The Small Heart of Things

Being at Home in a Beckoning World

Author: Julian Hoffman

Publisher: University of Georgia Press

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 168

View: 519

In The Small Heart of Things, Julian Hoffman intimately examines the myriad ways in which connections to the natural world can be deepened through an equality of perception, whether it's a caterpillar carrying its house of leaves, transhumant shepherds ranging high mountain pastures, a quail taking cover on an empty steppe, or a Turkmen family emigrating from Afghanistan to Istanbul. The narrative spans the common—and often contested—ground that supports human and natural communities alike, seeking the unsung stories that sustain us. Guided by the belief of Rainer Maria Rilke that “everything beckons us to perceive it,” Hoffman explores the area around the Prespa Lakes, the first transboundary park in the Balkans, shared by Greece, Albania, and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia. From there he travels widely to regions rarely written about, exploring the idea that home is wherever we happen to be if we accord that place our close and patient attention. The Small Heart of Things is a book about looking and listening. It incorporates travel and natural history writing that interweaves human stories with those of wild creatures. Distinguished by Hoffman's belief that through awareness, curiosity, and openness we have the potential to forge abiding relationships with a range of places, it illuminates how these many connections can teach us to be at home in the world.

The Heart of Things

A Midwestern Almanac

Author: John Hildebrand

Publisher: Wisconsin Historical Society

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 188

View: 633

“I’ve never believed that living in one place means being one thing all the time, condemned like Minnie Pearl to wear the same hat for every performance. Life is more complicated than that.” In this remarkable book of days, John Hildebrand charts the overlapping rings—home, town, countryside—of life in the Midwest. Like E. B. White, Hildebrand locates the humor and drama in ordinary life: church suppers, Friday night football, outdoor weddings, garden compost, family reunions, roadside memorials, camouflage clothing. In these wry, sharply observed essays, the Midwest isn’t The Land Time Forgot but a more complicated (and vastly more interesting) place where the good life awaits once we figure exactly out what it means. From his home range in northwestern Wisconsin, Hildebrand attempts to do just that by boiling down a calendar year to its rich marrow of weather, animals, family, home—in other words, all the things that matter.

The Distance from the Heart of Things

Author: Ashley Warlick

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 177

Returning home from college to her grandfather's prosperous Carolina vineyard, Mavis Black discovers a growing emotional distance from her eccentric Southern family--her dreamy mother, blacksheep uncle, and powerful grandfather, Punk

Outsider at the Heart of Things

Essays

Author: Richard P. Blackmur

Publisher: University of Illinois Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 287

View: 229

Among Animals

The Lives of Animals and Humans in Contemporary Short Fiction

Author: Diane Lefer

Publisher: Ashland Creek Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 222

View: 853

Stories that affirm the indelible bond among humans and animals The relationships among human and non-human animals go back to the beginning of time—and the ways in which these relationships have evolved (and sometimes not) is the inspiration for this collection of contemporary short fiction, penned by writers from across the globe. This diverse collection of stories explores the ways in which we live among—and often in conflict with—our non-human counterparts. These stories feature animals from the familiar (dogs and cats) to the exotic (elands and emus), and in these stories animals are both the rescuers and the rescued. Within these pages are glimpses of the world through the eyes of a zookeeper, a shelter worker, a penguin researcher, and a neighborhood stray, among many others—all highlighting the ways in which animals and humans understand and challenge one another. Among Animals is a dynamic collection of stories from the world’s most gifted contemporary authors—those who pay close attention to the creatures with whom we share our planet, and who inspire us to pay closer attention as well.

The Heart of Things

Applying Philosophy to the 21st Century

Author: A.C. Grayling

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Philosophy

Page: 288

View: 557

The new bestseller from one of Britain's most pre-eminent philosophers and arguably the best known, A.C. Grayling Everyone wishes to live a life that is satisfying and fulfilling, in which there is achievement and pleasure, and which has the respect of people one, in turn, respects. And one of the fundamentals to living such a life is to reflect on the choices we make. In this new collection, A.C. Grayling invites the reader into a conversation with ideas. From personal questions about happiness and quality of life to wider public concerns such as war and democracy, these essays provide a springboard to thought and to exploring what is best about the human heart and mind.

Don't Sweat The Small Stuff in Love

Simple Ways to Nuture and Strengthen Your Relationships While Avoiding the Habits that Break Down Your Loving Connection

Author: Richard Carlson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 272

View: 485

Richard Carlson has helped millions of readers to reduce the stress in their everyday lives, with their families and in their jobs. Now he shows readers how to apply his immensely popular and helpful philosophy to one of the most difficult aspects of life - the romantic relationship. While depression, heartache, anger, and insecurity are widely associated with romantic love, the concept of stress is rarely identified as a problem. In one hundred brief, beautifully written essays, Richard Carlson shows readers how not to overreact to a loved one's criticism, how to appreciate your spouse in new ways, how to get past old angers, and many other ways to improve and increase the joy and pleasure that can and should be a part of any partnership.

In the Heart of Fear One Forgets One's Self

Author: Greg Stroll

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 60

View: 107

Love, which is life's greatest weapon, life's greatest tool, inspired me to do the biggest thing I've ever done. I wrote this book as a token of appreciation for a sick friend who was more than just someone I loved. Either diabetes will take her or the efforts of the people who fight diabetes around the world will see fruition in time. Here is my contribution and best effort to see a cure happen. My name is Greg and I've been fighting my own war for years, only my enemy isn't a person: it's schizophrenia. During my first psychotic episode I undertook this project and I give you my thoughts, my paranoia, my insanity from my own perspective, with my own words. Join me in the heart of fear where I forgot who I was. (100% of my profits will be going to the Canadian Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation)

Irreplaceable

The fight to save our wild places

Author: Julian Hoffman

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Travel

Page: 416

View: 105

For readers of George Monbiot, Mark Cocker and Robert Macfarlane - an urgent and lyrical account of endangered places around the globe and the people fighting to save them. All across the world, irreplaceable habitats are under threat. Unique ecosystems of plants and animals are being destroyed by human intervention. From the tiny to the vast, from marshland to meadow, and from Kent to Glasgow to India to America, they are disappearing. Irreplaceable is not only a love letter to the haunting beauty of these landscapes and the wild species that call them home, including nightingales, lynxes, hornbills, redwoods and elephant seals, it is also a timely reminder of the vital connections between humans and nature, and all that we stand to lose in terms of wonder and wellbeing. This is a book about the power of resistance in an age of loss; a testament to the transformative possibilities that emerge when people come together to defend our most special places and wildlife from extinction. Exploring treasured coral reefs and remote mountains, tropical jungle and ancient woodland, urban allotments and tallgrass prairie, Julian Hoffman traces the stories of threatened places around the globe through the voices of local communities and grassroots campaigners as well as professional ecologists and academics. And in the process, he asks what a deep emotional relationship with place offers us - culturally, socially and psychologically. In this rigorous, intimate and impassioned account, he presents a powerful call to arms in the face of unconscionable natural destruction.

Shepherding the Small Church

A Leadership Guide for the Majority of Today's Churches

Author: Glenn Daman

Publisher: Kregel Publications

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 285

View: 628

An indispensable source of advice and encouragement for the small church pastor, including how to formulate a mission while understanding the cultures of the community and the church.