Wars of the Roses: Trinity

Author: Conn Iggulden

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 911

The brilliant retelling of the Wars of the Roses continues with Trinity, the second gripping novel in the new series from historical fiction master, Conn Iggulden. 1454: King Henry VI has remained all but exiled in Windsor Castle, struck down by his illness for over a year, his eyes vacant, his mind a blank. His fiercely loyal wife and Queen, Margaret of Anjou, safeguards her husband's interests, hoping that her son Edward will one day know the love of his father. Richard Duke of York, Protector of the Realm, extends his influence throughout the kingdom with each month that Henry slumbers. The Earls of Salisbury and Warwick make up a formidable trinity with Richard, and together they seek to break the support of those who would raise their colours in the name of Henry and his Queen. But when the King unexpectedly recovers his senses and returns to London to reclaim his throne, the balance of power is once again thrown into turmoil. The clash of the Houses of Lancaster and York will surely mean a war to tear England apart . . . Following on from Stormbird, Trinity is the second epic instalment in master storyteller Conn Iggulden's new Wars of the Roses series. Fans of Game of Thrones and The Tudors will be gripped from the word go. Praise for Stormbird: 'Pacey and juicy, and packed with action' Sunday Times 'Energetic, competent stuff; Iggulden knows his material and his audience' Independent 'A novel that seamlessly combines narrative, historical credence and great knowledge of the period' Daily Express 'A page-turning thriller' Mail on Sunday 'Superbly plotted and paced' The Times

Wars of the Roses

Trinity

Author: Conn Iggulden

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Great Britain

Page: 538

View: 377

1454: King Henry VI has remained all but exiled in Windsor Castle, struck down by his illness for over a year, his eyes vacant, his mind a blank. His fiercely loyal wife and Queen, Margaret of Anjou, safeguards her husband's interests, hoping that her son Edward will one day know the love of his father. Richard Duke of York, Protector of the Realm, extends his influence throughout the kingdom with each month that Henry slumbers. The Earls of Salisbury and Warwick make up a formidable trinity with Richard, and together they seek to break the support of those who would raise their colours in the name of Henry and his Queen. But when the King unexpectedly recovers his senses and returns to London to reclaim his throne, the balance of power is once again thrown into turmoil.

Ravenspur

Rise of the Tudors

Author: Conn Iggulden

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 370

England, 1470. A divided kingdom cannot stand. King Edward of York has been driven out of England. Queen Elizabeth and her children tremble in sanctuary at Westminster Abbey. The House of Lancaster has won the crown, but York will not go quietly. Desperate to reclaim his throne, Edward lands at Ravenspur with a half-drowned army and his brother Richard at his side. Every hand is against them, every city gate is shut, yet the brothers York go on the attack. But neither sees that their true enemy is Henry Tudor, now grown into a man. As the Red Dragon--"the man of destiny"-- his claim to the throne leads to Bosworth Field and a battle that will bring an end to the Wars of the Roses . . .

Wars of the Roses: Margaret of Anjou

Author: Conn Iggulden

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 721

The brilliant retelling of the Wars of the Roses continues with Margaret of Anjou, the second gripping novel in the new series from historical fiction master Conn Iggulden. As Traitors Advance...A Queen Defends It is 1454 and for over a year King Henry VI has remained all but exiled in Windsor Castle, struck down by his illness, his eyes vacant, his mind a blank. His fiercely loyal wife and Queen, Margaret of Anjou, safeguards her husband’s interests, hoping that her son Edward will one day come to know his father. With each month that Henry is all but absent as king, Richard, the Duke of York, Protector of the Realm, extends his influence throughout the kingdom. The Trinity—Richard and the earls of Salisbury and Warwick—are a formidable trio, and together they seek to break the support of those who would raise their colors and their armies in the name of Henry and his Queen. But when the king unexpectedly recovers his senses and returns to London to reclaim his throne, the balance of power is once again plunged into turmoil. The clash of the Houses of Lancaster and York may be the beginning of a war that can tear England apart . . . Following on from Stormbird, Margaret of Anjou is the second epic installment in master storyteller Conn Iggulden’s new Wars of the Roses series. Fans of Game of Thrones and The Tudors will be gripped from the word “go.”

Wars of the Roses: Trinity

Author: Conn Iggulden

Publisher: Michael Joseph

ISBN:

Category: Great Britain

Page: 476

View: 461

The second thrilling instalment in the epic Wars of the Roses, in which the feud between two great families plunged England into a war that threatened to tear the country apart, Trinity is the latest brilliant historical novel from Sunday Times best-selling author, Conn Iggulden. Praise for Conn Iggulden's Wars of the Roses series: 'A page-turning thriller.' Mail on Sunday 'Pacey and juicy, and packed with action.' Sunday Times 'Iggulden is in a class of his own when it comes to epic, historical fiction.' Daily Mirror 'Superbly plotted and paced.' The Times 'Exceptionally well-written and gripping.' Stylist

The First Part of King Henry VI

Author: William Shakespeare

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 210

View: 277

Shakespeare's plays about the reign of Henry VI were for a long time undervalued, but a recent series of outstanding productions by the Royal Shakespeare Company and others has demonstrated their theatrical vitality. This is the first major edition in over twenty-five years. It takes account of recent discoveries concerning Shakespeare's early career and the problems of authorship, and pays particular attention to recent theatrical history. This textually authoritative edition reveals King Henry VI as a dramatically innovative and politically radical account of key events in the Hundred Years War.

The Pastons

A Family in the Wars of the Roses

Author: Richard Barber

Publisher: Boydell Press

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 208

View: 249

Attractive selection conveys well their recurrent concerns with land, money, civil violence, flirtation, marriage, and the purchase of ginger and lace. MEDIUM AEVUM Vivid first-hand accounts of life in England at the time of the Wars of the Roses, presented in their historical context. Essential reading on the English middle ages.

Blackwater

Author: Conn Iggulden

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Brothers

Page: 99

View: 771

Davey has always lived in the shadow of his brother, a smiling sociopath who will stop at nothing to protect himself & his family. But when the shadowy figure of Denis Tanter comes into Davey's life, how far will the bond of brotherhood reach?

Richard III and His Rivals

Magnates and Their Motives in the Wars of the Roses

Author: Michael Hicks

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 447

View: 542

Richard III is undoubtedly the dominant personality in this collection of essays, but not in his capacity as king of England. Richard was Duke of Gloucester far longer than he was king. For most of his career, he was a subject, not a monarch, the equal of the great nobility. He is seen here in the company of his fellows: Warwick the Kingmaker, Clarence, Northumberland, Somerset, Hastings a the Wydevilles. His relations with these rivals, all of whom submitted to him or were crushed, show him in different moods and from various vantage points.

The World of Richard III

Author: Kristie Dean

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 288

View: 228

Follow Richard III through the resplendent castles, towering cathedrals, manor houses and chapels associated with his controversial life.