The Shadow Queen

Author: CJ Redwine

Publisher: Scholastic UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 400

View: 981

An epic, hugely entertaining YA fantasy inspired by the tale of Snow White, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J Maas.

Legendtopia Book #2: The Shadow Queen

Author: Lee Bacon

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 256

View: 370

The second book in the Legendtopia series, fast-paced action-adventure novels that will have you racing through the pages to get to the fantastical finish! Two kids—Kara, a girl from our world, and Prince Fred, a royal boy from the kingdom of Heldstone—join forces to save Urth. Kara and her royal BFF, Prince Fred, are on the most important mission of their lives. Kara’s long-lost dad is trapped in the magical kingdom of Heldstone—and the two friends are on an epic quest to rescue him. It won’t be easy. Heldstone is bustling with parades and parties in preparation for the Luminary Ball, an incredible celebration of the royal family. But not everyone is in the mood to celebrate. The evil Sorceress has transformed into the Shadow Queen. She has poisoned the prince’s parents, and unless Kara and Fred find an antidote, the king and queen will be dead in three days. Their search will take them outside the palace walls, into an enchanting and dangerous world of talking animals, fierce monsters, and vegetarian trolls . . . all the while being hunted by the Sorceress and her evil army of shadows. Can Kara and Fred save their parents? Or will the Shadow Queen destroy them all?

The Shadow Queen

Author: Bertrice Small

Publisher: HQN Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 608

View: 344

After Magnus Hauk dies while the prince is too young to rule, Lara accepts Magnus' dying wish that she take power, but there are many who oppose a woman ruler, including old enemies who reignite their schemes for power and revenge.

The Shadow Queen

Author: Anne Bishop

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 410

In a tumultuous world ruled by witches and warlocks who wear their power as jewels, one Queen’s chance at redemption is the last hope for a desperate people in this novel set in the world of the Black Jewels... Theran Grayhaven is the last of his line, desperate to restore the land of Dena Nehele. But first he needs to find a Queen who knows Protocol, remembers the Blood’s code of honor, and lives by the Old Ways. Languishing in the Shadow Realm, Lady Cassidy is a Queen without a court, a castoff. But when she is chosen to rule Dena Nehele, she must convince bitter men to serve once again. Theran’s cousin Gray is a Warlord Prince who was damaged in mind and body by the vicious Queens who once ruled Dena Nehele. Yet something about Cassidy makes him want to serve—and makes him believe he can be made whole once again. And only Cassidy can prove to Gray—and to herself—that wounds can heal and even the whisper of a promise can be fulfilled...

The Shadow Queen: Free sample

Author: Anne O'Brien

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 60

View: 408

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Queen’s Choice The untold story of Joan of Kent, the mastermind behind the reign of child-King Richard II. A tale of treachery, power-hungry families and legal subterfuges.

Shadow Queen

Author: Deborah Kalin

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 312

View: 647

When powerful enemies threaten to destroy her kingdom, Shadow Queen Matilde must pit herself against her family's conqueror to survive - will her vision of doom come true, or will she prevail? A breathtaking novel from a brilliant new voice in fantasy fiction.

Eleanor of Castile

The Shadow Queen

Author: Sara Cockerill

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 448

View: 229

The untold story of the remarkable woman behind England's greatest medieval king, Edward I

The Shadow Queen

Author: Anne O'Brien

Publisher: HarperCollins Australia

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 943

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Queen's ChoiceThe untold story of Joan of Kent, the mastermind behind the reign of child-King Richard II. The untold story of Joan of Kent, the mastermind behind the reign of King Richard II. From her first clandestine marriage, Joan of Kent's reputation is one of beauty, scandal and rumour. Her royal blood makes her a desirable bride. Her ambition and passion make her a threat. Joan knows what she has to do to survive. The games to play, the men to marry – even if one man will always have her heart. A remarkable story of love and loyalty and of the cost of personal ambition. The story of the woman who would ultimately wield power as the mother to ten–year–old King Richard II, from the shadows of the throne. 'What would enhance the pattern of my life further? One word slid into my mind. A seductive word. A dangerous word, perhaps, for a woman. Power.'

The Shadow Queen

A Novel of Wallis Simpson, Duchess of Windsor

Author: Rebecca Dean

Publisher: Broadway Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 423

View: 753

A reimagining of the life of the woman for whom Edward VIII of England abdicated the throne dramatically recreates her disadvantaged childhood, upbringing as a socialite by wealthy relatives and entry into British society before capturing the heart of a prince. By the author of The Palace Circle. Original. 15,000 first printing.

The Shadow Queen

Author: Sandra Gulland

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 225

From the author of the beloved Josephine B. Trilogy comes a spellbinding novel inspired by the true story of a young woman who rose from poverty to become confidante to the most powerful, provocative and dangerous woman in the 17th-century French court: the mistress of the charismatic Sun King. 1660, Paris: Claudette’s life is like an ever-revolving stage set. Following an impoverished childhood spent wandering the French countryside with her family acting troupe, she witnesses her mother’s astonishing rise to stardom in Parisian theatres. Working with playwrights Corneille, Moliere and Racine, Claudette leads a culturally rich life, but like all in the theatrical world at the time, she’s socially scorned. A series of chance encounters pulls Claudette into the alluring orbit of Athenaïs de Montespan, mistress of Louis XIV and reigning “shadow queen.” Needing someone to safeguard her secrets, Athenais offers to hire Claudette as her personal attendant. Enticed by the promise of riches and respectability, Claudette leaves the world of the theatre only to find that court is very much like a stage, with outward shows of loyalty masking more devious intentions. This parallel is not lost on Athenaïs, who fears that political enemies are plotting her ruin as young courtesans angle to take the coveted spot in the king’s bed. Indeed, Claudette’s “reputable” new position is marked by spying, illicit trysts and titanic power struggles. As Athenaïs becomes ever more desperate to hold on to the king’s favour, her innocent love charms begin to delve into the realm of deadly black magic, and Claudette is forced to consider a move that will put her life--and the family she loves so dearly--at risk. Set against the gilded opulence of a newly constructed Versailles and the cut-throat Parisian “war of the theatres,” The Shadow Queen is a seductive, gripping novel about the lure of wealth, the illusion of power and the increasingly uneasy relationship between two strong-willed women whose actions could shape the future of France.