After The Bombs-My Berlin

Memories of Post World War II Berlin

Author: Heidi Smith

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 260

View: 498

This recollection begins with the life of a German family at the beginning of the First World War and continues with their struggles in the aftermath of the Second World War. After the war Berlin was mostly rubble and the Cold War was heating up. The Berlin Blockade and the construction of The Wall placed the city in the center of the Cold War. After the Bombs reflects on the hardships and strict society of the first half of the 20th century in Germany. Heidi Smith responds to these challenges with an adventurous spirit that reminds us all that we are stewards of our own destiny.

My Berlin Kitchen

Adventures in Love and Life

Author: Luisa Weiss

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 125

The Wednesday Chef cooks her heart out, finds her way home, and shares her recipes with us It takes courage to turn your life upside down, especially when everyone is telling you how lucky you are. But sometimes what seems right can feel deeply wrong. My Berlin Kitchen tells the story of how one thoroughly confused, kitchen-mad perfectionist broke off her engagement to a handsome New Yorker, quit her dream job, and found her way to a new life, a new man, and a new home in Berlin—one recipe at a time. Luisa Weiss grew up with a divided heart, shuttling back and forth between her father in Boston and her Italian mother in Berlin. She was always yearning for home—until she found a new home in the kitchen. Luisa started clipping recipes in college and was a cookbook editor in New York when she decided to bake, roast, and stew her way through her by then unwieldy collection over the course of one tumultuous year. The blog she wrote to document her adventures in (and out) of the kitchen, The Wednesday Chef, soon became a sensation. But she never stopped hankering for Berlin. Luisa will seduce you with her stories of foraging for plums in abandoned orchards, battling with white asparagus at the tail end of the season, orchestrating a three-family Thanksgiving in Berlin, and mending her broken heart with batches (and batches) of impossible German Christmas cookies. Fans of her award-winning blog will know the happy ending, but anyone who enjoyed Julie and Julia will laugh and cheer and cook alongside Luisa as she takes us into her heart and tells us how she gave up everything only to find love waiting where she least expected it.

Shadows Over My Berlin

One Woman's Story of World War II

Author: Heidi Scriba Vance

Publisher: Southfarm Press, Publisher

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 200

View: 211

The Infancy of Particle Accelerators

Life and Work of Rolf Wideröe

Author: Pedro Waloschek

Publisher: Springer Science & Business Media

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 200

View: 991

by Pedro Waloschek The following autobiographical account of Rolf Wideröe's life and work is based on manuscripts and letters written by hirnself, most ofthem especially for this report. Data from audio and video recordings with his illustrations and from my notes taken during aseries ofmeetings between the two ofus were also included. Rolf Wideröe gave me access to many of his publications and to other documents from which I have extracted further information. I have compiled, edited and, where necessary, put the texts in chronological order. These were then corrected and supplemented by Rolf Wideröe during the course of several readings. The English translation was also checked by Wideröe and we were able to add some improvements and corrections. This account there fore stands as an authorised biography and is written in the first person. Mrs. Wideröe's accurate memory was of great assistance. The emphasis has been on RolfWideröe's life story and the first developments which led to modem particle accelerators. Techni cal and scientific comments have been kept as comprehensive and concise as possible.

Berlin Coquette

Prostitution and the New German Woman, 1890–1933

Author: Jill Suzanne Smith

Publisher: Cornell University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 240

View: 246

During the late nineteenth century the city of Berlin developed such a reputation for lawlessness and sexual licentiousness that it came to be known as the "Whore of Babylon." Out of this reputation for debauchery grew an unusually rich discourse around prostitution. In Berlin Coquette, Jill Suzanne Smith shows how this discourse transcended the usual clichés about prostitutes and actually explored complex visions of alternative moralities or sexual countercultures including the “New Morality” articulated by feminist radicals, lesbian love, and the “New Woman.” Combining extensive archival research with close readings of a broad spectrum of texts and images from the late Wilhelmine and Weimar periods, Smith recovers a surprising array of productive discussions about extramarital sexuality, women's financial autonomy, and respectability. She highlights in particular the figure of the cocotte (Kokotte), a specific type of prostitute who capitalized on the illusion of respectable or upstanding womanhood and therefore confounded easy categorization. By exploring the semantic connections between the figure of the cocotte and the act of flirtation (of being coquette), Smith’s work presents flirtation as a type of social interaction through which both prostitutes and non-prostitutes in Imperial and Weimar Berlin could express extramarital sexual desire and agency.

Schering Workshop on Pharmacokinetics, Berlin, May 8 and 9, 1969

Advances in the Biosciences

Author: Gerhard Raspé

Publisher: Elsevier

ISBN:

Category: Medical

Page: 296

View: 514

Advances in the Biosciences 5: Schering Workshop on Pharmacokinetics, Berlin, May 8 and 9, 1969 is a collection of papers presented at the Schering Workshop on Pharmacokinetics held in Berlin, Germany, on May 8 and 9, 1969. Contributors focus on advances in the field of pharmacokinetics, including the use of digital computers in defining pharmacokinetic parameters and of mathematical models in the study of steroid dynamics. The pharmacokinetics of acetazolamide and endogenous substances is also described. This book is comprised of 19 chapters and begins with an overview of the basic concepts and experimental methods of pharmacokinetics, followed by a discussion on the general physico-chemical aspects of drug distribution. Subsequent chapters explore multiple dose elimination kinetics and drug accumulation in patients with normal and impaired kidney function; the application of analog and digital computers in pharmacokinetics; use of mathematical tools in defining pharmacokinetic parameters; and measurement of enteric absorption rate using a double tracer technique. Mathematical and statistical problems in pharmacokinetics are also presented. This monograph will be a useful resource for pharmacologists and biologists.

Berlin Noir

Author: Philip Kerr

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 848

View: 113

Now in one volume—the first three novels in Philip Kerr’s New York Times bestselling historical mystery series starring hard-boiled detective Bernie Gunther... “A Chandleresque knight errant caught in insane historical surroundings. Bernie walks down streets so mean that nobody can stay alive and remain truly clean.”—John Powers, Fresh Air (NPR) Ex-policeman Bernie Gunther thought he'd seen everything on the streets of 1930s Berlin. But then he went freelance, and each case he tackled sucked him further into the grisly excesses of Nazi subculture. And even after the war, amidst the decayed, imperial splendour of Vienna, Bernie uncovered a legacy that made the wartime atrocities look lily-white in comparison... This collection includes: MARCH VIOLETS THE PALE CRIMINAL A GERMAN REQUIEM

The Fall of Berlin 1945

Author: Antony Beevor

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 528

View: 588

"A tale drenched in drama and blood, heroism and cowardice, loyalty and betrayal."—Jonathan Yardley, The Washington Post The Red Army had much to avenge when it finally reached the frontiers of the Third Reich in January 1945. Frenzied by their terrible experiences with Wehrmacht and SS brutality, they wreaked havoc—tanks crushing refugee columns, mass rape, pillage, and unimaginable destruction. Hundreds of thousands of women are children froze to death or were massacred; more than seven million fled westward from the fury of the Red Army. It was the most terrifying example of fire and sword ever known. Antony Beevor, renowned author of D-Day and The Battle of Arnhem, has reconstructed the experiences of those millions caught up in the nightmare of the Third Reich's final collapse. The Fall of Berlin is a terrible story of pride, stupidity, fanaticism, revenge, and savagery, yet it is also one of astonishing endurance, self-sacrifice, and survival against all odds.

Berlin

A Novel

Author: Pierre Frei

Publisher: Open Road + Grove/Atlantic

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 810

Set in a devastated Berlin one month after the close of the Second World War, Berlin has been acclaimed as “ambitious . . . filled with brilliantly drawn characters, mesmerizingly readable, and disturbingly convincing” by the Sunday Telegraph. An electrifying thriller in the tradition of Joseph Kanon and Alan Furst, Berlin is a page-turner and an intimate portrait of Germany before, during, and after the war. It is 1945 in the American sector of occupied Berlin, and a German boy has discovered the body of a beautiful young woman in a subway station. Blonde and blue-eyed, she has been sexually assaulted and strangled with a chain. When the bodies of other young women begin to pile up it becomes clear that this is no isolated act of violence, and German and American investigators will have to cooperate if they are to stop the slaughter. Author Pierre Frei has searched the wreckage of Berlin and emerged with a gripping whodunit in which the stories of the victims themselves provide an absorbing commentary. There is a powerful pulse buried deep in the rubble.