What I Know Now

Letters to My Younger Self

Author: Ellyn Spragins

Publisher: Harmony

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 208

View: 635

If you could send a letter back through time to your younger self, what would the letter say? In this moving collection, forty-one famous women write letters to the women they once were, filled with advice and insights they wish they had had when they were younger. Today show correspondent Ann Curry writes to herself as a rookie reporter in her first job, telling herself not to change so much to fit in, urging her young self, “It is time to be bold about who you really are.” Country music superstar Lee Ann Womack reflects on the stressed-out year spent recording her first album and encourages her younger self to enjoy the moment, not just the end result. And Maya Angelou, leaving home at seventeen with a newborn baby in her arms, assures herself she will succeed on her own, even if she does return home every now and then. These remarkable women are joined by Madeleine Albright, Queen Noor of Jordan, Cokie Roberts, Naomi Wolf, Eileen Fisher, Jane Kaczmarek, Olympia Dukakis, Macy Gray, and many others. Their letters contain rare glimpses into the personal lives of extraordinary women and powerful wisdom that readers will treasure. Wisdom from What I Know Now “Don’t let anybody raise you. You’ve been raised.” —Maya Angelou “Try more things. Cross more lines.” —Breena Clarke “Learn how to celebrate.” —Olympia Dukakis “You don’t have to be afraid of living alone.” —Eileen Fisher “Please yourself first . . . everything else follows.” —Macy Gray “Don’t be so quick to dismiss another human being.” —Barbara Boxer “Work should not be work.” —Mary Matalin “You can leave the work world—and come back on your own terms.” —Cokie Roberts “Laundry will wait very patiently.” —Nora Roberts “Your hair matters far, far less than you think” —Lisa Scottoline “Speak the truth but ride a fast horse.” —Kitty Kelley

What I Know Now About Success

Letters from Extraordinary Women to Their Younger Selves

Author: Ellyn Spragins

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 208

View: 293

Erma Bombeck once said, “When I stand before God at the end of my life, I'd hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me.'” How each woman defines success might be a personal matter, but there are certain gems of wisdom we can all share. Editor Ellyn Spragins invited women from all walks of life to write letters to their younger selves, filled with the knowledge they wish they'd had before beginning their own journeys. Including tales from trailblazers like legendary news journalist Barbara Walters, finance expert Suze Orman, pro golfer Annika Sorenstam, fashion designer Kate Spade, newscaster Soledad O'Brien, and fashion icon Diane von Furstenberg, these letters highlight what helped each woman get ahead, what got in her way, and what really mattered. Whether they address launching a company, running for office, starting a family, or succeeding in less conventional ways, these voices will both move and inspire any woman who counts herself a success-in-the-making.

If I'd Known Then

Women in Their 20s and 30s Write Letters to Their Younger Selves (Large Print 16pt)

Author: Ellyn Spragins

Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 212

View: 614

Spragins's ingenious book is the rare self-help volume that young women would elect to read and decidedly enjoy. The author profiles 35 highly accomplished women and asks them to write a letter of counsel or encouragement addressed to their younger selves. The result is a collection of life directives that are highly personal and disarmingly honest. The contributorswho include actress Jessica Alba, activist Zainab Salbi and comic book artist Ariel Schragare stars in their own right, but their letters reveal that even winners have problemsthe same fears, concerns and shortcomings as anyone else. And in many cases they are still strugglingwhich raises the question: how wise can women in their 20s and 30s (no matter how accomplished) be? Very, it turns out. These artists, athletes and entrepreneurs compassionately address bad relationships, bullies, eating disorders and crises of faith without ever sounding jaded or condescending. This book offers sound advice and is highly recommended for women just starting out.

Stuck Is Not a Four-Letter Word

Seven Steps to Getting Un-stuck

Author: Deborah Johnson

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 270

View: 543

You may be facing bankruptcy, a broken marriage, a dead-end career, unemployment, or a health crisis. You may feel none of the breaks are going your way and that the circumstances of life are all against you. Feeling stuck can leave you feeling alone, isolated, abandoned, and ultimately confused about the decision of your next life move. The good news is that you can take action to free yourself and start moving down a new path. Building on inspiring interviews, illustrations, and stories, author Deborah Johnson presents seven steps to getting un-stuck: • Define your trap. • Reassess your assets. • Reinvent yourself. • Eliminate distractions. • Play like you’re in the major leagues. • Do the business. • Ask what you can give. Stuck Is Not a Four-Letter Word provides you with the direction you need to face your life with the courage that hope brings, and the bravery to take the necessary steps to move forward.

How We Lead Matters: Reflections on a Life of Leadership

Author: Marilyn Carlson Nelson

Publisher: McGraw Hill Professional

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 144

View: 331

From the woman named one of “America's Best Leaders” by U.S. News & Report Powerful insights into the practice of motivation Marilyn Carlson Nelson has achieved global recognition for the Carlson brands of hotels, restaurants, cruise, travel, and marketing services. But that's only part of the story. As a daughter, wife, mother, and grandmother, Marilyn has always put people first. When her grandson asked a simple question about her life, she decided to write it all down-her fondest memories and deepest insights-in How We Lead Matters: Reflections on a Life of Leadership. This thoughtful book offers a surprisingly personal glimpse into a multi-faceted woman who happens to be one of the most successful CEOs in the world. She describes the thrill of flying in an F16 over Death Valley (without getting sick), and throwing a barbeque for the KGB (who preferred vodka to the traditional beer). She shares the difficulty of making choices and sacrifices to run her family's business, and the heartbreak of losing a child. Her insights are sprinkled with the timeless words of Mahatma Gandhi, Anne Frank, Oscar Wilde, Albert Einstein, Mark Twain, and others, as she talks about what it's like to be a woman in today's business world, while reflecting on an engaging array of subjects-from equal rights to corporate wrongs to motherhood. Most compelling of all, she reveals how a meaningful legacy is built one day at a time.

A Woman's Place

The Crucial Roles of Women in Family Business

Author: Ann M. Dugan

Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 176

View: 346

The authors explore the changing role women play in today's family business - from the head of thefirm to the quiet yet powerful role of "influencer without authority," women are increasingly active in all parts of today's business. This book looks at how to encourage and support women family members, to the challenges women face in finding the right balance between work and life, to the role spouses play in couples that work together. Filled with stories and interviews from women working in a family firm, this book provides insights and revelations that will help businesses thrive in an era of change.

How to Survive Change . . . You Didn't Ask For

Bounce Back, Find Calm in Chaos, and Reinvent Yourself

Author: M. J. Ryan

Publisher: Conari Press

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 240

View: 644

"Change is hard," we say, and it is even harder when it is thrust upon us. At any point, we may be forced to reinvent our career or downsize our lives; we may lose a love or a dream. Our first reaction is to rail against fate, but what if we could see past today's turmoil and spot tomorrow’s opportunities that lie within unasked-for change? That’s the promise of How to Survive Change...You Didn’t Ask For by bestselling author and executive coach M.J. Ryan. Her paradigm-shifting book will help you bounce back, do more with less, rise to challenges, see new opportunities, find calm in chaos, reevaluate priorities, and reinvent yourself. In How to Survive Change...You Didn’t Ask For, Ryan provides strategies to retain your brain and optimize your response to change, step-by-step: by first accepting the new reality, then expanding your options, and finally, taking effective action. She offers cutting-edge tools for becoming calmer, less fearful, and more flexible, creative, and resourceful in your thinking. Best of all, as your adaptability increases, so does your confidence—with her guidance, you will be able to survive and thrive no matter what life throws your way. This is a paperback edition of Adaptability, first published in hardcover in 2009.

Then Again: Travels in search of my younger self

Author: Irma Kurtz

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 368

View: 350

For fans of Lorna Sage and Paula Fox, a unique memoir from Irma Kurtz, the acclaimed author of ‘The Great American Bus Ride’ and internationally renowned agony aunt.

Atlas of Unknowns

Author: Tania James

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 861

When seventeen-year-old Anju wins an all-expenses-paid scholarship to study in New York for a year, she jumps at the chance to leave her home town in Kerala and embrace all that America has to offer. But there are bittersweet consequences ahead, not only for Anju, but also for the father and older sister she has left behind. For when the lie behnd Anju's scholarship is suddenly revealed she is left without a visa and, too proud to confess to her family, goes into hiding. She accepts a job in a suburban beauty salon and the offer of a roof over her head from the kindly Bird, who strangely seems to know more about Anju's past than Anju herself has told her. Meanwhile, Anju's family are on a mission to find her, trying not to contemplate the possibility that they might never see her again… Atlas of Unknownsis vibrant, moving and breathtakingly told -- the debut of an irresistible and utterly original new voice in fiction.