Book of Embroidery

A Guide to Essential Stitches, Techniques and Projects

Author: Various

Publisher: Royal School of Needlework Guides

ISBN:

Category: Embroidery

Page: 400

View: 353

This book is a rich source of embroidery techniques, stitches and projects, covering eight key subjects in detail: crewelwork, bead embroidery, stumpwork, canvaswork, goldwork, whitework, blackwork and silk shading. Containing all the trusted, bestselling content from the RSN Essential Stitch Guide series, plus a new section on mounting your finished work. Written by expert RSN graduate apprentices and endorsed by the RSN, the book contains clear step-by-step stitch guides, examples of contemporary and historical pieces and inspiring projects.

The Royal School of Needlework Book of Embroidery

A Guide to Essential Stitches, Techniques and Projects

Author: Royal School of Needlework

Publisher: SearchPress+ORM

ISBN:

Category: Crafts & Hobbies

Page: 410

View: 142

An all-in-one volume covering crewelwork, canvaswork, and six other types of hand embroidery, from the renowned school established in nineteenth-century England. This beautiful book is a rich source of embroidery techniques, stitches, and projects, covering eight key subjects in detail: crewelwork, bead embroidery, stumpwork, canvaswork, goldwork, whitework, blackwork, and silk shading. Collecting all the books in the trusted, bestselling Royal School of Needlework Essential Stitch Guide series, plus a new section on mounting your finished work, this fantastic book—heavily illustrated with photos—is a must-have for all embroiderers.

Royal School of Needlework Embroidery Techniques

Author: Sally Saunders

Publisher: Batsford

ISBN:

Category: Crafts & Hobbies

Page: 160

View: 221

The distinguished reputation and specialist knowledge of the Royal School of Needlework are combined in this colourful and inspirational introduction to the most popular hand embroidery techniques. A detailed introductory section provides all the practical information needed for setting up and finishing pieces of embroidery, selecting your design, fabric and treads and preparing and framing up for working. The next four chapters examine the popular techniques of silk shading, gold work, crewelwork and black work, all introduced with a historical overview and a comprehensive stitch glossary. Each stitch technique features four exquisitely worked embroidery projects with step-by-step instructions and photographs explaining their development and stitching. The 16 projects include a Jacobean leaf sampler in crewel work, an Iris in blackwork, a tree bark design in silk shading and a sampler in goldwork. 'Royal School of Needlework: Embroidery Techniques' is an essential guide to stitching for embroiderers – it is a valuable source of reference and a beautiful book for the needlecrafter's library.

Raised Embroidery

Techniques, Projects & Pure Inspiration

Author: Kelley Aldridge

Publisher: Search Press(UK)

ISBN:

Category: Embroidery

Page: 144

View: 837

This practical, contemporary guide to the exciting and varied world of raised embroidery is written by Kelley Aldridge, an expert teacher with the Royal School of Needlework. Part of a new series showcasing the RSN's traditional techniques, technical excellence and contemporary flair, it contains a complete grounding in raised embroidery stitches and techniques, three beautiful projects and galleries of inspiring work. The book features an introduction to the RSN and its prestigious heritage. It reveals the history and context of raised embroidery and showcases galleries of inspiring raised embroidery work. This is primarily a practical, instructional guide that offers a complete grounding in the techniques you need for raised embroidery: it contains a comprehensive stitch guide and leads the reader through each technique using clear step-by-step photography and easy-to-follow expert guidance. The book contains three beautiful projects that put these techniques into practice and showcase additional advanced techniques.

Figure Work in Embroidery

Techniques and projects

Author: Angela Bishop

Publisher: The Crowood Press

ISBN:

Category: Crafts & Hobbies

Page: 160

View: 658

Figures can bring an embroidery to life, but they are tricky to do well. This book guides you through the materials, stitches, body parts and clothes to give you the confidence and skills to embroider a figure and experiment, using your creative inspiration. With over 400 colour photographs it gives key information for getting started, creating designs and preparing embroideries; techniques for making three-dimensional forms using stitching and padding techniques; clear instruction for mastering stitches and then ideas for using them creatively. Specific advice is given for embroidering the face, hair, hands and feet as well as ideas for using stitching embellishments, such as beads, sequins, buttons, ribbons, feathers and jewellery charms. Step-by-step projects demonstrate a range of beautiful styles and techniques.

The Rise and Fall of Art Needlework

Its Socio-economic and Cultural Aspects

Author: Linda Cluckie

Publisher: Arena books

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 198

View: 498

Cluckie explores the growth and development of Art Embroidery in Britain circa 1870-1890, giving special consideration to the support received from the art establishment in designing for and educating embroiderers. This thesis demonstrates the hidden workforce's contribution to the British economy.

The Gown

Perfect for fans of The Crown! An enthralling tale of making the Queen's wedding dress

Author: Jennifer Robson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Crafts & Hobbies

Page: 384

View: 680

Perfect for anyone who's captivated by The Crown, The Gown 'will dazzle and delight' (Independent)! The Gown is an enthralling historical novel about one of the most famous wedding dresses of the twentieth century - Queen Elizabeth's wedding gown - and the fascinating women who made it. London, 1947: Besieged by a harsh winter, burdened by shortages and rationing, the people of post-war Britain are suffering despite their nation's recent victory. For Ann Hughes and Miriam Dassin, embroiderers at the famed Mayfair fashion house of Norman Hartnell, a glimmer of brightness comes in the form of their unlikely friendship and being chosen for a once-in-a-lifetime honour: taking part in the creation of Princess Elizabeth's wedding gown. Toronto, 2016: Heather Mackenzie seeks to unravel the mystery of a legacy from her late grandmother. How did her beloved nan, who never spoke of her old life in Britain, come to possess the priceless embroideries that so closely resemble the motifs on the stunning gown worn by Queen Elizabeth II at her wedding almost seventy years before? And what was her nan's connection to the celebrated textile artist and Holocaust survivor Miriam Dassin? With The Gown, Jennifer Robson takes us inside the workrooms where one of the most famous wedding gowns in history was created to tell a story of women whose lives are woven together by the pain of survival, the bonds of friendship, and the redemptive power of love. 'Robson succeeds in creating a riveting drama of female friendship, of lives fully lived despite unbearable loss, and of the steadfast effort required to bring forth beauty after surviving war' Independent 'A great tale of female friendship' The People's Friend

Stitching the World: Embroidered Maps and Women’s Geographical Education

Author: Judith A. Tyner

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 196

View: 747

From the late eighteenth century until about 1840, schoolgirls in the British Isles and the United States created embroidered map samplers and even silk globes. Hundreds of British maps were made and although American examples are more rare, they form a significant collection of artefacts. Descriptions of these samplers stated that they were designed to teach needlework and geography. The focus of this book is not on stitches and techniques used in 'drafting' the maps, but rather why they were developed, how they diffused from the British Isles to the United States, and why they were made for such a brief time. The events of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries stimulated an explosion of interest in geography. The American and French Revolutions, the wars between France and England, the War of 1812, Captain Cook's voyages, and the explorations of Lewis and Clark made the study of places exciting and important. Geography was the first science taught to girls in school. This period also coincided with major changes in educational theories and practices, especially for girls, and this book uses needlework maps and globes to chart a broader discussion of women's geographic education. In this light, map samplers and embroidered globes represent a transition in women's education from 'accomplishments' in the eighteenth century to challenging geographic education and conventional map drawing in schools and academies of the second half of the nineteenth century. There has been little serious study of these maps by cartographers and, moreover, historians of cartography have largely neglected the role of women in mapping. Children's maps have not been studied, although they might have much to offer about geographical teaching and perceptions of a period, and map samplers have been dismissed because they are the work of schoolgirls. Needlework historians, likewise, have not done in depth studies of map samplers until recently. Stitching the World is an interdisciplinary work drawing on cartography, needlework, and material culture. This book for the first time provides a critical analysis of these artefacts, showing that they offer significant insights into both eighteenth- and nineteenth-century geographic thought and cartography in the USA and the UK and into the development of female education.

Rsn: Embroidered Boxes

Author: Heather Lewis

Publisher: Royal School of Needlework Gui

ISBN:

Category: Crafts & Hobbies

Page: 144

View: 721

Part of an exciting new series spearheaded by the Royal School of Needlework, this forward-looking guide explores the intricate art of embroidering boxes for use as keepsakes and jewelry boxes. This beautiful, practical guide to creating and embellishing embroidered boxes is written by Heather Lewis, a tutor with the Royal School of Needlework. It contains a history of the embroidered box, from the sixteenth century to the present day, and features techniques and guidance for needleworkers wishing to apply their skills to a practical application of the craft. There are three extended projects to try: a hexagonal box with a lid, a small treasure chest with curved lid, and an intricate stumpwork casket with hidden drawers.