The Pride of Polly Perkins

A touching family saga of love, tragedy and hope

Author: Joan Jonker

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 342

View: 305

When tragedy strikes a family, their lives are never the same again... The Pride of Polly Perkins is a captivating saga of a warm Liverpudlian family hit by illness, and a nostalgic look back at the communities of yesteryear, from much-loved author Joan Jonker. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Katie Flynn. At the age of fourteen, happy-go-lucky Polly Perkins faces untold sadness when her beloved father is diagnosed with tuberculosis. As Tommy's stay in hospital turns from weeks into months, Polly's mother, Ada, becomes increasingly anxious as to how she will make ends meet. In an attempt to help out, Polly takes a job as a flowerseller, and when she sells a buttonhole to Charles Denholme, a member of the Liverpool gentry, she sets in motion a chain of events that changes her life forever... What readers are saying about The Pride of Polly Perkins: 'Joan Jonker is the best writer of good, old-fashioned story telling' 'This has to be one of the best books I have ever read. It brings out a mixture of emotions all in one book: tears, joy and above all laughter. I could not put it down. I would recommend it to anyone'

Walking My Baby Back Home

A moving, post-war saga of finding love after tragedy

Author: Joan Jonker

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 392

View: 639

A young widow learns to love again after a tragic loss... In Walking My Baby Back Home, Joan Jonker, beloved author of the Molly and Nellie series, gives a moving insight into the life of a family learning to hope again after the devastation of the Second World War. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Katie Flynn. 'A hilarious but touching story of life in Liverpool' - Woman's Realm Ever since Dot Baker lost her husband in the war she's tried to keep his memory alive. But when John Kershaw turns up on her doorstep, she can't blame her kids, Katy and Colin, for wanting another man about the house. John's the boss of a local factory, and a kind and caring man who can't seem to do enough for the Bakers and their friends and neighbours. He defends Mary Campbell when she is attacked by her violent husband; he encourages Colin and Katy in all that they do; and he puts a smile on Dot's face that's been missing since her husband's death. Everyone in the street can see they're meant to be together, but the one person who's blind to John's charm is Dot herself. What's it going to take to make her realise where her happiness lies...? What readers are saying about Walking My Baby Back Home: 'As usual a warm, cosy, lovely story by Joan Jonker. Written in her usual wonderful style making the reader feel a part of the story. Super characters with humour, love, friendships and heartache - recipe for any super book. Thoroughly enjoyed it and couldn't put the book down' 'Easy to read and relax to. Great characters who you can't help but feel for and relate to. A brilliant story told with kindness and emotion. Well worth a read on a rainy night indoors or sunbathing on the beach!'

Sadie was a Lady

An engrossing saga of family trouble and true love

Author: Joan Jonker

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 407

View: 562

A young girl escapes her cruel family home, but discovers that sometimes you can't leave the past entirely behind... Sadie Was a Lady is a touching, funny, heart-warming saga from one of Liverpool's favourite writers, Joan Jonker. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Nadine Dorries. 'As usual our Joan has come up with an easy-read story, full of laughter and smiles' - Liverpool Echo Beautiful, blonde-haired Sadie Wilson suffers abuse from her slovenly mother and lecherous father in order to protect her younger siblings from a similar fate. The neighbours avoid her parents like the plague and Sadie has no friends to turn to for help. But when Harry, the kind-hearted boy next door, sees Sadie crying because her father has lost all their money, he offers to pay her sixpence for a kiss. With coins in her pocket, Sadie goes to Paddy's market to buy underclothes she so desperately needs and it is there that she meets Mary Ann and a lively bunch of Liverpudlian stallholders who are to be her salvation. Even though she is rescued by Mary Ann's friends and starts a new life, Sadie's thoughts still return to her brothers and sisters back at home. And no matter how many admirers she has, there's a place in her heart for just one lad whose kisses she can't seem to forget... What readers are saying about Sadie Was a Lady: 'Could not put this book down. It was heart-warming and charming. Enjoyed all the characters and kept me entertained throughout the book' 'This was the first of Joan Jonker's books I read, and I could not put it down. The atmosphere of Liverpool of yesteryear simply came alive, with hard working people who though poor in life, were rich at heart and gave all they had... my heart has never left this story, and I simply cannot forget the characters'

One Rainy Day

Fate will always intervene in the face of true love...

Author: Joan Jonker

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 359

View: 223

For one young girl, a walk in the rain will change her life forever... One Rainy Day is an unforgettable saga of warmth and humour from hugely popular author, Joan Jonker. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Katie Flynn. Poppy Meadows has a face of rare beauty. Like most other nineteen-year-olds, she enjoys life. And, oh, how she loves to dance! The only blot on her happiness is her dreadful boss in the office where she works... One rainy day, Poppy is delivering a letter when she fails to notice two people approaching and is knocked to the ground. The couple are full of apologies but Poppy brushes aside the young man's offer to replace her ruined raincoat. As she walks away with her head held high, Andrew Wilkie-Brook says to his sister Charlotte, 'I wish she'd let me help, but she wouldn't listen to me.' Someone is listening, however, and her name is Fate... What readers are saying about One Rainy Day: 'A wonderfully delightful story by Joan Jonker, who as always satisfies her readers. I thoroughly enjoyed the humour, friendship and romance in the story. Such an enjoyable read which was difficult to put down. I just loved to cuddle up with such a super book' 'This is a most delightful book; even for romantic males! It had everything. Sorrow and laughter, hatred and love, rich and poor. I would have liked to have read a follow-up to discover what happened next'

Words on Cassette, 2002

Author: R R Bowker Publishing

Publisher: Rr Bowker Llc

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 4891

View: 215

Breaking News

the golden age of Graham Perkin

Author: Ben Hills

Publisher: Scribe Publications

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 544

View: 709

It is now more than 30 years since Graham Perkin’s tragically premature death, but his legacy lives on in every corner of the Australian media. Perkin was, without question, the country’s greatest editor of the 20th century. In his nine years at the helm of The Age, he transformed a venerable but moribund rag into a paper regularly voted one of the world’s ten best broadsheets, alongside such great titles as The Washington Post and The Times of London. He changed forever the way that the media looks at society, and the way that people relate to the media. In this insightful, vigorous biography, veteran investigative journalist and Walkley Award winner Ben Hills — who worked under Perkin’s editorship for six years — chronicles the life and times of Australia’s most influential newspaper editor, and the history of the newspaper to which he devoted his tremendous talents. From a little town in Victoria’s dusty Mallee to the door of the Fairfax boardroom, from the twilight of the Menzies era to the death throes of the Whitlam government, from formulaic, moth-balled reportage to socially responsible investigative journalism, Breaking News paints a vivid picture of Graham Perkin’s remarkable career. It is biography at its best, and the personality and energy of this big, bluff cyclone of a man jumps from the pages. Most of all, however, it is a portrait of media power, of the last of the great editors who, by the force of their convictions, made a difference to society — a breed for whom there is no place in today’s corporate media conglomerates, with their focus on cost-cutting and the short-term bottom line. A cracking story in its own right, Breaking News is an engrossing read, not only for those who remember Perkin and the golden age of Australian newspapers, but also for everyone who reads the paper or watches the news today.