Throne of Darkness

A Novel

Author: Douglas Nicholas

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 348

Perfect for fans of Game of Thrones, this novel from acclaimed author Douglas Nicholas continues the gripping dark fantasy series that Kirkus Reviews describes as “a more profound Harry Potter for adults.” It’s 1215 in northwest England—the eve of the signing of the Magna Carta—and mystical Irish queen Maeve and her unlikely band of warriors must protect the region from a chilling fate. Word of a threat reaches the Northern barons: King John has plotted to import an African sorcerer and his sinister clan of blacksmiths, whose unearthly powers may spell destruction for the entire kingdom. Along with her lover, Jack, her gifted niece, Nemain, and Nemain’s newlywed husband, Hob (whose hidden talents will soon be revealed), Maeve must overcome a supernatural threat unlike any she’s seen before. With his characteristic blend of historical adventure and intoxicating mythological elements, Nicholas once again “goes for the throat…with brilliant writing and whip-smart plotting” (New York Times bestselling author Jonathan Maberry). This is a richly woven tale that will leave you hungry for more.

The Throne Motif in the Book of Revelation

Author: Laszlo Gallusz

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 336

View: 780

This book argues that the throne motif constitutes the major interpretive key to the complex structure and theology of the book of Revelation. In the first part of the book, Gallusz examines the throne motif in the Old Testament, Jewish literature and Graeco-Roman sources. He moves on to devote significant attention to the throne of God texts of Revelation and particularly to the analysis of the throne-room vision (chs. 4&5), which is foundational for the development of the throne motif. Gallusz reveals how Revelation utilizes the throne motif as the central principle for conveying a theological message, since it appears as the focus of the author from the outset to the climax of the drama. The book concludes with an investigation into the rhetorical impact of the motif and its contribution to the theology of Revelation. Gallusz finally shows that the throne, what it actually represents, is of critical significance both to Revelation's theism and to God's dealing with the problem of evil in the course of human history.

The Shadowed Throne

Author: K. J. Taylor

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 212

Arenadd Taranisäii, infamous leader of the Northern people, has vanished. Only his half-breed daughter Laela knows what happened to him. Left to rule her father’s Kingdom, Laela is all that stands in the way of the war her cousin Saeddryn wants to declare. But Laela faces a far more dangerous enemy: the Night God herself wants Laela dead. Faced by enemies on all sides, Laela must learn to rule, and survive, with her griffin partner Oeka by her side. As allies come from unexpected places, someone new will enter Laela’s life: the mysterious shapeshifter Kullervo. But soon the Night God will send the most dangerous enemy of all—the deadly Shadow That Walks, an invincible murderer created to fulfill only one mission: kill Laela.

Star Maker

Author: Olaf Stapledon

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 821

This 1937 successor to Last and First Men offers another entrancing speculative history of the future. Cited as a key influence by science-fiction masters such as Doris Lessing, its bold exploration of the cosmos ventures into intelligent star clusters and mingles among alien races for a memorable vision of infinity.

The Prince of Darkness

Radical Evil and the Power of Good in History

Author: Jeffrey Burton Russell

Publisher: Cornell University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 288

View: 514

Chronicles the story of the Devil from ancient times to the present, detailing diverse cultures' perceptions of evil and an evil being and examining beliefs toward the Devil today

Four Pretenders & the Talismans of Darkness & Light

The Grimlindian Chronicles

Author: Melvin Karew

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 475

View: 602

The guard at the city gates does not attempt to stop the stranger entering Nuthollia, for his job is to keep people inside the city and no person would enter the city voluntarily unless he were an agent of Grimlindus. Nuthollia, the capital of Neuthonia, is no longer a trading metropolis. Its remaining inhabitants are usually hiding indoors, trying to escape Grimlindus's violent soldiersthe tall blond northerners, bandit warriors and Knights of Destruction, as well as goblins, hobgoblins, kobolds and ogres from further east on the steppes. While contact with these soldiers is dangerous and unpredictable, the soldiers do keep the city's economy moving, the trade continuing. So Nuthollia's inhabitants, the original Neuthonics as well as countless released prisoners-of-war, attempt to earn a meagre living in fear and dread. The stranger is rnwulf, the tall barbarian who had been learning sword-skills in the cold hills of the Borderlands. He is dressed in heavy furs. His long, straight, black hair is tied back by a broad cloth that completely conceals his forehead and from which hangs three beaded feathers. His heavy broadsword is strapped to his back, partially buried within his fur coat, while a number of knives are strapped to his chest and belt. A two-headed tomahawk hangs from his belt. He is accompanied by Caleb, the huge wolf that is as large as a small pony and which has a thick mane of grey fur. Man and wolf survey the cold, snow-covered streets, looking beyond the unhappy houses to the dark palace standing on a hill near the centre of the city. They turn away from it and head into one of the darker and less inviting neighbourhoods, where even Grimlindus's soldiers would think twice before entering. The houses are closer together than elsewhere; the streets disappear into narrow alleyways and blind corners. Open doorways and boarded windows show that many of the residences are empty of normal occupation. However, a quick survey inside would reveal hiding squatters, ruffians, thieves and muggers. The man and wolf stop in front of a building that is deep within this neighbourhood. This building is similar to all the others, dismal and grey. It has a heavy steel door with a small window at face height, covered by a shutter. The man thumps on the door and the shutter is pulled back, revealing two dark, slanted eyes. "What do you want?" says the bouncer. "Where are your mistresses?" asks rnwulf, with a heavy, northern accent. "They are busy. Who wants to know?" "I was sent by Cleosius the warlord, to purchase something which was stolen from him. They are expecting me." The shutter is slid shut and rnwulf hears muted discussions behind it. The shutter slides open again. "You are early!" snaps the voice and the shutter slams closed. rnwulf thumps on the door again, his blows echoing inside. The shutter is pulled back again. "Can I wait inside?" he asks. The door opens, revealing a seven-and-a-half foot monstrosity, which bends over inside the small front room; its hairy frame fills up the doorway. Bugbear! thinks rnwulf, staring at the hairy giant-goblin, which would tower over one of its smaller goblin or hobgoblin cousins. "Come inside," it snarls, "but the wolf stays out there." After re-locking the door, the bugbear leads rnwulf along a dimly lit corridor, before arriving at a small room, furnished only with a hard-backed chair. "The mistresses are busy, the bugbear growls, but I will send someone to fetch them when they are, um, finished. Would you like a drink while you are waiting?" rnwulf waves the bugbear away and sits on the chair. In a moment, he becomes completely motionless, his keen eyes surveying every inch of the room. He waits, becoming tenser as he looks at the low ceiling and the walls. After a short time he stands up, goes to the door and tries the handle, finding it locked. H

Into the Darkness You Shine

An Inspirational True Story About a Young Man Who, After Losing Both Parents, Found Redemption Through His Heavenly Father.

Author: Curtis Rice

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 204

View: 701

Do you feel like you are bound to your past? Do you feel like your future is paralyzed? Do you doubt that God is real? If you answered yes to either of these questions, then this book is for you! Into the Darkness You Shine is a powerful tool for spiritual teaching and direction. In this book, Curtis Rice opens up about his own personal fears and doubts, and shares about his overnight transformation through the power of God. But there's more. Also, in the book, he shares about his encounters with God, angels, and even demons. Finally, he reveals how God has helped him to forgive himself and others. Into the Darkness You Shine will renew your mind, help you put the past where it belongs, and help you enlarge your vision for the future. It will empower you to change your life, grow in your faith, and find healing from the past. Be warned because this book will challenge your thinking and your faith and create a greater hunger for God than food. Be blessed as you step out in faith and begin the journey to becoming all that you were created to be.

The Knights of Light and Darkness

Author: Sergei Sukhinov

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 224

View: 341

This tenth and final installment of Sukhinov's "Emerald City" saga brings matters to a head, and leads up to the final battle between the evil Pakir's army and the forces of Light. The origins of several important characters are revealed in this story.

The Prince of Darkness (Hugh Corbett Mysteries, Book 5)

A gripping medieval mystery of intrigue and espionage

Author: Paul Doherty

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 180

View: 291

Secrets, lies and espionage abound in Hugh Corbett's medieval England... The Prince of Darkness is the fifth dazzling novel in the richly authentic Hugh Corbett series from Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Robin Hobb. It is 1301 and a fragile peace exists between Edward of England and Philip IV of France. In the fetid alleys and slums of London and Paris it is a different matter. Here the secret agents of both countries still fight their own, silent, deadly battles. The Prince of Wales wallows in luxury under the sinister influence of his favourite, Gaveston, who has secret political ambitions to dominate the young prince and the English crown. These scandals are threatened with exposure when Lady Belmont, the prince's former mistress, is found dead, her neck broken, at the foot of a nunnery's steps. Was it suicide? An accident? Or malicious murder? Edward turns to his master spy, Hugh Corbett, to solve the mystery. In doing so, Corbett must face the deadly rivalry of his French counterpart, the murderous rage of Gaveston and the silent threats of assassins. He must also contend with the lies and silken deceits of his own master. What readers are saying about The Prince of Darkness: 'Paul Doherty gives a full flavour of life in the medieval era, interweaving historical fact and fiction with knowledgeable expertise. A thoroughly enjoyable intrigue' '250 pages of unputdownable storytelling. Excellent' 'Another gem from Paul Doherty'