and implementation of three control mechanisms for use in mobile agent systems: the energy concept, the path concept, and the shadow concept. The author examines these mechanisms and offers a solid argument as to why they would be better choices over existing mechanisms with respect to message complexity, migration delay, and availability. All in all, this book is an outstanding contribution to advancing the science of mobile agents and it will help the community better understand how to tame mobile agents.

Heir to the Shadows

Author: Anne Bishop

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 990

In the second novel set in the “darkly fascinating world” (SF Site) of Anne Bishop’s Black Jewels Trilogy, ambitions unfurl as the realm’s dreams of a liberator have finally been made flesh... The Blood have waited centuries for the coming of Witch, the living embodiment of magic. But Jaenelle, the young girl singled out by prophecy, is haunted by the cruel battles fought over her—for not all the Blood await her as their Savior. Some dismiss her as a myth. Some refuse to believe. And still others look forward to using her, making her a pawn to their shadowy devices. Only time and the devotion of her loyal guardians have healed Jaenelle’s physical wounds. But her mind is fragile, barely able to protect her from the horrifying memories of her childhood. Nothing, however, can deflect her from her destiny—and the day of reckoning looms near. When her memories return. When her magic matures. When she is forced to accept her fate. On that day, the dark Realms will know what it means to be ruled by Witch.