When Beauty Tamed The Beast

Number 2 in series

Author: Eloisa James

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 980

'Nothing gets me to a bookstore faster than Eloisa James' - Julia Quinn Miss Linnet Berry Thrynne is a Beauty . . . Naturally, she's betrothed to a Beast. If only her gown hadn't been so fully cut, or she hadn't been caught kissing that prince . . . But now the ton believes Linnet to be with royal child - and therefore unmarriageable - so she might as well make her desperate father happy by consenting to wed a beast. A brilliant surgeon with a reputation for losing his temper - and a wound believed to have left him . . . incapable - Piers, Earl of Montague, should welcome a bride-to-be carrying a ready-made, blue-blooded heir. But Piers isn't fooled by the lady's subterfuge, and though Linnet's devilishly smart and charming with a loveliness that outshines the sun, there will be no wedding of beauty to beast. Still, Linnet finds the gorgeous brute intriguing, with a spark of gentility behind his growl that's worth fanning. And it's obvious to the naked eye that 'incapable' does not mean 'uninterested'... 'Eloisa James is extraordinary' - Lisa Kleypas 'Romance writing does not get much better than this' - People

Folktales and Fairy Tales: Traditions and Texts from around the World, 2nd Edition [4 volumes]

Traditions and Texts from around the World

Author: Anne E. Duggan Ph.D.

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 1590

View: 577

Encyclopedic in its coverage, this one-of-a-kind reference is ideal for students, scholars, and others who need reliable, up-to-date information on folk and fairy tales, past and present. • Provides encyclopedic coverage of folktales and fairy tales from around the globe • Covers not only the history of the fairy tale, but also topics of contemporary importance such as the fairy tale in manga, television, pop music, and music videos • Brings together the study of geography, culture, history, and anthropology • Revises and expands an award-winning work to now include a full volume of selected tales and texts

Storming the Castle: An Original Short Story with Bonus Content

Author: Eloisa James

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 100

View: 641

An exclusive eBook original novella with bonus excerpts from A Kiss At Midnight and the forthcoming When Beauty Tamed the Beast from New York Times bestselling author Eloisa James. Featuring the handsome and mysterious Wick from A Kiss At Midnight. What Miss Phillipa Damson needs is a good, old fashioned knight in shining armor. What she has is a fiancé she never wanted and a compelling urge to run away. But if she manages to escape, will she find her happily ever after?

The Duke Is Mine

Author: Eloisa James

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 919

“Eloisa James is extraordinary.” —Lisa Kleypas In the capable hands of USA Today and New York Times bestselling author Eloisa James, the fairy tales we loved as children take on vibrant—and sensuous—new life. With The Duke is Mine, the beloved author of A Kiss at Midnight and When Beauty Tamed the Beast gives the classic tale of the Princess and the Pea a delightfully romantic Regency spin. Fans of Victoria Alexander and Julia Quinn will simply adore this historical romance gem about a lady reluctantly betrothed to one duke but pursued by another; a tantalizing tale of love, lies, and one very uncomfortable mattress.

Mixed Magic

Global-local Dialogues in Fairy Tales for Young Readers

Author: Anna Katrina Gutierrez

Publisher: John Benjamins Publishing Company

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 250

View: 99

Mixed Magic -- Editorial page -- Title page -- LCC data -- Table of contents -- Table of figures -- Acknowledgments -- Introduction -- 1. Understanding glocalization and fairy tales -- 1.1 Global connections: An overview -- 1.1.1 Imagining the global, the local, and the glocal -- 1.2 A cognitive understanding of glocalization -- 1.2.1 An overview of important terms -- 1.2.2 The cognitive blending of global and local -- 1.3 Glocalization, children's literature, and subjectivity -- 1.4 Reading the glocal -- 1.5 Approaches to subjectivity: Mixing Eastern and Western perspectives -- 1.6 Glocal relationships in children's literature -- 1.7 Spotlight on the fairy-tale network -- 2. Glocal fairy-tale retellings -- 2.1 The nation re-imagined: A mishmash of scripts -- 2.2 The immigrant's story: Living in the blend of East and West -- 2.3 Metamorphosis and the deconstruction of stereotypes -- 2.4 Subjectivity at the intersection of fairy tale, history, and globalization -- 2.5 Origins of nation reimagined: War and folktale -- 2.6 Mishmash fairy tale scripts: A deconstruction of colonial mentality -- 2.7 Reshaping the postcolonial child into the glocal child -- 2.8 From cultural diversity to cultural hybridity: The glocal script -- 3. "Can we be compassionately blended?" -- 3.1 Constructing Orient and Occident -- 3.2 Orientalization as a script and as a space -- 3.3 The forbidden chamber and the Beast's palace -- 3.4 The orientalization of Beauty and the Beast and Bluebeard: An English tradition -- 3.5 "Bluebeard" I: Constructing the orientalized space through words and pictures -- 3.6 "Bluebeard" II: Blending orientalized illustrations with a Western narrative -- 3.7 "Bluebeard" III: The forbidden chamber and the destruction of the monstrous oriental -- 3.8 "Beauty and the Beast" I: Orientalized illustrations

The Drowned Cities

Number 2 in series

Author: Paolo Bacigalupi

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 928

In this exhilarating companion to Printz Award winner and National Book Award finalist Ship Breaker, Paolo Bacigalupi brilliantly captures a dark future America that has devolved into unending civil wars, driven by demagogues who recruit children to become soulless killing machines. Two refugees of these wars, Mahlia and Mouse, are known as 'war maggots': survivors who have barely managed to escape the unspeakable violence plaguing the war-torn lands of the Drowned Cities. But their fragile safety is threatened when they discover a wounded half-man--a bioengineered war beast named Tool, who is hunted by a vengeful band of soldiers. When tragedy strikes, Mahlia is faced with an impossible decision: risk everything to save the boy who once saved her, or flee to her own safety. Drawing upon the brutal truths of current events, The Drowned Cities is a powerful story of loyalty, survival, and heart-pounding adventure.

With This Kiss: Part Two

Author: Eloisa James

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 40

View: 672

Part Two in a seductive new novella, Colin's Story, written by the queen of Regency romance, Eloisa James. Lady Grace Ryburn has accepted another man's proposal after the love of her life, Lieutenant Colin Barry, asked for her own sister's hand in marriage. But when Colin returns home from the wars, injured in body and spirit, will she be able to turn her back and marry another? Or will she throw away every rule her mother taught her and try to seduce a man who has shown no interest in her kisses? Author's Note: Be sure to read Part One first! You need to know the story of how Grace fell in love with Colin... Discover Piatkus Entice: temptation at your fingertips - www.piatkusentice.co.uk 'Nothing gets me to a bookstore faster than Eloisa James' - Julia Quinn

Winning the Wallflower

Author: Eloisa James

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 100

View: 319

It could only happen in a fairytale . . . Lady Lucy Towerton Plain and tall (according to the lady herself). Titled, and irreproachably proper (according to her fiancé). Until, overnight, she becomes . . . Lady Lucy Towerton Heiress (thanks to an aged aunt's bequest). Belle of the Ball (so say the fortune hunters of the ton). In charge of her own destiny (finally!), Lucy breaks her engagement and makes up her mind to never be proper again . . . Discover Piatkus Entice: temptation at your fingertips - www.piatkusentice.co.uk 'Nothing gets me to a bookstore faster than Eloisa James' - Julia Quinn

The Golden Age of Folk and Fairy Tales

From the Brothers Grimm to Andrew Lang

Author:

Publisher: Hackett Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 752

View: 666

In the late 18th and early 19th centuries, attitudes toward history and national identity fostered a romantic rediscovery of folk and fairy tales. This is the period of the Golden Age of folk and fairy tales, when European folklorists sought to understand and redefine the present through the common tales of the past, and long neglected stories became recognized as cultural treasures. In this rich collection, distinguished expert of fairy tales Jack Zipes continues his lifelong exploration of the story-telling tradition with a focus on the Golden Age. Included are one hundred eighty-two tales--many available in English for the first time--grouped into eighteen tale types. Zipes provides an engaging general Introduction that discusses the folk and fairy tale tradition, the impact of the Brothers Grimm, and the significance of categorizing tales into various types. Short introductions to each tale type that discuss its history, characteristics, and variants provide readers with important background information. Also included are annotations, short biographies of folklorists of the period, and a substantial bibliography. Eighteen original art works by students of the art department of Anglia Ruskin University not only illustrate the eighteen tale types, but also provide delightful—and sometimes astonishing—21st-century artistic interpretations of them.

Kissed by Cat

Author: Shirley Jump

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 569

The Cat Rules Rule #1: Cats have nine lives. Catherine Wyndham had used up her first eight avoiding mishaps and romantic misadventures. Now she had only one more left…and one last chance to find true love. Rule #2: Cats always land on their feet. Catherine usually did too, until she was waylaid one night by a purrfectly irresistible veterinarian, Garrett McAllister. He was so kind to her that soon her finicky heart began to melt, even though her inner feline told her she might be headed for a romantic crash landing! Rule #3: Good little kittens grow up, get rescued by the tom of their dreams and live happily ever after. Is that really a rule…or is it just another romantic furry tail?