The Pen Friend

Author: Ciaran Carson

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 779

More than twenty years after the end of their love affair, Gabriel receives a series of cryptic postcards from his old flame. Inspired to write his own letter, Gabriel dwells in sensuous detail on perfumes, clothes, and conversations as he tries to recapture the spirit of their romance in 1980s Belfast. As Gabriel teases out the significance of the postcards, the layers of meaning in the images and messages, his reveries develop into richly textured meditations on writing, memory, spiritualism, and surveillance. The result is an elaborate and intricate web of fact and fiction, a narrative that marries sharp historical insights with imaginative exuberance, a strange and wonderful novel confirming Ciaran Carson as one of Ireland's most exciting writers.

My Pen Pal Ien

Author: Glynn Green

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 168

View: 779

Besides their name, the Popsics seem to be a normal family. Sholt and his wife, Dyrain, are perfect pushovers with three spoiled children who they secretly believe are the only reason why they are still married. Their teenage adopted Pakistani son, Sammy, knows for certain he is the luckiest teenager alive. His sisters, Kamora and Olina, take pride in their big sister / little sister roles. But the truth is that this family does not exist yet. Years earlier, Dyrain is a fifteen-year-old with a devoted pen pal, Ien Green. She has never seen his face or heard his voice. He lives in Wyoming, she in Utah. For five years, Ien has been communicating with Dyrain through letters. Only Dyrain knows Ien is an alien. What she does not know is that he is authoring her future life into existence for the purpose of tranquility when his and her people come together. Now only time will tell whether Dyrain can come to accept the alien writings enough to continue her relationship with Ien and, in her own way, help him introduce Earth to alien life. In this science fiction adventure, an earthling, brought together with an alien through pen pal correspondence, discovers her destiny is nothing like she ever imagined.

Foreign Correspondence

A Pen Pal's Journey from Down Under to All Over

Author: Geraldine Brooks

Publisher: Anchor

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 240

View: 549

As a young girl in a working-class neighborhood of Sydney, Australia, Geraldine Brooks longed to discover the places where history happens and culture comes from, so she enlisted pen pals who offered her a window on adolescence in the Middle East, Europe, and America. Twenty years later Brooks, an award-winning foreign correspondent, embarked on a human treasure hunt to find her pen friends. She found men and women whose lives had been shaped by war and hatred, by fame and notoriety, and by the ravages of mental illness. Intimate, moving, and often humorous, Foreign Correspondence speaks to the unquiet heart of every girl who has ever yearned to become a woman of the world.

The Friends of Eddie Coyle

A Novel

Author: George V. Higgins

Publisher: Holt Paperbacks

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 647

The classic novel from "America's best crime novelist" (Time), with a new introduction by Dennis Lehane George V. Higgins's seminal crime novel is a down-and-dirty tale of thieves, mobsters, and cops on the mean streets of Boston. When small-time gunrunner Eddie Coyle is convicted on a felony, he's looking at three years in the pen--that is, unless he sells out one of his big-fish clients to the DA. But which of the many hoods, gunmen, and executioners whom he calls his friends should he send up the river? Told almost entirely in crackling dialogue by a vivid cast of lowlifes and detectives, The Friends of Eddie Coyle is one of the greatest crime novels ever written. “The best crime novel ever written--makes The Maltese Falcon read like Nancy Drew.” -- Elmore Leonard

This Light Between Us: A Novel of World War II

Author: Andrew Fukuda

Publisher: Tor Teen

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 352

View: 233

For readers of The Librarian Of Auschwitz: a powerfully affecting story of World War II about the unlikeliest of pen pals—a Japanese American boy and a French Jewish girl—as they fight to maintain hope in a time of war. “I remember visiting Manzanar and standing in the windswept plains where over ten thousand internees were once imprisoned, their voices cut off. I remember how much I wanted to write a story that did right by them. Hopefully this book delivers.”—Andrew Fukuda In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki from Bainbridge Island, Washington is disgusted when he’s forced to become pen pals with Charlie Lévy of Paris, France—a girl. He thought she was a boy. In spite of Alex’s reluctance, their letters continue to fly across the Atlantic—and along with them, the shared hopes and dreams of friendship. Until the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor and the growing Nazi persecution of Jews force them to confront the darkest aspects of human nature. From the desolation of an internment camp on the plains of Manzanar to the horrors of Auschwitz and the devastation of European battlefields, the only thing they can hold onto are the memories of their letters. But nothing can dispel the light between them. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Trading Secrets

A Novel

Author: Melody Carlson

Publisher: Revell

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 288

View: 721

Back in fifth grade, Micah Knight got an Amish pen pal, and over the years, they've exchanged many letters--and many secrets. At age seventeen, Micah finally has the chance to meet her pen pal face-to-face. The only problem is that because of confusion about her name when the pen pals were assigned, her pen pal was a boy, Zack Miller. And all this time, Micah's never told Zack that she's actually a girl! While she wants nothing more than to experience life on Zack's Amish farm, she's afraid he'll hate her for deceiving him all these years. But she makes up her mind to face the music--and that's where the fun really begins. Bestselling author Melody Carlson brings young adults another fascinating tale of worlds colliding, secrets being revealed, and friendships forming. Teens will love this story of miscommunication and mishaps along the way to the truth.

Finding Camlann: A Novel

Author: Sean Pidgeon

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 934

A compelling argument about the origins of King Arthur wrapped in a brilliant novel. Set against a rich historical landscape evoked by the secret places and half-forgotten legends of the British countryside, Finding Camlann is both a "fascinating mystery that will engage readers attracted by history, myth and language" (Washington Independent Review of Books) and a "beautifully written, intelligent, and ingenious" (Gillian Bradshaw) novel of how stories shape our notions of the past—and of ourselves. Archaeologist Donald Gladstone is sure that there never was a "real" King Arthur—that is, until a surprising find at Stonehenge seems to offer hard evidence of Arthur's existence. Teaming up with Julia Llewellyn, a gifted linguist working at the Oxford English Dictionary, Donald sets off on a literary and mythological quest that will change both of their lives. Gloriously many-layered, Finding Camlann is a deeply satisfying love story, a gripping detective story, and a narrative journey of myriad pleasures.

Everywhere in Chains

A Novel

Author: James Casper

Publisher: Ignatius Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 350

View: 755

This highly thought-provoking, sometimes amusing and always life-affirming novel illustrates one family's experiences with America's criminal justice system. As Penelope searches for the truth about her father, she rattles the skeletons in her family's closet and shakes up the complacency of her community, which has tried to sweep the past under the rug. With both perception and compassion, the author creates a colorful cast of characters while challenging the wisdom of imprisoning the mentally ill. On the cusp of adulthood, Penelope begins to understand that she has grown-up in a web of silence. The denial in her family and small Minnesota hometown is so thick that she does not know how to cut through it, that is, until she begins a seemingly innocuous pen-pal correspondence with someone in another town. Little by little, Penelope unravels the secrets meant to protect her from the truth. She proves herself to be stronger and wiser than anyone could have predicted and leads the way to healing. Through the lives and interactions of the major characters, this story explores the sprawling psychological geography of America's criminal justice system and its profound effect on everyone it touches, even its most ardent proponents. While dealing with a serious, challenging subject, this book is also filled with warmth and likeable characters. The odyssey of Penelope concludes on a faith-affirming note with a parade of surprising revelations.

The Mutual Friend

Author: Frederick Busch

Publisher: New Directions Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 262