The Night Ferry

Author: Lotte Hammer

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 754

The chilling new instalment in the Konrad Simonsen series, perfect for fans of Johan Theorin and Yrsa Sigurðardóttir Sixteen children and four adults are killed in a devastating boat crash in Copenhagen. Detective Chief Superintendent Konrad Simonsen is called in, only to discover that this was no accident and that one of the passengers has a very personal connection to the homicide team. Reeling from this revelation and not knowing who to trust, Simonsen follows a trail that eventually leads him to Bosnia and a legacy of criminal misconduct. All evidence points towards one shady figure: a high-ranking army specialist with a suspicious past. But the more Simonsen digs, the further the truth slips from his grasp.

The Night Ferry

Author: Michael Robotham

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 150

Imagine finding out that your unborn child was a lie... Alisha Barba's dreams of being a detective were shattered when a murder suspect broke her back across a brick wall. Now on her feet again, with her police career in limbo, she receives a message from an old school friend, Cate Beaumont, who is eight months pregnant and in trouble. On the night they arrange to meet, Cate is mown down by a car that kills her husband instantly. As paramedics fight to save her life they discover there is no baby. Her pregnancy is an elaborate lie, a cruel deception. Why? What happened? As Alisha sets out to answer these questions she is drawn deeper and deeper into a dangerous quest that will take her from the East End of London to Amsterdam's red light district and into a murky underworld of sex trafficking, slavery and exploitation. A gripping thriller, with twists at every turn, The Night Ferry is Michael Robotham's finest novel yet. Praise for Michael Robotham's writing: 'Will have you turning the pages compulsively' The Times 'Robotham doesn't just make me scared for his characters, he makes my heart ache for them' Linwood Barclay 'Superbly exciting ... a terrific read' Guardian

Sunrise with Seamonsters

Author: Paul Theroux

Publisher: HMH

ISBN:

Category: Travel

Page: 384

View: 322

This collection of wide-ranging essays from the New York Times–bestselling travel writer is “a steamer trunk full of delights” (Chicago Sun-Times). This collection of decidedly opinionated articles, essays, and ruminations, by the author of My Other Life and Kowloon Tong, transports the reader not only to exotic, unexpected places in the world but also into the interior life of the writer himself. Whether it is his time serving in the Peace Corps, his memorable interview with tennis star John McEnroe, bearing witness to the uprising in Uganda, or the debt he owes to his mentor, V. S. Naipaul, Theroux approaches each subject with characteristic intelligence, insight, and an eye for life’s great ironies. Over the course of two decades, Paul Theroux gathers people, places, and ideas in precise, evocative writing that “serves as both the camera and the eye, and both the details and the illusions are developed with brilliance” (Time). “What makes Mr. Theroux most persuasive as a writer is simply his willingness to put himself on the line. . . . Gusty, personal, and astonishing.” —The New York Times “These pieces prove anew Theroux’s unflagging, infectious enthusiams [sic] for exploring.” —Kirkus Reviews

Night Ferry

Haiku, Senryu, Haibun

Author: Kim Richardson

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 90

View: 330

Bornholm Night-ferry

Author: Aidan Higgins

Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 175

View: 220

During the five years of their adulterous affair, Finn Fitzgerald and Elin Marstrander spend only 47 days and nights together. At each of their meetings -- in Spain or London, or on the tiny island of Bornholm in the Baltic Sea, which serves as their last refuge -- they try to conjure a reality that will correspond to that of the passionate letters they exchange while apart. Elin, a Danish poet, and Fitz, an Irish novelist, send each other beautiful, loving words, as well as evocative jabs of cruelty, often in the same letter. In the whirling world of their writing they attempt to enjoy their love in the calm they can't find in their daily lives. But as reality -- their lovers and their children; their failures and regrets -- creeps in, their relationship inevitably crumbles: "The dream ends."

Refrain of the Night Wind

Author: Phillip Obenchain

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 505

View: 283

A Legend Comes To Life The central character in this historical novel is a well educated Indian renegade who also has the blood of both black and white in his veins. His notable size, 68-1/2 tall, general countenance and certain exploits form the orienting track of this story gleaned from books on Idaho history and newspaper accounts of more than 120 years ago. Apparently he did exist. But legend has colored his life almost to Paul Bunyan extremes. This account has been written to tint the character in more believable terms. Starr Wilkinson was born in 1837 near Tahlequah, out in the India Territory (Oklahoma). He was very quiet, even introverted. So the thread that is woven through this story of his life is one of trouble stemming from an inability to communicate well with others. Starr served on the crew of a Mississippi riverboat for several years. He then accompanied a family on the road to Oregon and, as time passed, fell in love with the daughter. This led to the slaying of a young rival by Wilkinson. He then deserted the wagon train and of necessity joined a renegade Indian band that wandered the Snake River country. Before long he became the leader and, largely because of his size, was notorious throughout the area. Here, he again took on his schooldays name of Bigfoot. After years of eluding pursuers and avoiding traps, he was killed via ambush in July, 1868. This story of his life is in accord with his own lengthy statement made as he lay dying on a dry, sage covered hillside near the Snake River. An eyewitness account of that event and Bigfoots last words was published several years later in the Tri-Weekly Statesman, the Boise City newspaper in those days. Legend. . .fable. . . myth. . . fact. . . or history liberally embellished? Take your choice.

Elegy

Author: David Kennedy

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 176

View: 127

Grief and mourning are generally considered to be private, yet universal instincts. But in a media age of televised funerals and visible bereavement, elegies are increasingly significant and open to public scrutiny. Providing an overview of the history of the term and the different ways in which it is used, David Kennedy: outlines the origins of elegy, and the characteristics of the genre examines the psychology and cultural background underlying works of mourning explores how the modern elegy has evolved, and how it differs from ‘canonical elegy’, also looking at female elegists and feminist readings considers the elegy in the light of writing by theorists such as Jacques Derrida and Catherine Waldby looks at the elegy in contemporary writing, and particularly at how it has emerged and been adapted as a response to terrorist attacks such as 9/11. Emphasising and explaining the significance of elegy today, this illuminating guide to an emotive literary genre will be of interest to students of literature, media and culture.

Victoria Station Through Time

Author: John Christopher

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN:

Category: Transportation

Page: 96

View: 331

John Christopher tells the story of Victoria's rich and fascinating history, one spiced by international adventure as well as the hum drum of commuter travel into central London.

On The Slow Train

Twelve Great British Railway Journeys

Author: Michael Williams

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Transportation

Page: 208

View: 644

This beautifully-packaged book will take the reader on the slow train to another era when travel meant more than hurrying from one place to the next, the journey meaning nothing but time lost in crowded carriages, condemned by broken timetables. On the Slow Train will reconnect with that long-missed need to lift our heads from the daily grind and reflect that there are still places in Britain where we can stop and stare. It will tap into many things: a love of railways, a love of history, a love of nostalgia. This book will be a paean to another age before milk churns, porters and cats on seats were replaced by security announcements and Burger King. These 12 spectacular journeys will help free us from what Baudelaire denounced as 'the horrible burden of time.' Updated for the paperback.

McCarthy's Bar

A Journey of Discovery In Ireland

Author: Pete McCarthy

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Travel

Page: 320

View: 143

"It was half past five in the morning as I lurched through the front door of the B&B. Mrs. O'Sullivan appeared just in time to see me pause to admire the luminous Virgin holy water stand with integral night-light, and knock it off the wall. Politely declining the six rounds of ham sandwiches on the tray she was holding, I edged gingerly along the hallway to the wrong bedroom door and opened it." Despite the many exotic places Peter McCarthy has visited, he finds that nowhere else can match the particular magic of Ireland, his mother's homeland. In McCarthy's Bar, his journey begins in Cork and continues along the west coast to Donegal in the north. Traveling through spectacular landscapes, but at all times obeying the rule, "never pass a bar that has your name on it," he encounters McCarthy's bars up and down the land, meeting fascinating people before pleading to be let out at four o'clock in the morning. Through adventures with English hippies who have colonized a desolate mountain; roots-seeking, buffet-devouring American tourists; priests for whom the word "father" has a loaded meaning; enthusiastic Germans who "here since many years holidays are making;" and his fellow barefoot pilgrims on an island called Purgatory, Peter pursues the secrets of Ireland's global popularity and his own confused Irish-Anglo identity. Written by someone who is at once an insider and an outsider, McCarthy's Bar is a wonderfully funny and affectionate portrait of a rapidly changing country.