the witch doesn't burn in this one

Author: Amanda Lovelace

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 208

View: 503

The witch: supernaturally powerful, inscrutably independent, and now—indestructible. These moving, relatable poems encourage resilience and embolden women to take control of their own stories. Enemies try to judge, oppress, and marginalize her, but the witch doesn’t burn in this one.

Women Are Some Kind of Magic Boxed Set

Author: Amanda Lovelace

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 502

Goodreads Choice Award-winning poet and USA TODAY bestselling author amanda lovelace presents the women are some kind of magic boxed set -- a beautiful and empowering trilogy guaranteed to awaken your inner goddess. All three volumes of the women are some kind of magic series in a sleek slipcase. Contains: the princess saves herself in this one the witch doesn't burn in this one the mermaid's voice returns in this one

Dragonhearts

Author: Trista Mateer

Publisher: Independently Published

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 138

View: 127

"COME AND SEE HOW I HAVE TAMED THE MONSTER THAT ONCE TRIED TO KILL THE GOOD IN ME."three of today's bestselling poets, nikita gill, amanda lovelace, & trista mateer come together to weave an empowering tale in their collaborative poetry collection, dragonhearts. through the combination of prose & poetry, the authors use fairy tales & myths to create something that is both timeless & extremely relevant to present-day issues, such as the #MeToo movement, reclaiming your voice, feminism, & the shared power of self-love & solidarity.this book is a reminder that romantic love does not need to be the main plot of your story. sometimes friendship is.(inspired by the bonus chapter in the barnes & noble exclusive hardcover of the 2018 goodreads choice award-winning poetry collection, the witch doesn't burn in this one by amanda lovelace.)

Happy, Okay?

Poems about Anxiety, Depression, Hope, and Survival

Author: M.J. Fievre

Publisher: Mango Media Inc.

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 239

View: 666

Confront Depression, Anxiety, Grief, and Loss Through Poetry Are the usual depression books helping you find a path to healing? No? Try this poetry collection especially for those dealing with mental illness and for people closest to them. Create hope for the future. Paloma is faking it. On the outside, she’s A-Okay. She’s electrified at work, there is a cadence in her step as she walks her dog, she posts memes on Facebook, and she keeps up with most relationships. Looks can be deceiving, however. Inside, Paloma is just going through the motions, and she feels like things are spiraling out of control. But when things are at their darkest, dawn arrives with clarity and focus, and with it, healing. Paloma learns to value small glimmering moments of joy rather than searching for constant happiness, thus building hope for her future. A manifesto for life. Happy, Okay?: Poems about Anxiety, Depression, Hope, and Survival is not simply a narrative spun in verse by a masterful poet. It is an invitation to readers to shake off the stigma and silence of mental illness and find strength in the only voice that matters: your own. It can be an electric roadmap to healing and a manifesto for wholeness. In this inspiring and heartwarming book, you will: • Understand how to make happiness a decision, even when you don’t feel it in your bones • Find out how to exercise patience and self-acceptance • Attract hope and purpose back into your life Fans of Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur, The Witch Doesn’t Burn in this One by Amanda Lovelace, Depression & Other Magic Tricks by Sabrina Benaim, Our Numbered Days by Neil Hilborn, or Nothing is Okay by Rachel Wiley will love Happy, Okay? by M.J. Fievre.

The Witch Maker

Author: Sally Spencer

Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 984

To be Witch Makers in the moorland village of Hallerton is both a great honour and a heavy burden. But this Witch Maker never lives to witness his moment of triumph and is discovered tied to the Witching Post early one morning with a length of twine wrapped tightly around his neck. Will DCI Charlie Woodend solve this mystery...

Dawn of a New Discovery

Author: John Scott

Publisher: JohnScott

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 366

View: 784

The idea for doing this book came from teaching inner-city students in Newark, NJ, and realizing from that experience that poetry--its writing and reading--is a great medium for not just self-expression, but for recognizing and giving vent to the turbulent frustration and anger that children and teenagers endure in the growing-up process. this book has approximately 130 original and collected poems, as well as a how-to section in most chapters, 17 famous poets and short biographies. It also has a number of poems from children and students from Newark, NJ and other places in NJ and the world. The first chapter has 26 poems of India, SriLanka, Bangladesh, North Africa, China and other exotic places. Each chapter also has a small section for the reader to write his or her own poetry. The book is designed to engage the reader in far away travel, as well as to develop an interest in poetry and learn a little about writing it in the process. It was made for adults and thoughtful teens.

To Burn a Witch

Author: James L. Bray

Publisher: Dramatic Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Witchcraft

Page: 19

View: 361

The Shamrock

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: English literature

Page:

View: 664

The Witching Hour

Author: Anne Rice

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 1056

View: 214

From the author of the extraordinary Vampire Chronicles comes a huge, hypnotic novel of witchcraft and the occult through four centuries. Demonstrating, once again, her gift for spellbinding storytelling and the creation of legend, Anne Rice makes real for us a great dynasty of witches--a family given to poetry and to incest, to murder and to philosophy; a family that, over the ages, is itself haunted by a powerful, dangerous, and seductive being. On the veranda of a great New Orleans house, now faded, a mute and fragile woman sits rocking . . . and The Witching Hour begins. It begins in our time with a rescue at sea. Rowan Mayfair, a beautiful woman, a brilliant practitioner of neurosurgery--aware that she has special powers but unaware that she comes from an ancient line of witches--finds the drowned body of a man off the coast of California and brings him to life. He is Michael Curry, who was born in New Orleans and orphaned in childhood by fire on Christmas Eve, who pulled himself up from poverty, and who now, in his brief interval of death, has acquired a sensory power that mystifies and frightens him. As these two, fiercely drawn to each other, fall in love and--in passionate alliance--set out to solve the mystery of her past and his unwelcome gift, the novel moves backward and forward in time from today's New Orleans and San Francisco to long-ago Amsterdam and a château in the France of Louis XIV. An intricate tale of evil unfolds--an evil unleashed in seventeenth-century Scotland, where the first "witch," Suzanne of the Mayfair, conjures up the spirit she names Lasher . . . a creation that spells her own destruction and torments each of her descendants in turn. From the coffee plantations of Port au Prince, where the great Mayfair fortune is made and the legacy of their dark power is almost destroyed, to Civil War New Orleans, as Julien--the clan's only male to be endowed with occult powers--provides for the dynasty its foothold in America, the dark, luminous story encompasses dramas of seduction and death, episodes of tenderness and healing. And always--through peril and escape, tension and release--there swirl around us the echoes of eternal war: innocence versus the corruption of the spirit, sanity against madness, life against death. With a dreamlike power, the novel draws us, through circuitous, twilight paths, to the present and Rowan's increasingly inspired and risky moves in the merciless game that binds her to her heritage. And in New Orleans, on Christmas Eve, this strangest of family sagas is brought to its startling climax.

The Bowl of Night

Author: Rosemary Edghill

Publisher: Forge Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 220

View: 492

Bast is back, in The Bowl of Night! The one-of-a-kind heroine from Edghill's two previous mysteries, Speak Daggers to Her and Book of Moons, returns in a bewitching new mystery set in the world of today's New Age community. Hallowfest, an outdoor pagan festival held every October in upstate New York, attracts all kinds of people, not to mention a few curious onlookers and the occasional protester. But when a local resident is mysteriously murdered, Bast (a.k.a. Karen Hightower) finds that her suspects include several modern-day witches, an enigmatic magician, a gun-toting survivalist, a dominatrix, and incorrigible ex-boyfriend, and even a few would-be Klingons. Can Bast discover which witch dunit--before the entire festival falls under a cloud of suspicion? At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.