The Spirit Photographer

A Novel

Author: Jon Michael Varese

Publisher: Abrams

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 743

Boston, 1870. Photographer Edward Moody runs a booming business capturing the images of the spirits of the departed in his portraits. He lures grieving widows and mourning mothers into his studio with promises of catching the ghosts of their deceased loved ones with his camera. Despite the whispers around town that Moody is a fraud of the basest kind, no one has been able to expose him, and word of his gift has spread, earning him money, fame, and a growing list of illustrious clients. One day, while developing the negative from a sitting to capture the spirit of the young son of an abolitionist senator, Moody is shocked to see a different spectral figure develop before his eyes. Instead of the staged image of the boy he was expecting, the camera has seemingly captured the spirit of a beautiful young woman. Is it possible that the spirit photographer caught a real ghost? When Moody recognizes the woman in the photograph as the daughter of an escaped slave he knew long ago, he is compelled to travel from Boston to the Louisiana bayous to resolve their unfinished business—and perhaps save his soul. But more than one person is out to stop him . . .With dramatic twists and redolent of the mood of the Southern Gothic, The Spirit Photographer conjures the Reconstruction era South, replete with fugitive hunters, voodoo healers, and other dangers lurking in the swamp. Jon Michael Varese’s deftly plotted first novel is an intense tale of death and betrayal that shows us how undeniably the ghosts of the past remain with us, and how resolutely they refuse to be quieted.

The Spirit Photographer: A Novel

Author: Jon Michael Varese

Publisher: The Overlook Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 274

For fans of Cold Mountain and The Alienist, the stunning debut novel of historical suspense about a charismatic conman haunted—perhaps literally—by a ghost from his past Boston, 1870. Photographer Edward Moody runs a booming business capturing the images of the spirits of the departed in his portraits. He lures grieving widows and mourning mothers into his studio with promises of catching the ghosts of their deceased loved ones with his camera. Despite the whispers around town that Moody is a fraud of the basest kind, no one has been able to expose him, and word of his gift has spread, earning him money, fame, and a growing list of illustrious clients. One day, while developing the negative from a sitting to capture the spirit of the young son of an abolitionist senator, Moody is shocked to see a different spectral figure develop before his eyes. Instead of the staged image of the boy he was expecting, the camera has seemingly captured the spirit of a beautiful young woman. Is it possible that the spirit photographer caught a real ghost? When Moody recognizes the woman in the photograph as the daughter of an escaped slave he knew long ago, he is compelled to travel from Boston to the Louisiana bayous to resolve their unfinished business—and perhaps save his soul. But more than one person is out to stop him . . . With dramatic twists and redolent of the mood of the Southern Gothic, The Spirit Photographer conjures the Reconstruction era South, replete with fugitive hunters, voodoo healers, and other dangers lurking in the swamp. Jon Michael Varese’s deftly plotted first novel is an intense tale of death and betrayal that shows us how undeniably the ghosts of the past remain with us, and how resolutely they refuse to be quieted.

The Strange Case of William Mumler, Spirit Photographer

Author: Louis Kaplan

Publisher: U of Minnesota Press

ISBN:

Category: Photography

Page: 264

View: 895

In the 1860s, William Mumler photographed ghostsa or so he claimed. Faint images of the dearly departed lurked in the background with the living, like his well-known photo of the recently assassinated Abraham Lincoln comforting Mary Todd. The practice came to be known as spirit photography, and some believed Mumler was channeling the dead. Skeptics, however, called it a fraudulent trick on the gullible, taking advantage of the grieving at a time of suffering and loss. Mumlera s insistence that his work brought back the dead led to a sensational trial in 1869 that was the talk of the nation.

Photographing the Invisible

Practical Studies in Spirit Photography, Spirit Portraiture, and Other Rare But Allied Phenomena

Author: James Coates

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Photography of the invisible

Page: 394

View: 107

In this 100 year old book the mechanics of spirit photography are explained by apparent spirits communicating through mediums. It has to do with ether and semi-materialization apparently. However, the presence of a medium before the taking of the photograph is essential, reportedly. In addition, the medium should be morally and physically healthy and able to maintain a passive mental state. Anxiety is reportedly a great hindrance. That way, the subconscious thought forms are liberated. There's a photo of Alfred Russel Wallace and his deceased mother. Wallace states, "The facts were too many for me." Photos of people's doubles were apparently also possible, such as the photo taken of medium Stainton Moses and his double. Mr. Coates includes a photo of himself and his dead wife. Thought photography is discussed towards the end of the book, which apparently dates from 1876. Images of objects enter and fix themselves in our brains through the retina, and then they can leave our brains by the same route, reportedly. Coates includes a letter from a correspondent who reportedly received evidence that there is a large band of workers in the spirit world who are "helping to convince the Western World that there are things and beings which cannot be cognised by ordinary sense faculty." A good book to generate conversation about.

The Spirit World Unmasked

Illustrated Investigations Into the Phenomena of Spiritualism and Theosophy

Author: Henry Ridgely Evans

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Spiritualism

Page: 302

View: 376

The Ghost Photographer

My Story of Grief and Healing—with Guidance from the Other Side

Author: Julie Rieger

Publisher: Atria/Enliven Books

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 335

Told with uncensored Southern wit and guidance, this inspirational memoir “is a good primer on getting into the psychic realm” (Booklist) and recounts the story of a Hollywood film executive who journeys through the cosmic wilderness and, against all odds, discovers psychic superpowers that radically transformed her life. As a senior executive at one of the world’s largest movie studios, Julie Rieger spent her days marketing the imaginary stories of ghosts, faeries, superheroes, aliens, and more fantastical creatures. But after the devastating loss of her mother, the world of make-believe became reality when Julie captured her first ghost in a photograph and blew open a door to the Other Side. The Ghost Photographer chronicles Julie’s wild ride down the spiritual rabbit hole. After a series of unexpected, mind-blowing, and sometimes frightening encounters with the spirit realm, Julie was forced to face this strange awakening, flying in the face of scientific dogma and her own die-hard skepticism. Ultimately, she discovered that what she thought she had lost with the death of her mother—unconditional love—was in fact the greatest superpower one can wield. “A hugely entertaining must-read for anyone who’s ever struggled with loss or wondered what might be beyond the veil of our five senses” (Anita Moorjani, author of Dying To Be Me), The Ghost Photographer offers insights into our relationship with the spirit world, prayers and rituals for cleansing and protecting our homes from unwanted ghosts, and guidance on how to develop our intuition and sixth sense.

Photographic Amusements

Including a Description of a Number of Novel Effects Obtainable with the Camera

Author: Walter E. Woodbury

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Trick photography

Page: 114

View: 600

Jack Pennyworth Spirit Photographer

Author: Diane Gauvin

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 109

View: 775

This is a coffee table book of spirit photography with several photographs of spirits taken in various locations including Chicago, Boston, and Providence Rhode Island.

LIFE

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 88

View: 266

LIFE Magazine is the treasured photographic magazine that chronicled the 20th Century. It now lives on at LIFE.com, the largest, most amazing collection of professional photography on the internet. Users can browse, search and view photos of today’s people and events. They have free access to share, print and post images for personal use.