The Russia House

A Novel

Author: John le Carre

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 753

World powers clash for dominance as a beautiful Russian woman carries out a staggering mission and a derelict English publisher becomes the unlikely recipient of the Soviet Union's top defense secret. Reprint. 12,500 first printing.

The Russia House

Author: John le Carré

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 184

Barley Blair is not a Service man: he is a small-time publisher, a self-destructive soul whose only loves are whisky and jazz. But it was Barley who, one drunken night at a dacha in Peredelkino during the Moscow Book Fair, was befriended by a high-ranking Soviet scientist who could be the greatest asset to the West since perestroika began, and made a promise. Nearly a year later, his drunken promise returns to haunt him. A reluctant Barley is quickly trained by British Intelligence and sent to Moscow to liaise with a go-between, the beautiful Katya. Both are lonely and disillusioned. Each is increasingly certain that if the human race is to have any future, all must betray their countries ... In his first post-glasnost spy novel, le Carré captures the effect of a slow and uncertain thaw on ordinary people and on the shadowy puppet-masters who command them. Contains a foreword and afterword by the author.

The Russia House

Based on the Novel by John Le Carre

Author: Tom Stoppard

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 373

Successive manuscript and typescript drafts, from ink holograph outlines through first drafts revised, through second drafts corrected, to final complete uncorrected text.

The Russian House

Architecture & Interiors

Author: Ella Krasner

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Architecture

Page: 216

View: 103

From the 18th century, Russia looked to the West, observed the latest fashions and set about creating its own unique style built upon the country's multiple natural and human resources. Art and literature flourished and Russians revelled in their individualism. A romantic, nostalgic and deeply religious people, they treasure their possessions, adore colour and pattern and successfully create interiors that are a reminder of leisurely family gatherings and old-fashioned hospitality. Featuring over 200 specially commissioned photographs of previously unseen locations, combined with fascinating text, which delves into the complexities of Russia's problematic history, The Russian house offers a rare view of a lifestyle that is fast disappearing.

The House of Government

A Saga of the Russian Revolution

Author: Yuri Slezkine

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 1128

View: 809

On the 100th anniversary of the Russian Revolution, the epic story of an enormous apartment building where Communist true believers lived before their destruction The House of Government is unlike any other book about the Russian Revolution and the Soviet experiment. Written in the tradition of Tolstoy's War and Peace, Grossman’s Life and Fate, and Solzhenitsyn’s The Gulag Archipelago, Yuri Slezkine’s gripping narrative tells the true story of the residents of an enormous Moscow apartment building where top Communist officials and their families lived before they were destroyed in Stalin’s purges. A vivid account of the personal and public lives of Bolshevik true believers, the book begins with their conversion to Communism and ends with their children’s loss of faith and the fall of the Soviet Union. Completed in 1931, the House of Government, later known as the House on the Embankment, was located across the Moscow River from the Kremlin. The largest residential building in Europe, it combined 505 furnished apartments with public spaces that included everything from a movie theater and a library to a tennis court and a shooting range. Slezkine tells the chilling story of how the building’s residents lived in their apartments and ruled the Soviet state until some eight hundred of them were evicted from the House and led, one by one, to prison or their deaths. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, The House of Government weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history, and fascinating new theories of revolutions, millennial prophecies, and reigns of terror. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.

Understanding John Le Carré

Author: John L. Cobbs

Publisher: Univ of South Carolina Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 297

View: 282

This text provides an introduction to a writer who is arguably 20th-century England's most successful serious novelist and one of the foremost living figure in English literature of espionage and detection. The author aims to establish that le Carre's fiction transcends the genre of espionage writing, and that he is pre-eminently a social commentator who writes novels of manners.

New York Magazine

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 116

View: 156

New York magazine was born in 1968 after a run as an insert of the New York Herald Tribune and quickly made a place for itself as the trusted resource for readers across the country. With award-winning writing and photography covering everything from politics and food to theater and fashion, the magazine's consistent mission has been to reflect back to its audience the energy and excitement of the city itself, while celebrating New York as both a place and an idea.

The New Biographical Dictionary of Film

Sixth Edition

Author: David Thomson

Publisher: Knopf

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 1168

View: 270

For almost thirty years, David Thomson’s Biographical Dictionary of Film has been not merely “the finest reference book ever written about movies” (Graham Fuller, Interview), not merely the “desert island book” of art critic David Sylvester, not merely “a great, crazy masterpiece” (Geoff Dyer, The Guardian), but also “fiendishly seductive” (Greil Marcus, Rolling Stone). This new edition updates the older entries and adds 30 new ones: Darren Aronofsky, Emmanuelle Beart, Jerry Bruckheimer, Larry Clark, Jennifer Connelly, Chris Cooper, Sofia Coppola, Alfonso Cuaron, Richard Curtis, Sir Richard Eyre, Sir Michael Gambon, Christopher Guest, Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu, Spike Jonze, Wong Kar-Wai, Laura Linney, Tobey Maguire, Michael Moore, Samantha Morton, Mike Myers, Christopher Nolan, Dennis Price, Adam Sandler, Kevin Smith, Kiefer Sutherland, Charlize Theron, Larry Wachowski and Andy Wachowski, Lew Wasserman, Naomi Watts, and Ray Winstone. In all, the book includes more than 1300 entries, some of them just a pungent paragraph, some of them several thousand words long. In addition to the new “musts,” Thomson has added key figures from film history–lively anatomies of Graham Greene, Eddie Cantor, Pauline Kael, Abbott and Costello, Noël Coward, Hoagy Carmichael, Dorothy Gish, Rin Tin Tin, and more. Here is a great, rare book, one that encompasses the chaos of art, entertainment, money, vulgarity, and nonsense that we call the movies. Personal, opinionated, funny, daring, provocative, and passionate, it is the one book that every filmmaker and film buff must own. Time Out named it one of the ten best books of the 1990s. Gavin Lambert recognized it as “a work of imagination in its own right.” Now better than ever–a masterwork by the man playwright David Hare called “the most stimulating and thoughtful film critic now writing.”

John Le Carré, A New Collection of Three Complete Novels

A Perfect Spy; The Russia House; The Secret Pilgrim

Author: John Le Carré

Publisher: Wings

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 807

View: 267

Three more great ones from this incomparable international bestseller who is regarded by many as the father of the spy novel. This hardcover trilogy features three of the masters most exciting and best-selling stories: The Russia House, The Secret Pilgrim. and A Perfect Spy. A perfect set-up for his millions of fans.