The Outcasts of Time

Author: Ian Mortimer

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 501

‘Beautifully written and superbly executed’ Times 'This clever and moving Faustian tale is packed with fascinating historical detail' Express 'A joyous romp around England’s dark past' Suzie Feay, Guardian From the author of the bestselling The Time Traveller's Guide to Restoration Britain, this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel that is both as daring as it is gripping, and perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse. December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries – living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last. John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived. As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out – can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up? What readers are saying: ‘Wow, what a book! I absolutely adored this. This was ambitious but done to perfection’ Sara Marsden ‘The Outcasts of Time is a tour de force, rich in spellbinding detail. Haunting and atmospheric, there is warmth and humour alongside fear and torment; all human life is here. As perfect a novel as any I've ever read’ Ophelia’s Reads 'A fascinating trip through seven centuries of history ... The author has done well to traverse such a sweep of time ... it's a great read and I'd recommend it' Netgalley reviewer, 4 stars

The Outcasts of 19 Schuyler Place

Author: E.L. Konigsburg

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 304

View: 537

E.L. Konigsburg revisits the town of Epiphany to tell the story of Margaret Rose Kane, Connor's older half-sister. It's about the summer when Margaret Rose turned twelve--the same year that Cabbage Patch dolls were popular, that Sally Ride became the first woman to go into space, that El Nino turned the world upside-down. Margaret Rose begins her summer with a miserable experience at camp, from which she's rescued by her beloved, eccentric uncles. Little does she know that her uncles, in turn, need rescuing themselves--from a tyrannical city council determined to tear down her uncles' life work--three spectacularly beautiful towers that her uncles have been building since before Margaret was a baby. A rousing book about intelligence, art, and the fierce preservation of individuality, from EL Konigsburg.

The Outcasts of England

Or the Prison Question Considered Theoretically and Practically

Author: R. V. Reynolds

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Church work with criminals

Page: 130

View: 870

The Outcasts of Poker Flat

Author: Bret Harte

Publisher: Dramatic Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Outcasts

Page: 58

View: 497

Upon waiting from their overnight camp in the mountains, four exiles from Poker Flat and a young couple travelling to the town face a snowstorm with limited provisions.

The outcasts of the islands

the sea gypsies of South East Asia

Author: Sebastian Hope

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 294

View: 229

A glance at the blue map of South East Asia reveals more than green, more sea than land. Sea Gypsies - tribes of semi-nomadic boat people - continue to live in the spaces between the land, following a hunter-gatherer lifestyle based on the changing curren

In the World of the Outcasts

Notes of a Former Penal Laborer, Volume II

Author: Pëtr Filippovich Iakubovich

Publisher: Anthem Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 298

View: 807

Pëtr Filippovich Iakubovich represents the many young people whose opposition to the Russian state turned to extremism during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. His conviction and banishment to forced labor and settlement in Siberia was an experience shared by many. But, unlike most, Iakubovich detailed his experiences in a thrilling and insightful roman à clef. Like the better-known accounts by Dostoevskii and Chekhov, Iakubovich’s novel paints a picture of his fellow criminal inmates that is both objective and insightful. “In the World of the Outcasts” proved especially popular, appearing first in serial form between 1895 and 1898, and then as a book which ran through three editions prior to 1917. Along with other exposés of official malfeasance and corruption, it helped to focus popular resentment against the Romanovs. The book reappeared in 1964, in one of the last breaths of fresh air before Khrushchëv was supplanted by Brezhnev’s neo-Stalinism. Laying bare the facts of Russia’s penal system like Dostoevskii’s “Notes from a Dead House” before it, and Solzhenitsyn’s “One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich” after it, Iakubovich’s “In the World of the Outcasts” is both a valuable historical document and a compelling work of literary fiction. This translation marks the first appearance of Iakubovich’s masterpiece in English.

Outcast of Redwall

A Tale from Redwall

Author: Brian Jacques

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 368

View: 450

When ferret Swartt Sixclaw and his arch enemy Sunflash the Mace swear a pledge of death upon each other, a young creature is cruelly banished from the safety of Redwall. As he grows, he seeks revenge on the people of Redwall and finds himself embroiled in a hostile battle with far-reaching consequences.

Guardians Of Ga'Hoole #8: The Outcast

Author: Kathryn Lasky

Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 224

View: 526

To prove his goodness, young Nyroc will renounce his name, his mother, and his inheritance to seek the holiest of relics from The Beyond the Beyond. Nyroc has exiled himself from the Pure Ones. He flies alone, feared and despised by those who know him as Kludd's son, hunted by those whose despotism he has rejected, and haunted by ghostly creatures conjured by Nyra to lure him back to the Pure Ones. He yearns for a place he only half believes in -- the great tree -- and an uncle -- the near-mythic Soren -- who might be a true father to him. Yet he cannot approach the tree while the rumor of evil clings to him. To prove his worth, Nyroc will fly to The Beyond the Beyond seeking the legendary Relic and bring it, a talisman of his own