What I Know Now

Letters to My Younger Self

Author: Ellyn Spragins

Publisher: Harmony

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 208

View: 183

If you could send a letter back through time to your younger self, what would the letter say? In this moving collection, forty-one famous women write letters to the women they once were, filled with advice and insights they wish they had had when they were younger. Today show correspondent Ann Curry writes to herself as a rookie reporter in her first job, telling herself not to change so much to fit in, urging her young self, “It is time to be bold about who you really are.” Country music superstar Lee Ann Womack reflects on the stressed-out year spent recording her first album and encourages her younger self to enjoy the moment, not just the end result. And Maya Angelou, leaving home at seventeen with a newborn baby in her arms, assures herself she will succeed on her own, even if she does return home every now and then. These remarkable women are joined by Madeleine Albright, Queen Noor of Jordan, Cokie Roberts, Naomi Wolf, Eileen Fisher, Jane Kaczmarek, Olympia Dukakis, Macy Gray, and many others. Their letters contain rare glimpses into the personal lives of extraordinary women and powerful wisdom that readers will treasure. Wisdom from What I Know Now “Don’t let anybody raise you. You’ve been raised.” —Maya Angelou “Try more things. Cross more lines.” —Breena Clarke “Learn how to celebrate.” —Olympia Dukakis “You don’t have to be afraid of living alone.” —Eileen Fisher “Please yourself first . . . everything else follows.” —Macy Gray “Don’t be so quick to dismiss another human being.” —Barbara Boxer “Work should not be work.” —Mary Matalin “You can leave the work world—and come back on your own terms.” —Cokie Roberts “Laundry will wait very patiently.” —Nora Roberts “Your hair matters far, far less than you think” —Lisa Scottoline “Speak the truth but ride a fast horse.” —Kitty Kelley

What I Know Now About Success

Letters from Extraordinary Women to Their Younger Selves

Author: Ellyn Spragins

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 208

View: 341

Erma Bombeck once said, “When I stand before God at the end of my life, I'd hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me.'” How each woman defines success might be a personal matter, but there are certain gems of wisdom we can all share. Editor Ellyn Spragins invited women from all walks of life to write letters to their younger selves, filled with the knowledge they wish they'd had before beginning their own journeys. Including tales from trailblazers like legendary news journalist Barbara Walters, finance expert Suze Orman, pro golfer Annika Sorenstam, fashion designer Kate Spade, newscaster Soledad O'Brien, and fashion icon Diane von Furstenberg, these letters highlight what helped each woman get ahead, what got in her way, and what really mattered. Whether they address launching a company, running for office, starting a family, or succeeding in less conventional ways, these voices will both move and inspire any woman who counts herself a success-in-the-making.

Stuck Is Not a Four-Letter Word

Seven Steps to Getting Un-stuck

Author: Deborah Johnson

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 270

View: 933

You may be facing bankruptcy, a broken marriage, a dead-end career, unemployment, or a health crisis. You may feel none of the breaks are going your way and that the circumstances of life are all against you. Feeling stuck can leave you feeling alone, isolated, abandoned, and ultimately confused about the decision of your next life move. The good news is that you can take action to free yourself and start moving down a new path. Building on inspiring interviews, illustrations, and stories, author Deborah Johnson presents seven steps to getting un-stuck: • Define your trap. • Reassess your assets. • Reinvent yourself. • Eliminate distractions. • Play like you’re in the major leagues. • Do the business. • Ask what you can give. Stuck Is Not a Four-Letter Word provides you with the direction you need to face your life with the courage that hope brings, and the bravery to take the necessary steps to move forward.

How We Lead Matters: Reflections on a Life of Leadership

Author: Marilyn Carlson Nelson

Publisher: McGraw Hill Professional

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 144

View: 372

From the woman named one of “America's Best Leaders” by U.S. News & Report Powerful insights into the practice of motivation Marilyn Carlson Nelson has achieved global recognition for the Carlson brands of hotels, restaurants, cruise, travel, and marketing services. But that's only part of the story. As a daughter, wife, mother, and grandmother, Marilyn has always put people first. When her grandson asked a simple question about her life, she decided to write it all down-her fondest memories and deepest insights-in How We Lead Matters: Reflections on a Life of Leadership. This thoughtful book offers a surprisingly personal glimpse into a multi-faceted woman who happens to be one of the most successful CEOs in the world. She describes the thrill of flying in an F16 over Death Valley (without getting sick), and throwing a barbeque for the KGB (who preferred vodka to the traditional beer). She shares the difficulty of making choices and sacrifices to run her family's business, and the heartbreak of losing a child. Her insights are sprinkled with the timeless words of Mahatma Gandhi, Anne Frank, Oscar Wilde, Albert Einstein, Mark Twain, and others, as she talks about what it's like to be a woman in today's business world, while reflecting on an engaging array of subjects-from equal rights to corporate wrongs to motherhood. Most compelling of all, she reveals how a meaningful legacy is built one day at a time.

Why You Didn't Get the Job!

Ten Steps for Success in Business ~ a Woman's Guide to Navigating Her Way to the Top

Author: Diane Cashin

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 110

View: 638

Is your career stuck? Are you frustrated with the vague feedback you receive from the hiring individual on why you were not promoted? Are you encountering barriers to move to the next level? Do you blame others for holding you back? This book is for women leaders who want to make it to the Senior Executive, C-Level or Boardroom. You have the power to make it happen. Begin your executive transformation and take the 10 Steps needed to Navigate Your Way to the Top! Lead from a place of Confidence, Wisdom and Empowerment.

If I'd Known Then

Women in Their 20s and 30s Write Letters to Their Younger Selves (Large Print 16pt)

Author: Ellyn Spragins

Publisher: ReadHowYouWant.com

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 212

View: 908

Spragins's ingenious book is the rare self-help volume that young women would elect to read and decidedly enjoy. The author profiles 35 highly accomplished women and asks them to write a letter of counsel or encouragement addressed to their younger selves. The result is a collection of life directives that are highly personal and disarmingly honest. The contributorswho include actress Jessica Alba, activist Zainab Salbi and comic book artist Ariel Schragare stars in their own right, but their letters reveal that even winners have problemsthe same fears, concerns and shortcomings as anyone else. And in many cases they are still strugglingwhich raises the question: how wise can women in their 20s and 30s (no matter how accomplished) be? Very, it turns out. These artists, athletes and entrepreneurs compassionately address bad relationships, bullies, eating disorders and crises of faith without ever sounding jaded or condescending. This book offers sound advice and is highly recommended for women just starting out.

Then Again: Travels in search of my younger self

Author: Irma Kurtz

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 368

View: 469

For fans of Lorna Sage and Paula Fox, a unique memoir from Irma Kurtz, the acclaimed author of ‘The Great American Bus Ride’ and internationally renowned agony aunt.

Brassai

Letters to My Parents

Author: Brassaï

Publisher: University of Chicago Press

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 274

View: 529

Nicknamed the "Eye of Paris" by Henry Miller, Brassaï was one of the great European photographers of the twentieth century. This volume of letters and photographs, many published for the first time, chronicles the fascinating early years of Brassaï's life and artistic development in Paris and Berlin during the 1920s and 1930s. "[Brassaï] is probably the only photographer—at least in France—to have acquired such a vast audience and mastered his material to such a degree that he can express himself with a flexibility and apparent ease that is almost literary in its nature."—Jean Gallien, Photo-Monde "The letters that Brassaï wrote to his parents between 1920 and 1940 chronicle the sometimes painful stages by which this gifted man hauled himself from penury to celebrity."—Peter Hamilton, Times Literary Supplement "In these proud, protective, occasionally conscience-stricken missives, the young man full of eager dreams emerges as one of the century's pioneering photographers, revered for his lushly atmospheric portraits of Paris after dark."—Elle "A fascinating insight into how a bright individual slowly found his calling."—Christine Schwartz Hartley, New York Times Book Review

Atlas of Unknowns

Author: Tania James

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 900

When seventeen-year-old Anju wins an all-expenses-paid scholarship to study in New York for a year, she jumps at the chance to leave her home town in Kerala and embrace all that America has to offer. But there are bittersweet consequences ahead, not only for Anju, but also for the father and older sister she has left behind. For when the lie behnd Anju's scholarship is suddenly revealed she is left without a visa and, too proud to confess to her family, goes into hiding. She accepts a job in a suburban beauty salon and the offer of a roof over her head from the kindly Bird, who strangely seems to know more about Anju's past than Anju herself has told her. Meanwhile, Anju's family are on a mission to find her, trying not to contemplate the possibility that they might never see her again… Atlas of Unknownsis vibrant, moving and breathtakingly told -- the debut of an irresistible and utterly original new voice in fiction.