The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

Author: Leslye Walton

Publisher: Candlewick Press

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 320

View: 645

A 2015 William C. Morris Debut Award Finalist. Magical realism, lyrical prose, and the pain and passion of human love haunt this hypnotic generational saga. Foolish love appears to be the Roux family birthright, an ominous forecast for its most recent progeny, Ava Lavender. Ava — in all other ways a normal girl — is born with the wings of a bird. In a quest to understand her peculiar disposition and a growing desire to fit in with her peers, sixteen-year old Ava ventures into the wider world, ill-prepared for what she might discover and naive to the twisted motives of others. Others like the pious Nathaniel Sorrows, who mistakes Ava for an angel and whose obsession with her grows until the night of the summer solstice celebration. That night, the skies open up, rain and feathers fill the air, and Ava’s quest and her family’s saga build to a devastating crescendo. First-time author Leslye Walton has constructed a layered and unforgettable mythology of what it means to be born with hearts that are tragically, exquisitely human.

The Price Guide to the Occult

Author: Leslye Walton

Publisher: Candlewick Press

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 288

View: 194

From the author of The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender comes a haunting maelstrom of magic and murder in the lush, moody Pacific Northwest. When Rona Blackburn landed on Anathema Island more than a century ago, her otherworldly skills might have benefited friendlier neighbors. Guilt and fear instead led the island’s original eight settlers to burn “the witch” out of her home. So Rona cursed them. Fast-forward one hundred–some years: All Nor Blackburn wants is to live an unremarkable teenage life. She has reason to hope: First, her supernatural powers, if they can be called that, are unexceptional. Second, her love life is nonexistent, which means she might escape the other perverse side effect of the matriarch’s backfiring curse, too. But then a mysterious book comes out, promising to cast any spell for the right price. Nor senses a storm coming and is pretty sure she’ll be smack in the eye of it. In her second novel, Leslye Walton spins a dark, mesmerizing tale of a girl stumbling along the path toward self-acceptance and first love, even as the Price Guide’s malevolent author — Nor’s own mother — looms and threatens to strangle any hope for happiness.

A Song to Take the World Apart

Author: Zan Romanoff

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 304

View: 107

What if you could make someone love you back, just by singing to them? Fans of Sarah McCarry's All Our Pretty Songs and Leslye Walton’s The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender will be captivated by this contemporary love story with hints of magical realism. Hanging out with Chris was supposed to make Lorelei’s life normal. He’s cooler, he’s older, and he’s in a band, which means he can teach her about the music that was forbidden in her house growing up. Her grandmother told her when she was little that she was never allowed to sing, but listening to someone else do it is probably harmless—right? The more she listens, though, the more keenly she can feel her own voice locked up in her throat, and how she longs to use it. And as she starts exploring the power her grandmother never wanted her to discover, influencing Chris and everyone around her, the foundations of Lorelei’s life start to crumble. There’s a reason the women in her family never want to talk about what their voices can do. And a reason Lorelei can’t seem to stop herself from singing anyway. "Zan Romanoff’s music-saturated debut will snare readers with its melodic, pop-punk hooks and elegant riffs on growing up, falling in love, and letting go." —Sarah McCarry, author of All Our Pretty Songs "Family secrets, first love, and the elemental, raw power of music are all on display in Zan Romanoff's gorgeous novel. A Song To Take the World Apart gives us a heroine who's as fierce as she is vulnerable, and a story that's as page-turning as it is profound. An enchanting and beautiful debut." Edan Lepucki, New York Times bestselling author of California

Year’s Best Young Adult Speculative Fiction 2014

Author: Julia Rios

Publisher: Twelfth Planet Press

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page:

View: 467

Fans of Kaleidoscope will find more tales of wonder, adventure, diversity, and variety in this collection devoted to stories with teen protagonists. Table of Contents Left Foot, Right - Nalo Hopkinson Selfies - Lavie Tidhar The Vitruvian Farmer - Marcelina Vizcarra The Lady and the Fox - Kelly Link Cat Calls - Margo Lanagan Walkdog - Sofia Samatar No Lonely Seafarer - Sarah Pinsker The Endless Sink - Damien Ober No Mercy for the Executioner - Deborah Biancotti The Ancestors - Laurie Tom Jelly and the D-Machine - Suzanne Church Kneaded - S. G. Larner Resurrection Points - Usman T. Malik Memory Lace - Payal Dhar Collected Likenesses - Jamey Hatley Scout - Will McIntosh Selfie - Sandra McDonald The Boy Who Grew Up - Christopher Barzak Cookie Cutter Superhero - Tansy Rayner Roberts The Stuff We Don't Do - Marissa Lingen Figment - Jeri Smith-Ready

Crossover Readers' Advisory: Maximize Your Collection to Meet Reader Satisfaction

Author: Jessica E. Moyer

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 182

View: 514

Help maximize your existing collection with this browsable volume containing titles that serve double-duty with their appeal to both teens and adults and cover genres spanning crime novels, romance, horror, science fiction, and more. • Features annotations that focus on reader appeal factors • Provides lists of titles as well as tips for using them with readers • Considers the appeal of various genres to adults and young adults • Acknowledges format availability, including various digital formats

Engaging with Multicultural YA Literature in the Secondary Classroom

Critical Approaches for Critical Educators

Author: Ricki Ginsberg

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 210

View: 987

With a focus on fostering democratic, equitable education for young people, Ginsberg and Glenn’s engaging text showcases a wide variety of innovative, critical classroom approaches that extend beyond traditional literary theories commonly used in K-12 and higher education classrooms and provides opportunities to explore young adult (YA) texts in new and essential ways. The chapters pair YA texts with critical practices and perspectives for culturally affirming and sustaining teaching and include resources, suggested titles, and classroom strategies. Following a consistent structure, each chapter provides foundational background on a key critical approach, applies the approach to a focal YA text, and connects the approach to classroom strategies designed to encourage students to think deeply and critically about texts, themselves, and the world. Offering a wealth of innovative pedagogical tools, this comprehensive volume offers opportunities for students and their teachers to explore key and emerging topics, including culture, (dis)ability, ethnicity, gender, immigration, race, sexual orientation, and social class.

A Girl in Three Parts

Author: Suzanne Daniel

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 320

View: 736

A story of sisterhood, solidarity, and finding your place in a changing world, A GIRL IN THREE PARTS is part "Eighth Grade," part Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood, and entirely original. Allegra Elsom is caught in the middle. She's suspended between childhood and adulthood, torn apart by the decade old tragedy that split her family in three, and doing her best to stay true to her Catholic upbringing while navigating unexpected blows--a friend's pregnancy, an abusive relationship, the rising demand for change among women in her community . . . She struggles to make peace in her family and navigate the social gauntlet at school, while asking bigger questions about her place in the world: what does it mean to "get liberated"? What does it mean to do the right thing, when everyone around her defines it differently? As second wave feminism reshapes her Sydney suburb, Allegra makes her own path-discovering first-hand the incredible ways that women can support each other, and finding strength within herself to stand up to the people she loves. Readers who loved The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood or The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, will find the spirit of sisterhood alive and well in Suzanne Daniel's poignant debut.

Lyceum

The Literary Arts Journal

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: American literature

Page:

View: 261

Original poetry, short fiction, drama, photography and artwork submitted by students, alumni, faculty and staff of the University of Michigan--Dearborn.

Gray Wolf Island

Author: Tracey Neithercott

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

Category: Adventure stories

Page: 336

View: 606

For fans of The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavendercomes a compelling story of five friends in search of a legendary treasure. They'll face adventure, supernatural elements, and what it means to trust your friends with the darkest of secrets. a Ruby's sister had one dying wish- that Ruby explore the infamous Gray Wolf Island and find the treasure long rumored to be buried there. a Ruby sets off to find it, with only a poem, serving as a treasure map, to guide her. She teams up with some local friends-a boy supposedly born of a virgin, a girl who doesn't sleep, a boy who has visions of his own death, and another with a dark family history. Together, they must face their own demons and give their secrets to the island in order to find their treasure. Along the way, they'll learn things about themselves, and each other, that they never thought possible. a But on an island that demands both truth and death, how far will they go to reach the end?

Cue

The Weekly Magazine of New York Life

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Amusements

Page:

View: 971