Watching Edie

Author: Camilla Way

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 219

For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train: A dazzling work of psychological suspense that weaves together the past and present of two women’s twisted friendship. Beautiful, creative, a little wild… Edie was the kind of girl who immediately caused a stir when she walked into your life. And she had dreams back then—but it didn’t take long for her to learn that things don’t always turn out the way you want them to. Now, at thirty-three, Edie is working as a waitress, pregnant and alone. And when she becomes overwhelmed by the needs of her new baby and sinks into a bleak despair, she thinks that there’s no one to turn to… But someone’s been watching Edie, waiting for the chance to prove once again what a perfect friend she can be. It’s no coincidence that Heather shows up on Edie’s doorstep, just when Edie needs her the most. So much has passed between them—so much envy, longing, and betrayal. And Edie’s about to learn a new lesson: those who have hurt us deeply—or who we have hurt—never let us go, not entirely…

Watching Edie: Free /Sampler

Author: Camilla Way

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 497

A chilling psychological thriller about friendship, deception, betrayal and violence. Perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON A TRAIN and GONE GIRL.

Return to Little Hills

Author: Janice Macdonald

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 401

Home sweet home! Award-winning journalist Edie Robinson has come home to help out. But she's back for only a month. Much as she loves her family, that's all she can take of small-town life and her elderly mother's constant complaints: "Why can't you be like your married sister? Why did you buy the single-ply toilet paper? When are you going to settle down? No wonder you're forty and still don't have a husband." When Edie meets the new school principal, Peter Darling, she's determined to fight the instant attraction she feels. After all, her stay in Little Hills, Missouri, is only temporary, while Peter and his four young daughters are happy with their new home. But love has a way of changing perspectives. Now Edie's beginning to see her home, her family—and her future—through new eyes.

Chocolate Girls

Author: Annie Murray

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 384

In Annie Murray's bestselling Chocolate Girls, three very different women work together at Cadbury's Bournville factory, and their lives become entwined by war and work – and a child called David. Edie marries young to escape her unhappy family home. Widowed at nineteen and, after losing her child from the marriage, she faces the war grieving and lonely. Then one night during the Blitz, an infant mysteriously abandoned during the bombing is handed into her care . . . Ruby, meanwhile, doesn't want to be left behind in the wedding stakes and settles for marriage with Frank. Finally there's Janet, kind-hearted and susceptible to male charm, who is hurt desperately by an affair with a married man. David, the child who steals Edie's heart as she brings him up through a time none of them will ever forget, is the love of all their lives. And when David is old enough to wonder who he really is, he leads Edie through struggle and heartache to a life and love she would never have dreamed of . . . Chocolate Girls is followed by the captivating sequel, The Bells of Bournville Green.

Cruel Intent

Author: J.A. Jance

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 405

From New York Times bestselling author J.A. Jance comes a chilling tale of suspense, where a cold-blooded murderer lures former newscaster Ali Reynolds into a chilling web of online romance—and doom. On a dating site, SingleatHeart.com, bored housewives can find romance with married men looking for sex without strings. But these “married singles” are flirting with more than just their vows. At the heart of this seemingly innocent service, a vengeful computer hacker is playing games with people’s lives...and deaths. Ex-television journalist Ali Reynolds just wants a break from excitement. In the midst of a remodel, the last thing she expects is a murder investigation that will stop the construction on her home. But when the savagely murdered body of stay-at-home mom Morgan Forester is found, Ali’s contractor Bryan is the prime suspect. Bryan swears he has nothing to do with his wife’s murder—but as the investigation progresses Ali seems to be the only resident of Sedona who believes him. Determined to prove Bryan’s innocence, Ali unknowingly lands herself directly in the path of a calculating killer. In a world filled with encrypted computer traps and life-threatening lies, will Ali be able to decode the actions of a ruthless man determined to destroy women—before he uses his wicked website to find her?

Secret Father

A Novel

Author: James Carroll

Publisher: HMH

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 225

From a New York Times–bestselling author, a “gripping and beautifully written” novel of love and family set against the backdrop of Cold War Berlin (Bookpage). Berlin, 1961. Days before the Wall rises, three teenagers from an American school in West Germany travel to the Communist side of the divided city to join a May Day rally. One of them has brought along a flight bag belonging to his father, a US intelligence officer. Before long, the teens are in the custody of the secret East German police, the notorious Stasi. Unbeknownst to them, their parents have unfinished business, reaching back to World War II, which will pull the three friends into the vortex of an international incident. Told through flashbacks by alternating narrators, Secret Father is a novel of missed signals, cloaked motives, false postures, and panicked responses that tragically echo across borders and generations. Like the classic period thrillers of Graham Greene, James Carroll’s politically charged coming-of-age tale provides a “somber and evocative look at some of the most frightening times in one of the most frightening places in the Cold War” (Kirkus Reviews). “Carroll writes with rich, lyrical ease,” raves Publishers Weekly. “His characters are richly drawn, and the pieces of his impeccably paced story fit together with the cool precision of a Mercedes-Benz.”

The Lies We Told

Author: Camilla Way

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 601

The highly acclaimed author of Watching Edie returns with a new novel of dark psychological suspense that explores how those closest to us have the most to hide... A daughter Beth has always known there was something strange about her daughter, Hannah. The lack of emotion, the disturbing behavior, the apparent delight in hurting others...Sometimes Beth is scared of her and what she could be capable of. A son Luke comes from the perfect family, with the perfect parents. But one day, he disappears without a trace, and his girlfriend, Clara, is desperate to discover what has happened to him. A life built on lies As Clara digs into the past, she realizes that no family is truly perfect, and uncovers a link between Luke's long-lost sister and a strange girl named Hannah. Now Luke's life is in danger because of the lies once told and the secrets once kept. Can Clara find him before it's too late?

The Smart Set

A Magazine of Cleverness

Author: George Jean Nathan

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 232

The Doves' Nest

And Other Stories

Author: Katherine Mansfield

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Short stories, New Zealand

Page: 242

View: 891