Touching Darkness

Number 2 in series

Author: Scott Westerfeld

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 336

View: 784

Imagine falling for someone who can fly you through the air. Imagine loving someone who can see your darkest thoughts. Imagine having secrets that could destroy the things you cherish . . . Midnight in Bixby hides more than one secret, and uncovering them will put Jessica and her friends in more danger than they could have imagined. The Midnighters aren't the only ones seeking truth in the darkness. And if the group allow their own secrets to come between them they risk losing one of their own - forever.

Midnighters #2: Touching Darkness

Author: Scott Westerfeld

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 336

View: 690

This is the second book in New York Times bestselling author Scott Westerfeld’s Midnighters series. As the Midnighters search for the truth about the secret hour, they uncover terrifying mysteries woven into the very fabric of Bixby’s history, and a conspiracy that touches the world of daylight. This time Jessica Day is not the only Midnighter in mortal danger, and if the group can’t find a way to come together, they could lose one of their own . . . forever. Touching Darkness is the second book in the Midnighters trilogy, from the New York Times bestselling author of the Uglies series.

Touching Darkness

Author: Jaime Rush

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 964

“I’m hooked on Jaime Rush’s exciting, sexy paranormal series!” —Janet Evanovich One of the most exciting new names in paranormal romance is Jaime Rush—who follows her phenomenal Perfect Darkness and Out of the Darkness with Touching Darkness, the latest in her breathtaking Offspring series. Fans of TV’s Heroes and Torchwood—and of the dark and sensuous fiction of Jeaniene Frost and Vicki Pettersson—will thrill to Rush’s tales of the now-grown children of a dark experiment that left them with great powers…and in grave peril.

Touching the Darkness

Author: Fritz O'Skennick

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 273

View: 733

Touching the Darkness is an anthology of dark poetry by Fritz O'Skennick. Featuring Gothic Tales (Vampyres, Werewolves, Ghosts, etc), murder, dark mind states and sensual Dark passions in various poetic forms with the intensity, skill, depth and passion that readers have become accoustomed to in his work. Contains adult content.

Poetry Translating as Expert Action

Processes, Priorities and Networks

Author: Francis R. Jones

Publisher: John Benjamins Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 227

View: 953

Poetry is a highly valued form of human expression, and poems are challenging texts to translate. For both reasons, people willingly work long and hard to translate them, for little pay but potentially high personal satisfaction. This book shows how experienced poetry translators translate poems and bring them to readers, and how they not only shape new poems, but also help communicate images of the source culture. It uses cognitive and sociological translation-studies methods to analyse real data, most of it from two contrasting source countries, the Netherlands and Bosnia. Case studies, including think-aloud studies, analyse how translators translate poems. In interviews, translators explain why and how they translate. And a 17-year survey of a country s poetry-translation output explores how translators work within networks of other people and texts publishing teams, fellow translators, source-culture enthusiasts, and translation readers and critics. In mapping the whole sweep of poetry translators action, from micro-cognitive to macro-social, this book gives the first translation-studies overview of poetry translating since the 1970s."

Fantasy Fiction

Author: Frances Sinclair

Publisher: School Library Association

ISBN:

Category: Children's literature, English

Page: 110

View: 902

The Deliverer

The Sword of Lyric, #4

Author: Sharon Hinck

Publisher: Enclave Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 314

View: 690

A Lost Songkeeper Must Lead Her People to a Long Awaited Deliverer. Eager to serve the One, a young songkeeper travels to the dark and foreign nation of Hazor, but her confusing, rough–edged companion has lost his Restorer gifts. As danger rises against them both, she loses her freedom, her memories, and her hope. Now even the very music of her soul is threatened. In our world, Susan Mitchell no longer feels at home in the carpool lane. Burdened by the unhealed scars from her trips through the portal, she fights to suppress her worry about her son, who remains out of contact in Lyric. But when a mysterious message hints Jake is in danger, she and her husband are swept away—to the place they least expect. Clan rebellions. Lost Restorers. Has the One turned away, or will the face of the Deliverer bring light to the darkness?

Fang-tastic Fiction

Twenty-first-century Paranormal Reads

Author: Patricia O'Brien Mathews

Publisher: American Library Association

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 258

View: 884

Mathews uses a limited definition of paranormal, and examines works set, for the most part, in a relatively realistic modern world inhabited by both humans and paranormal beings.

Haunted

Author: James Herbert

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 420

James Herbert's Haunted is the first chilling novel in the David Ash trilogy. Three nights of terror at the house called Edbrook. Three nights in which David Ash, there to investigate a haunting, will be victim of horrifying and maleficent games. Three nights in which he will face the blood-chilling enigma of his own past. Three nights before Edbrook's dreadful secret will be revealed, and the true nightmare will begin . . .

Novels by Scott Westerfeld

Peeps, Extras, Specials, Leviathan, the Last Days, Pretties, Uglies, the Secret Hour, Touching Darkness

Author: General Books LLC

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 68

View: 530