The Outcasts of Time

Author: Ian Mortimer

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 719

‘Beautifully written and superbly executed’ Times 'This clever and moving Faustian tale is packed with fascinating historical detail' Express 'A joyous romp around England’s dark past' Suzie Feay, Guardian From the author of the bestselling The Time Traveller's Guide to Restoration Britain, this is a stunningly high-concept historical novel that is both as daring as it is gripping, and perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, SJ Parris and Kate Mosse. December 1348. With the country in the grip of the Black Death, brothers John and William fear that they will shortly die and go to Hell. But as the end draws near, they are given an unexpected choice: either to go home and spend their last six days in their familiar world, or to search for salvation across the forthcoming centuries – living each one of their remaining days ninety-nine years after the last. John and William choose the future and find themselves in 1447, ignorant of almost everything going on around them. The year 1546 brings no more comfort, and 1645 challenges them still further. It is not just that technology is changing: things they have taken for granted all their lives prove to be short-lived. As they find themselves in stranger and stranger times, the reader travels with them, seeing the world through their eyes as it shifts through disease, progress, enlightenment and war. But their time is running out – can they do something to redeem themselves before the six days are up? What readers are saying: ‘Wow, what a book! I absolutely adored this. This was ambitious but done to perfection’ Sara Marsden ‘The Outcasts of Time is a tour de force, rich in spellbinding detail. Haunting and atmospheric, there is warmth and humour alongside fear and torment; all human life is here. As perfect a novel as any I've ever read’ Ophelia’s Reads 'A fascinating trip through seven centuries of history ... The author has done well to traverse such a sweep of time ... it's a great read and I'd recommend it' Netgalley reviewer, 4 stars

The Outcasts of 19 Schuyler Place

Author: E.L. Konigsburg

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 304

View: 347

E.L. Konigsburg revisits the town of Epiphany to tell the story of Margaret Rose Kane, Connor's older half-sister. It's about the summer when Margaret Rose turned twelve--the same year that Cabbage Patch dolls were popular, that Sally Ride became the first woman to go into space, that El Nino turned the world upside-down. Margaret Rose begins her summer with a miserable experience at camp, from which she's rescued by her beloved, eccentric uncles. Little does she know that her uncles, in turn, need rescuing themselves--from a tyrannical city council determined to tear down her uncles' life work--three spectacularly beautiful towers that her uncles have been building since before Margaret was a baby. A rousing book about intelligence, art, and the fierce preservation of individuality, from EL Konigsburg.

The Outcasts of England

Or the Prison Question Considered Theoretically and Practically

Author: R. V. Reynolds

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Church work with criminals

Page: 130

View: 411

The Outcasts

A Novel

Author: Kathleen Kent

Publisher: Little, Brown

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 145

A taut, thrilling adventure story about buried treasure, a manhunt, and a woman determined to make a new life for herself in the old west. It's the 19th century on the Gulf Coast, a time of opportunity and lawlessness. After escaping the Texas brothel where she'd been a virtual prisoner, Lucinda Carter heads for Middle Bayou to meet her lover, who has a plan to make them both rich, chasing rumors of a pirate's buried treasure. Meanwhile Nate Cannon, a young Texas policeman with a pure heart and a strong sense of justice, is on the hunt for a ruthless killer named McGill who has claimed the lives of men, women, and even children across the frontier. Who--if anyone--will survive when their paths finally cross? As Lucinda and Nate's stories converge, guns are drawn, debts are paid, and Kathleen Kent delivers an unforgettable portrait of a woman who will stop at nothing to make a new life for herself.

Grammardog Guide to The Outcasts of Poker Flat

Author: Mary Jane McKinney

Publisher: Grammardog LLC

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 57

View: 341

Grammardog Teacher's Guide contains 16 quizzes for this short story. All sentences are from the story. Figurative language includes: "life was at best an uncertain game," "the accordion rose and fell in fitful spasms and long-drawn gasps." Sensory imagery includes: "dry, cold, bracing air," "a giggle," "a kiss," "freckled face," "stroked his mustaches," "blue eyes," "whiskey," "the reedy notes of the accordion," "long embrace," "voices," "footsteps."

The Outcasts of Poker Flat

Author: Bret Harte

Publisher: Dramatic Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Outcasts

Page: 58

View: 364

Upon waiting from their overnight camp in the mountains, four exiles from Poker Flat and a young couple travelling to the town face a snowstorm with limited provisions.

The Outcasts - A Thousand Dreams of Redemption

Author: Lidija Stankovikj

Publisher: Leadstart Publishing PvtLtd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 801

The Outcasts is a story of loss, running away, hope and return. Three protagonists boldly confront a tradition-driven and repressive world. Through a series of serendipitous encounters, and against all odds, their paths intertwine at a time when each stands at a personal crossroads. Tabu is a rebellious young Muslim woman, who speaks her mind under the guise of jinn influence. Santan, an aging Hindu man, in the face of a near-death experience, suddenly discovers a new spark for life. And Chameli, a dazzling but emotionally fragile transgender woman, is forced to leave the community which had once provided her with safety and identity. Together, they embark on a transformative journey, laced with doubt and danger. They are forced to re-examine their values, renounce their old risk-averse selves, and face a dark night of the soul. Set in contemporary India, a land of dichotomies, the novel challenges the notions of gender, feminism vis-à-vis spirituality/religion, and culturally appropriate romantic expression.