The Shadow Queen

Author: CJ Redwine

Publisher: Scholastic UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 400

View: 101

An epic, hugely entertaining YA fantasy inspired by the tale of Snow White, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J Maas.

The Shadow Queen

Author: Bertrice Small

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 228

Mourn me but briefly. Then find your destiny, Lara, my love, my life. Now let me go… With those words, the spirit of Magnus Hauk, Dominus of Terah, departs his body—leaving the fate of his nation to his wife, the half faerie Lara. While Lara's son Prince Taj is well loved by the people of Terah, he is too young to rule, so Lara must obey Magnus's dying command and govern in his stead. Yet some in Terah still believe that a female must never wear the crown…and Lara and her children will face old enemies who are not finished with their schemes for revenge. But one hope remains—Lara has a powerful ally in Prince Kaliq of the Shadows, though never was there a more seductive friend or foe….

Legendtopia Book #2: The Shadow Queen

Author: Lee Bacon

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 256

View: 901

The second book in the Legendtopia series, fast-paced action-adventure novels that will have you racing through the pages to get to the fantastical finish! Two kids—Kara, a girl from our world, and Prince Fred, a royal boy from the kingdom of Heldstone—join forces to save Urth. Kara and her royal BFF, Prince Fred, are on the most important mission of their lives. Kara’s long-lost dad is trapped in the magical kingdom of Heldstone—and the two friends are on an epic quest to rescue him. It won’t be easy. Heldstone is bustling with parades and parties in preparation for the Luminary Ball, an incredible celebration of the royal family. But not everyone is in the mood to celebrate. The evil Sorceress has transformed into the Shadow Queen. She has poisoned the prince’s parents, and unless Kara and Fred find an antidote, the king and queen will be dead in three days. Their search will take them outside the palace walls, into an enchanting and dangerous world of talking animals, fierce monsters, and vegetarian trolls . . . all the while being hunted by the Sorceress and her evil army of shadows. Can Kara and Fred save their parents? Or will the Shadow Queen destroy them all?

The Shadow Queen: Free sample

Author: Anne O'Brien

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 60

View: 629

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Queen’s Choice The untold story of Joan of Kent, the mastermind behind the reign of child-King Richard II. A tale of treachery, power-hungry families and legal subterfuges.

The Shadow Queen

Author: Anne Bishop

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 742

In a tumultuous world ruled by witches and warlocks who wear their power as jewels, one Queen’s chance at redemption is the last hope for a desperate people in this novel set in the world of the Black Jewels... Theran Grayhaven is the last of his line, desperate to restore the land of Dena Nehele. But first he needs to find a Queen who knows Protocol, remembers the Blood’s code of honor, and lives by the Old Ways. Languishing in the Shadow Realm, Lady Cassidy is a Queen without a court, a castoff. But when she is chosen to rule Dena Nehele, she must convince bitter men to serve once again. Theran’s cousin Gray is a Warlord Prince who was damaged in mind and body by the vicious Queens who once ruled Dena Nehele. Yet something about Cassidy makes him want to serve—and makes him believe he can be made whole once again. And only Cassidy can prove to Gray—and to herself—that wounds can heal and even the whisper of a promise can be fulfilled...

The Shadow Queen

A Novel

Author: Sandra Gulland

Publisher: Anchor

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 412

From the author of the beloved Josephine B. Trilogy, comes a spellbinding novel inspired by the true story of a young woman who rises from poverty to become confidante to the most powerful, provocative and dangerous woman in the 17th century French court: the mistress of the charismatic Sun King. 1660, Paris Claudette’s life is like an ever-revolving stage set. From an impoverished childhood wandering the French countryside with her family’s acting troupe, Claudette finally witnesses her mother's astonishing rise to stardom in Parisian theaters. Working with playwrights Corneille, Molière and Racine, Claudette’s life is culturally rich, but like all in the theatrical world at the time, she's socially scorned. A series of chance encounters gradually pull Claudette into the alluring orbit of Athénaïs de Montespan, mistress to Louis XIV and reigning "Shadow Queen." Needing someone to safeguard her secrets, Athénaïs offers to hire Claudette as her personal attendant. Enticed by the promise of riches and respectability, Claudette leaves the world of the theater only to find that court is very much like a stage, with outward shows of loyalty masking more devious intentions. This parallel is not lost on Athénaïs, who fears political enemies are plotting her ruin as young courtesans angle to take the coveted spot in the king's bed. Indeed, Claudette's "reputable" new position is marked by spying, illicit trysts and titanic power struggles. As Athénaïs, becomes ever more desperate to hold onto the King's favor, innocent love charms move into the realm of deadly Black Magic, and Claudette is forced to consider a move that will put her own life—and the family she loves so dearly—at risk. Set against the gilded opulence of a newly-constructed Versailles and the War of Theaters, THE SHADOW QUEEN is a seductive, gripping novel about the lure of wealth, the illusion of power, and the increasingly uneasy relationship between two strong-willed women whose actions could shape the future of France.

The Shadow Queen

A Novel of Wallis Simpson, Duchess of Windsor

Author: Rebecca Dean

Publisher: Broadway Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 714

King Edward VIII abdicated his throne for her in one of the world’s great love stories – but who was Wallis Simpson? Born into a poor southern family but taken in by rich relatives, Wallis Simpson was raised as a socialite. Between family conflicts and debutante balls, she and her friends dream of their future husbands, and like millions of girls worldwide, dream of Prince Edward, the heir to the British throne who would someday be king. Beloved author Rebecca Dean imagines the early life of Wallis Simpson, her triumphs and heartbreaks, and the making of the twice divorced, nearly destitute woman who captured a king’s heart and changed the course of history. Set against a background of high society, royal circles, and diplomatic intrigue, The Shadow Queen features one of the most fascinating and controversial women of the 20th century. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Shadow Queen

Author: Deborah Kalin

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 312

View: 901

When powerful enemies threaten to destroy her kingdom, Shadow Queen Matilde must pit herself against her family's conqueror to survive - will her vision of doom come true, or will she prevail? A breathtaking novel from a brilliant new voice in fantasy fiction.

Eleanor of Castile

The Shadow Queen

Author: Sara Cockerill

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 448

View: 208

The untold story of the remarkable woman behind England's greatest medieval king, Edward I

The Shadow Queen

Author: Anne O'Brien

Publisher: HQ

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 560

View: 679

The Sunday Times Bestseller 'A cracking historical novel' - Good Housekeeping'A dangerous word, perhaps, for a woman. Power.' From her first clandestine marriage, Joan of Kent's reputation is one of beauty, rumour and scandal. Her royal blood makes her a desirable bride. Her ambition and passion make her a threat. Joan knows what she must do to protect her reputation...the games to play, the men to marry. She will do anything to get what she wants: The Crown of England. A tale of ambition, treachery and desire, The Shadow Queen tells of a woman's ascent through the court to command royal power alongside her young son, King Richard II.