Times of War Collection

Author: Michael Morpurgo

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 720

View: 782

A stunning paperback collection of classic Morpurgo novels set in World War I, World War II and the Afghanistan conflict.

The Lion of War Collection

Day of War, Covenant of War

Author: Cliff Graham

Publisher: Zondervan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 720

View: 514

Two novels from Cliff Graham's historical fiction series are now available in one collection! Day of War In ancient Israel, at the crossroads of the great trading routes, a man named Benaiah is searching for a fresh start in life. He has joined a band of soldiers led by a warlord named David, seeking to bury the past that refuses to leave him. Their ragged army is disgruntled and full of reckless men. Some are loyal to David, but others are only with him for the promise of captured wealth. While the ruthless and increasingly mad King Saul marches hopelessly against the powerful Philistines, loyal son Jonathan in tow, the land of the Hebrew tribes has never been more despondent—and more in need of rescue. Over the course of ten days, from snowy mountain passes to sword-wracked battlefields, Benaiah and his fellow mercenaries must call upon every skill they have to survive and establish the throne for David—if they don’t kill each other first. Covenant of War The year is 993 BC. After years of bloody civil war, Eleazar son of Dodai, one of King David’s most elite warriors, wants nothing more than to finally live peacefully in the land. But on the plains near the Great Sea, a terrifying army of Philistines has mobilized to crush the Hebrew tribes once and for all. In the sun-drenched valleys and dark forests of the hill country, Eleazar and his warriors make their stand against Israel’s deadliest enemy. The fate of an entire nation rests on the courage of a small band of heroes known as the Mighty Men. In a land torn by conflict, depleted by drought and threatened by treachery, the horrors and heroism of the ancient battlefields come to life. Covenant of War is the second book in the Lion of War series—the intense, gritty, and stylistic portrayal of the Mighty Men of Israel, a rag-tag band of warriors who came to King David in his most desperate hour and fought with him while he claimed the throne he was destined to fill. Their legendary deeds are recorded in 2 Samuel 23 and 1 Chronicles 11.

Conduct of the Persian Gulf Conflict

An Interim Report to Congress

Author:

Publisher: DIANE Publishing

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 250

View: 759

Includes responses to 26 questions asked by the Congress, including: military objectives, military strategy, deployment of troops, use of special operations forces, employment and performance of U.S. military equipment, logistics support, acquisitions policy, personnel management, role of women, effectiveness of reserves, intelligence and counterintelligence, environmental terrorism, rules of engagement, C3 operations, rules of engagement, media policies and procedures, use of deception, preparedness, number of military and civilian casualties, acquisition of foreign military technology from Iraq, and more. Glossary and map.

THE WORLD WAR COLLECTION OF H. C. MCNEILE (SAPPER)

No Man's Land, Mufti, Word of Honour, John Walters, Sergeant Michael Cassidy, The Human Touch, The Finger of Fate, The Lieutenant…

Author: H. C. McNeile / Sapper

Publisher: e-artnow

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 1320

View: 701

This carefully edited collection has been designed and formatted to the highest digital standards and adjusted for readability on all devices. Herman Cyril McNeile (1888-1937) commonly known as H. C. McNeile or Sapper, was a British soldier and author. Drawing on his experiences in the trenches during the First World War, he started writing short stories and getting them published in the Daily Mail. McNeile's stories are either directly about the war, or contain people whose lives have been shaped by it. His war stories were considered by contemporary audiences as anti-sentimental, realistic depictions of the trenches, and as a "celebration of the qualities of the Old Contemptibles". "No one who has ever given the matter a moment's thought would deny, I suppose, that a regiment without discipline is like a ship without a rudder. True as that fact has always been, it is doubly so now, when men are exposed to mental and physical shocks such as have never before been thought of. The condition of a man's brain after he has sat in a trench and suffered an intensive bombardment for two or three hours can only be described by one word, and that is—numbed. The man becomes half-stunned, dazed; his limbs twitch convulsively and involuntarily; he mutters foolishly—he becomes incoherent. Starting with fright he passes through that stage, passes beyond it into a condition bordering on coma; and when a man is in that condition he is not responsible for his actions. His brain has ceased to work...” - H. C. McNeile, Men, Women and Guns Table of Contents: When Carruthers Laughed Mufti John Walters Men, Women and Guns No Man's Land The Human Touch Word of Honour The Man in Ratcatcher The Lieutenant and Others Sergeant Michael Cassidy, R.E. Jim Brent

The Joseph M. Bruccoli Great War Collection at the University of South Carolina

An Illustrated Catalogue

Author: Elizabeth A. Sudduth

Publisher: Univ of South Carolina Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 374

View: 897

The Joseph M. Bruccoli Great War Collection at the University of South Carolina was founded in 1997 by Matthew J. and Arlyn Bruccoli and named for Professor Bruccoli's father, who was wounded in France during the conflict. An expansive research archive for the literary, historical, and cultural aspects of World War I from both British and American vantages, the collection is housed in the Thomas Cooper Library at the University of South Carolina campus in Columbia. At present, the Bruccoli Great War Collection contains over four thousand items, including such print materials as military training manuals, illustrated wartime magazines, trench newspapers, British novels and poetry of the war, letters and diaries of participants, scrapbooks and photo albums, posters, slides, and sheet music. Comprehensive in range rather than exhaustive in depth, the collection was expanded in 2002 through the incorporation of some five hundred books and documents formerly part of the Joseph Cohen Collection of World War I Literature, additions that include extremely rare work by Isaac Rosenberg, arguably chief among the Great War poets. Bruccoli Great War Collection at the University of South Carolina: An Illustrated Catalogue documents one of the great watersheds moments of history on both sides of the Atlantic and serves as a reference and resource for historians, researchers, and collectors alike.

The Adventures of a Blockade Runner

Or, Trade in Time of War - War College Series

Author: William Watson, Sir

Publisher: War College Series

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 342

View: 718

This is a curated and comprehensive collection of the most important works covering matters related to national security, diplomacy, defense, war, strategy, and tactics. The collection spans centuries of thought and experience, and includes the latest analysis of international threats, both conventional and asymmetric. It also includes riveting first person accounts of historic battles and wars.Some of the books in this Series are reproductions of historical works preserved by some of the leading libraries in the world. As with any reproduction of a historical artifact, some of these books contain missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. We believe these books are essential to this collection and the study of war, and have therefore brought them back into print, despite these imperfections.We hope you enjoy the unmatched breadth and depth of this collection, from the historical to the just-published works.

The Alex Benedict Collection: A Talent For War, Polaris, Seeker

Author: Jack McDevitt

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 900

View: 417

THE ALEX BENEDICT COLLECTION brings together sci-fi master Jack McDevitt's stellar first three novels in the award-winning Alex Benedict series. Perfect for fans of Ray Bradbury and Joe Haldeman. In A TALENT FOR WAR, Alex Benedict unearths a piece of information with the power to rewrite history and expose interstellar hero Christopher Sim as a fraud. On his quest for the truth Alex will venture into an unknown alien galaxy and face something stranger than he could ever have imagined. In POLARIS, Alex Benedict is determined to solve the mystery of the luxury space yacht that never returned from its interstellar journey sixty years ago. The search party found Polaris empty and adrift in space and now Alex must travel across the stars in a life-threatening mission to discover the truth. In the Nebula award-winning SEEKER, Alex Benedict is convinced that he has stumbled across an artefact from the infamous transport ship that fled a religious dictatorship in twenty-seventh-century America. Alex and his pilot Chase are taken into the very heart of danger on the deadly trail to Seeker.