The Perfect Mother

Author: Aimee Molloy

Publisher: Sphere

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 993

***Don't miss this instant New York Times bestseller*** Soon to be a major motion picture starring Scandal's Kerry Washington. We all want different things. Francie wants to be the perfect mother. Nell wants to escape the past. Collette wants to spend more time with her family. All Winnie wants is to have her baby back. When Nell suggests a night out in Brooklyn to her new mums club, the others jump at the chance. But the evening takes a tragic turn when single mother Winnie learns that her six-week-old son Midas has been kidnapped. As the investigation hits a dead end, Nell, Collette and Francie make it their mission to succeed where the police are failing and bring baby Midas home. But as Winnie and those around her come under scrutiny from the media, damaging secrets come to light and friendships are pushed to the limit. Because people will do almost anything to protect the ones they love . . . Don't miss this addictive page-turner, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Girl on the Train

The Perfect Mother

A Novel

Author: Nina Darnton

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 176

"In this fictionalized account of the Amanda Knox case, journalist Darnton asks the question any parent would dread: Is my child capable of murder?... A fast-paced thriller with the kind of emotional impact that transcends a simple whodunit."—Kirkus Reviews When an American exchange student is accused of murder, her mother will stop at nothing to save her. A midnight phone call shatters Jennifer Lewis’s carefully orchestrated life. Her daughter, Emma, who’s studying abroad in Spain, has been arrested after the brutal murder of another student. Jennifer rushes to her side, certain the arrest is a terrible mistake and determined to do whatever is necessary to bring Emma home. But as she begins to investigate the crime, she starts to wonder whether she ever really knew her daughter. The police charge Emma, and the press leaps on the story, exaggerating every sordid detail. One by one, Emma’s defense team, her father, and finally even Jennifer begin to have doubts. A novel of harrowing emotional suspense, The Perfect Mother probes the dark side of parenthood and the complicated bond between mothers and daughters. From the Trade Paperback edition.

The Myth of the Perfect Mother

Rethinking the Spirituality of Women

Author: Carla Barnhill

Publisher: Baker Publishing Group

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 190

View: 452

Barnhill asserts that much of what people understand to be God's ideal is actually based on secular culture. Barnhill addresses several issues mothers struggle with and offers a positive view of motherhood based on biblical principles.

The Perfect Mother

Author: Margaret Leroy

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 964

What really goes on behind closed doors? Catriona has the life she’s always dreamed of: a loving husband, a delightful step-daughter and her own precious little girl, Daisy. When Daisy begins to feel poorly, Catriona seeks help and, in doing so, is forced to look to the past and her own dark and fractured childhood.

Myth of the Perfect Mother

Author: Kimberley Converse

Publisher: Harvest House Pub

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 312

View: 277

Here'a a book that does away with the notion that there's only one "best" way to be a good mom. A complete personality/skills assessment helps to identify the sources of unrealistic expectations in one's life. By adjusting parenting skills to personal characteristics, mothers can do a better job of raising children and get rid of stress and exhaustion in the process.

The Myth of the Perfect Mother

Author: Jane Swigart

Publisher: McGraw-Hill/Contemporary

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 260

View: 375

The Myth of the Perfect Mother explodes today's popular "good mother/bad mother" myth and helps the reader both rethink the cultural roles of motherhood and understand the deeper issues that underlie the experience of child rearing. Dr. Swigart's discussions of what it means to nurture include the complexities of parental guilt, maternal clinging, and maintaining one's individuality. She is honest -- sometimes painfully so -- but provides the strength for every mother to revel in her unique, ever-changing role.

How to be the perfect mother-in-law

Author: Camille Russo

Publisher: Andrews McMeel Pub

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 162

View: 895

After a lifetime of caring, how is a mother supposed to feel when her offspring brings home the one they intend to marry? Experienced relationship counselor Camille Russo tells readers what to do to get their relationship with their in-law children on track and keep it there. Mothers-in-law will get an honest glimpse of themselves and a laugh or two in the process.

The Perfect Mother in the Mirror

Based on True Events

Author: Mark R. Wilson

Publisher: Tate Publishing & Enterprises

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 204

View: 855

As a child of a poor family in the Deep South, Jessica promised that she would want for nothing and her own family would never sacrifice. With unwavering determination, she and her college sweetheart, William, set out to do just that. As their dreams become reality, this seemingly perfect life is shattered by murder. Jessica struggles to understand the unraveling of her dreams, while being the loving mother to her three children, and ensuring their happiness and needs are met, no matter the cost. William's death, though, sets a series of tragic events into motion that crosses two states over the next decade. A trail of manipulation, arson, deception, and murder shocks and alienates those closest to her. With creditors knocking at the door and persistent detectives seeking answers, desperation and suspicions mount. As the life her family knows becomes increasingly threatened, Jessica will stop at nothing to regain her control. Inspired by true events, how will this mother staring back from the mirror protect herself and the life she built for her family?