When Strangers Meet…

Author: K Hari Kumar

Publisher: Sristhi Publishers & Distributors

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 216

View: 917

What happens when Jai is stranded at the metro station with an irritating stranger called Iyer & a mysterious Pathan? How will the tale from Iyer’s past affect Jai’s future? And why does the mysterious Pathan keep staring at Jai? What happens inside that small room of the metro station? Nobody believes Jai when he claims that ‘He was there!’. People think he is crazy, but is he? The story revolves around Pathan, Jai & Iyer, and their tryst with each other’s destiny.A light-hearted drama with a heavy tint of suspense that captures father-son relationships from the viewpoints of three different strata of society. Action,Comedy, Romance, Drama, Suspense... A typical Bollywood fiction... A touching tale about choosing between the paths of our dreams and their expectations.

When Strangers Meet

How People You Don’t Know Can Transform You

Author: Kio Stark

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 128

View: 885

Argues for the practice of talking to strangers as a way of widening one's experience of the world, addressing the transformative possibilities as well as the political and practical considerations of engaging with strangers in public.

When Strangers Meet

Author: Shirley Kemp

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 258

The Name of the Game Hayley Morgan had had it up to here with the conceit of some men. Just because they paid her salary didn't mean they were entitled to take certain liberties. But in getting away from one man's unwelcome overtures, Hayley seemed to be laying herself open to something—or someone—even more disturbing. Especially when the perfect stranger Hayley kissed ended up being her new boss, Marcus! And when the usually cool, authoritative Mr. Marcus Maury followed her kiss by letting the charming, unpredictable side of his nature surface, Hayley knew this could be more, much more than a good working relationship. Something she'd sworn to avoid.

When Strangers Meet

Visions of Asia and Europe in Film

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Motion pictures

Page: 86

View: 966

This selection of articles and film reviews, curated by the Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema (NETPAC), spans an interesting chapter of history of the moving image and provides an unparalleled insight into the way in which Asian and Europeans have viewed each other over the course of the past century.

The Sleeper: Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off

: A dark and gripping psychological thriller

Author: Emily Barr

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 301

View: 124

Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off... Critically acclaimed author Emily Barr presents The Sleeper, a shocking psychological thriller where infidelity puts Lara in great danger. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and Sophie Hannah. 'One brilliantly compelling page-turner' - Closer Lara Finch is living a lie... Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair. When Lara vanishes from the night train without leaving a trace, only her friend Iris disbelieves the official version of events, and sets out to find her. For Iris, it is the start of a voyage that will take her further than she's ever travelled and on to a trail of old crimes and dark secrets. For Lara, it is the end of a journey that started a long time ago. A journey she must finish, before it destroys her... What readers are saying about The Sleeper: 'You become so enthralled and hooked that you cannot possibly put the book down until you have reached its conclusion' 'Spell-binding' 'A fantastic thriller that kept me awake for hours and is still playing in my head like a movie'

Learning Psychotherapy

Rationale and Ground Rules

Author: Hilde Bruch

Publisher: Harvard University Press

ISBN:

Category: Medical

Page: 150

View: 514

Hilde Bruch sets out to accomplish what has, until now, been virtually impossible - the teaching of psychotherapy by use of the written word, communicating the wisdom of a lifetime. Perhaps Dr. Bruch's unique success at a task that has been tried and tried again, only to result in stereotyped do's and don'ts, stems from her own learning experiences with two great teachers: Harry Stack Sullivan and Frieda Fromm-Reichmann. Dr. Bruch shares her knowledge of the essential purpose of intensive psychotherapy as it has been shaped over her many years as a psychiatrist, psychoanalyst, and teacher. She sets forth a theoretical frame in straightforward and unmystical language without minimizing the complexities of demand that therapy makes on both patient and therapist. The reader accompanies the therapist from his first encounter with the stranger who comes to him with his trouble through the various steps that lead to the resolution of the problems. The patient is viewed as a participant in a multifaceted system of many experiences and people, not as an individual isolated from the world around him. In Dr. Bruch's conception, psychotherapy is a situation where two people interact and try to come to an understanding of one another, with the specific goal of accomplishing something beneficial for the complaining person. The factors that help or hinder the attainment of this interaction are spelled out in the book, and the entire process of learning psychotherapy is thereby illumination.

Liquid Modernity

Author: Zygmunt Bauman

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 240

View: 438

In this new book, Bauman examines how we have moved away from a 'heavy' and 'solid', hardware-focused modernity to a 'light' and 'liquid', software-based modernity. This passage, he argues, has brought profound change to all aspects of the human condition. The new remoteness and un-reachability of global systemic structure coupled with the unstructured and under-defined, fluid state of the immediate setting of life-politics and human togetherness, call for the rethinking of the concepts and cognitive frames used to narrate human individual experience and their joint history. This book is dedicated to this task. Bauman selects five of the basic concepts which have served to make sense of shared human life - emancipation, individuality, time/space, work and community - and traces their successive incarnations and changes of meaning. Liquid Modernity concludes the analysis undertaken in Bauman's two previous books Globalization: The Human Consequences and In Search of Politics. Together these volumes form a brilliant analysis of the changing conditions of social and political life by one of the most original thinkers writing today.

The Opaque and Lights and Luminescence

Author: Carol Thuy Pham

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Philosophy

Page: 387

View: 768

In the beginning it was lite and from the clerestory shows the luminescent. There was no other light except that coveted in the derelict grand building. All surrounding it was dark amidst the night. There was only a photon of light that burns ardor from the luminescent. It was silence throughout the night and the candle was lite. All around there was no sound except the burning of the wick and its ignition. There seems to be no life except the motion that was occurring from the candle wick burning the wax that was left in eldritch contour. There was transformation. -Carol Thuy Pham

Social Psychology in Transition

Author: Lloyd Strickland

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN:

Category: Psychology

Page: 361

View: 531

Emergence of Individual Differences in Social Context ROBERT B. ZAJONC A priest who was a heavy smoker once asked his bishop if it was all right if he smoked while praying. Appalled, the bishop chastised the priest for the very thought of soiling the solemn moment of prayer with such a filthy habit. Some years passed and the bishop came again through our priest's parish. And our tormented priest asked again about his predicament. But he asked a somewhat different question: "Your excellency," he said, "is it all right to pray while smoking?" There was no hesitation in the bishop's answer. "Of course!" he said. "There is nothing in the world that should keep you from praying. You can always pray, my son. You should miss no opportunity to pray. Whenever you wish to pray, by all means pray!" The relationship between individual differences and social psychology is roughly the same as between smoking and praying. Many social psychologists, and especially experimental social psycholOgists, are openly disdainful of individ ual difference variables. They avoid them in their studies and refuse to incor porate them in theories. The reasons for their (and we really should say "my" because the author is no exception in this matter) attitude are not obvious.