Watching Edie

Author: Camilla Way

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 102

A chilling psychological thriller about friendship, deception, betrayal and violence. Perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON A TRAIN and GONE GIRL.

Watching Edie: Free /Sampler

Author: Camilla Way

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 194

A chilling psychological thriller about friendship, deception, betrayal and violence. Perfect for fans of THE GIRL ON A TRAIN and GONE GIRL.

Return to Little Hills

Author: Janice Macdonald

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 563

Home sweet home! Award-winning journalist Edie Robinson has come home to help out. But she’s back for only a month. Much as she loves her family, that’s all she can take of small-town life and her elderly mother’s constant complaints: “Why can’t you be like yourmarried sister? Why did you buy the single-ply toilet paper? When are you going to settle down? No wonder you’re forty and still don’t have a husband.” When Edie meets the new school principal, Peter Darling, she’s determined to fight the instant attraction she feels. After all, her stay in Little Hills, Missouri, is only temporary, while Peter and his four young daughters are happy with their new home. But love has a way of changing perspectives. Now Edie’s beginning to see her home, her family—and her future—through new eyes.

The Flowers of Time

Author: A.L. Lester

Publisher: JMS Books LLC

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 100

View: 509

Jones is determined to find out what caused the unexpected death of her father whilst they were exploring ancient ruins in the Himalayas. Along with a stack of books and coded journals, he's left her with the promise she'll travel back to England for the first time since childhood and try being the lady she's never been. Edie and her brother are leaving soon on a journey to the Himalayas to document and collect plants for the new Kew Gardens when she befriends Miss Jones in London. She's never left England before and is delighted to learn the lady will be returning to the mountains she calls home at the same time they are planning their travels. When they meet again in Srinagar, Edie is surprised to find that, out here, the Miss Jones of the London salons is "just Jones" the explorer, clad in breeches and boots and unconcerned with the proprieties Edie has been brought up to respect. The non-binary explorer and the determined botanist make the long journey over the high mountain passes to Little Tibet, collecting flowers and exploring ruins on the way. Will Jones discover the root of the mysterious deaths of her parents? Will she confide in Edie and allow her to help in the quest? The trip is fraught with dangers for both of them, not least those of the heart.

Keonah Days

Author: M. Pual Chinitz

Publisher: Trafford Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 429

Retired engineer Emmett Borden is emotionally drained as he drives away from his home in Mamaroneck, New York. As he heads west toward his childhood roots in Iowa, he just wants to escape from the surroundings that remind him of his beloved wife, who has just died from cancer. But Emmett is about to discover that life is full of surprises. After an exhaustive day of driving, Emmett stops at a lodge to spend the night and strikes up a friendship with the lodges owner. Edie Adamson shows him her grandfathers exotic artifact collection that includes a bizarre-looking spittoon made from an elephants right foot. After the two exchange goodbyes, Emmett eventually makes his way to Keonah, Iowa, where he accepts a job as a handyman for Elmer Diehls hardware store. A short time later, while Emmett is making repairs at an antique shop, he stumbles upon the elephants missing left foot and is unexpectedly embroiled in the midst of what appears to be a robbery. Suddenly, Emmetts quiet life becomes one spontaneous adventure after the other. In a small town surrounded by corn fields in Iowa, Emmett rediscovers love, friendship, and most importantly, his lifes purpose.

Cruel Intent

Author: J.A. Jance

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 864

From New York Times bestselling author J.A. Jance comes a chilling tale of suspense, where a cold-blooded murderer lures former newscaster Ali Reynolds into a chilling web of online romance—and doom. On a dating site, SingleatHeart.com, bored housewives can find romance with married men looking for sex without strings. But these “married singles” are flirting with more than just their vows. At the heart of this seemingly innocent service, a vengeful computer hacker is playing games with people’s lives...and deaths. Ex-television journalist Ali Reynolds just wants a break from excitement. In the midst of a remodel, the last thing she expects is a murder investigation that will stop the construction on her home. But when the savagely murdered body of stay-at-home mom Morgan Forester is found, Ali’s contractor Bryan is the prime suspect. Bryan swears he has nothing to do with his wife’s murder—but as the investigation progresses Ali seems to be the only resident of Sedona who believes him. Determined to prove Bryan’s innocence, Ali unknowingly lands herself directly in the path of a calculating killer. In a world filled with encrypted computer traps and life-threatening lies, will Ali be able to decode the actions of a ruthless man determined to destroy women—before he uses his wicked website to find her?

Secret Father

A Novel

Author: James Carroll

Publisher: HMH

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 935

From a New York Times–bestselling author, a “gripping and beautifully written” novel of love and family set against the backdrop of Cold War Berlin (Bookpage). Berlin, 1961. Days before the Wall rises, three teenagers from an American school in West Germany travel to the Communist side of the divided city to join a May Day rally. One of them has brought along a flight bag belonging to his father, a US intelligence officer. Before long, the teens are in the custody of the secret East German police, the notorious Stasi. Unbeknownst to them, their parents have unfinished business, reaching back to World War II, which will pull the three friends into the vortex of an international incident. Told through flashbacks by alternating narrators, Secret Father is a novel of missed signals, cloaked motives, false postures, and panicked responses that tragically echo across borders and generations. Like the classic period thrillers of Graham Greene, James Carroll’s politically charged coming-of-age tale provides a “somber and evocative look at some of the most frightening times in one of the most frightening places in the Cold War” (Kirkus Reviews). “Carroll writes with rich, lyrical ease,” raves Publishers Weekly. “His characters are richly drawn, and the pieces of his impeccably paced story fit together with the cool precision of a Mercedes-Benz.”

The Lies We Told

Author: Camilla Way

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 676

The highly acclaimed author of Watching Edie returns with a new novel of dark psychological suspense that explores how those closest to us have the most to hide... A daughter Beth has always known there was something strange about her daughter, Hannah. The lack of emotion, the disturbing behavior, the apparent delight in hurting others...Sometimes Beth is scared of her and what she could be capable of. A son Luke comes from the perfect family, with the perfect parents. But one day, he disappears without a trace, and his girlfriend, Clara, is desperate to discover what has happened to him. A life built on lies As Clara digs into the past, she realizes that no family is truly perfect, and uncovers a link between Luke's long-lost sister and a strange girl named Hannah. Now Luke's life is in danger because of the lies once told and the secrets once kept. Can Clara find him before it's too late?

The Smart Set

A Magazine of Cleverness

Author: George Jean Nathan

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 142