The Night Ferry

Author: Michael Robotham

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 428

"Vibrant and utterly contemporary.... An altogether superior thriller." --Los Angeles Times Struggling detective Alisha Barba is trying to get her life back on track after almost being crippled by a murder suspect. Now on her feet again, she receives a desperate plea from an old school friend, who is eight months pregnant and in trouble. On the night they arrange to meet, her friend is run down and killed by a car and Alisha discovers the first in a series of haunting and tragic deceptions. Determined to uncover the truth, she embarks upon a dangerous journey that will take her from the East End of London to Amsterdam's murky red light district and into a violent underworld of sex trafficking, slavery and exploitation.

The Night Ferry

Author: Lotte Hammer

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 352

The chilling new instalment in the Konrad Simonsen series, perfect for fans of Johan Theorin and Yrsa Sigurðardóttir Sixteen children and four adults are killed in a devastating boat crash in Copenhagen. Detective Chief Superintendent Konrad Simonsen is called in, only to discover that this was no accident and that one of the passengers has a very personal connection to the homicide team. Reeling from this revelation and not knowing who to trust, Simonsen follows a trail that eventually leads him to Bosnia and a legacy of criminal misconduct. All evidence points towards one shady figure: a high-ranking army specialist with a suspicious past. But the more Simonsen digs, the further the truth slips from his grasp.

The Suspect; The Night Ferry

Author: Michael Robotham

Publisher: Sphere

ISBN:

Category: Clinical psychologists

Page: 976

View: 395

THE SUSPECTJoseph O’Loughlin appears to have the perfect life - a beautiful wife, a loving daughter and a successful career as a clinical psychologist. But nothing can be taken for granted. Even the most flawless existence is only a loose thread away from unravelling. All it takes is a murdered girl, a troubled young patient and the biggest lie of his life. THE DROWNING MANA lost child. A shattered past. A life going under . . . Vincent Ruiz is lucky to be alive. A bullet in the leg, another through the hand, he is discovered clinging to a buoy in the River Thames, losing blood and consciousness fast. It takes six days for him to come out of his coma, and when he does, his nightmare is only just beginning. Because Vincent has no recollection of what happened, and nobody believes him.

Night Ferry

Author: Michael Robotham

Publisher: Vintage

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 777

Detective Inspector Vincent Ruiz can’t remember how he got to the hospital. He was found floating in the Thames with a gunshot wound in his leg and a picture of missing child Mickey Carlyle in his pocket. But Mickey’s killer is already in jail. Add to this the blood stained boat found near where Ruiz was pulled from the water, and the pieces just don’t add up. Now, accused of faking amnesia and under investigation, Ruiz reaches out to psychologist Joseph O’Loughlin to help him unlock his memory, clear his name, and solve this ominous puzzle. Michael Robotham is one of the finest new thriller writers working today. Marked by vivid characters and full of unexpected turns, Lost is a hair-raising journey of vengeance, grief, and redemption through the dark London underworld. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Sunrise with Seamonsters

Author: Paul Theroux

Publisher: HMH

ISBN:

Category: Travel

Page: 384

View: 290

This collection of wide-ranging essays from the New York Times–bestselling travel writer is “a steamer trunk full of delights” (Chicago Sun-Times). This collection of decidedly opinionated articles, essays, and ruminations, by the author of My Other Life and Kowloon Tong, transports the reader not only to exotic, unexpected places in the world but also into the interior life of the writer himself. Whether it is his time serving in the Peace Corps, his memorable interview with tennis star John McEnroe, bearing witness to the uprising in Uganda, or the debt he owes to his mentor, V. S. Naipaul, Theroux approaches each subject with characteristic intelligence, insight, and an eye for life’s great ironies. Over the course of two decades, Paul Theroux gathers people, places, and ideas in precise, evocative writing that “serves as both the camera and the eye, and both the details and the illusions are developed with brilliance” (Time). “What makes Mr. Theroux most persuasive as a writer is simply his willingness to put himself on the line. . . . Gusty, personal, and astonishing.” —The New York Times “These pieces prove anew Theroux’s unflagging, infectious enthusiams [sic] for exploring.” —Kirkus Reviews

Night Ferry to Death

Author: Patricia Moyes

Publisher: Owl Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 181

View: 404

Chief Inspector Henry Tibbett and his wife become enmeshed in a web of foreign intrigue and murder in the Netherlands.

Bornholm Night-ferry

Author: Aidan Higgins

Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 175

View: 771

During the five years of their adulterous affair, Finn Fitzgerald and Elin Marstrander spend only 47 days and nights together. At each of their meetings -- in Spain or London, or on the tiny island of Bornholm in the Baltic Sea, which serves as their last refuge -- they try to conjure a reality that will correspond to that of the passionate letters they exchange while apart. Elin, a Danish poet, and Fitz, an Irish novelist, send each other beautiful, loving words, as well as evocative jabs of cruelty, often in the same letter. In the whirling world of their writing they attempt to enjoy their love in the calm they can't find in their daily lives. But as reality -- their lovers and their children; their failures and regrets -- creeps in, their relationship inevitably crumbles: "The dream ends."

Night Ferry

Haiku, Senryu, Haibun

Author: Kim Richardson

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 90

View: 792

Refrain of the Night Wind

Author: Phillip Obenchain

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 505

View: 402

A Legend Comes To Life The central character in this historical novel is a well educated Indian renegade who also has the blood of both black and white in his veins. His notable size, 68-1/2 tall, general countenance and certain exploits form the orienting track of this story gleaned from books on Idaho history and newspaper accounts of more than 120 years ago. Apparently he did exist. But legend has colored his life almost to Paul Bunyan extremes. This account has been written to tint the character in more believable terms. Starr Wilkinson was born in 1837 near Tahlequah, out in the India Territory (Oklahoma). He was very quiet, even introverted. So the thread that is woven through this story of his life is one of trouble stemming from an inability to communicate well with others. Starr served on the crew of a Mississippi riverboat for several years. He then accompanied a family on the road to Oregon and, as time passed, fell in love with the daughter. This led to the slaying of a young rival by Wilkinson. He then deserted the wagon train and of necessity joined a renegade Indian band that wandered the Snake River country. Before long he became the leader and, largely because of his size, was notorious throughout the area. Here, he again took on his schooldays name of Bigfoot. After years of eluding pursuers and avoiding traps, he was killed via ambush in July, 1868. This story of his life is in accord with his own lengthy statement made as he lay dying on a dry, sage covered hillside near the Snake River. An eyewitness account of that event and Bigfoots last words was published several years later in the Tri-Weekly Statesman, the Boise City newspaper in those days. Legend. . .fable. . . myth. . . fact. . . or history liberally embellished? Take your choice.

Victoria Station Through Time

Author: John Christopher

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN:

Category: Transportation

Page: 96

View: 647

John Christopher tells the story of Victoria's rich and fascinating history, one spiced by international adventure as well as the hum drum of commuter travel into central London.