The Mothers

the New York Times bestseller

Author: Brit Bennett

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 804

THE MOTHERS is a dazzling debut about young love, a big secret in a small community and the moments that haunt us most. All good secrets have a taste before you tell them, and if we'd taken a moment to swish this one around our mouths, we might have noticed the sourness of an unripe secret, plucked too soon, stolen and passed around before its season. It's the last season of high school life for Nadia Turner, a rebellious, grief-stricken, seventeen-year-old beauty. Mourning her own mother's recent suicide, she takes up with the local pastor's son. Luke Sheppard is twenty-one, a former football star whose injury has reduced him to waiting tables at a diner. They are young; it's not serious. But the pregnancy that results from this teen romance - and the subsequent cover-up - will have an impact that goes far beyond their youth. As Nadia hides her secret from everyone, including Aubrey, her God-fearing best friend, the years move quickly. Soon, Nadia, Luke and Aubrey are full-fledged adults and still living in debt to the choices they made that one seaside summer, caught in a love triangle they must carefully manoeuvre and dogged by the constant, nagging question: what if they had chosen differently? In entrancing, lyrical prose, THE MOTHERS asks whether a 'what if' can be more powerful than an experience itself.

The Mothers

A Novel

Author: Jennifer Gilmore

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 781

Poignant, raw, and insightful, Jennifer Gilmore’s third novel is an unforgettable story of love, family, and motherhood. With a “voice [that is] at turns wise and barbed with sharp humor” (Vanity Fair), Gilmore lays bare the story of one couple’s ardent desire for a child and their emotional journey through adoption. Jesse and Ramon are a loving couple, but after years spent unsuccessfully trying to get pregnant, they turn to adoption, relieved to think that once they navigate the bureaucratic path to parent-hood they will have a happy ending. But nothing has prepared them for the labyrinthine process—for the many training sessions and approvals; for the constant advice from friends, strangers, and “experts”; for the birthmothers who contact them but don’t ultimately choose them; or even, most shockingly, for the women who call claiming they’ve chosen Jesse and Ramon but who turn out never to have been pregnant in the first place. Jennifer Gilmore’s eloquence about the human heart—its frailties and complexities—and her razor-sharp observations about race, class, culture, and changing family dynamics are spectacularly combined in this powerful novel. Suffused with passion and fury, The Mothers is a taut, gripping, and satisfying book that will stay with readers long after they turn the last page.

The Mother-in-Law

A Novel

Author: Sally Hepworth

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 499

• "Deliciously entertaining!" —People Magazine's "People Pick" • Entertainment Weekly's "MUST List" • O Magazine’s "15 Best Beach Books of the Year So Far" • Bustle "Best Book of April" • Refinery29 "Best Book of April" • Cosmopolitan "Best Book of April" • Woman's Day's "27 Fiction Books of 2019 to Add to Your Reading List ASAP" • BookBub's "Biggest Books of April" • PopSugar's "30 Must-Read Books of 2019" A twisty, compelling new novel about one woman's complicated relationship with her mother-in-law that ends in death... From the moment Lucy met her husband’s mother, she knew she wasn’t the wife Diana had envisioned for her perfect son. Exquisitely polite, friendly, and always generous, Diana nonetheless kept Lucy at arm’s length despite her desperate attempts to win her over. And as a pillar in the community, an advocate for female refugees, and a woman happily married for decades, no one had a bad word to say about Diana...except Lucy. That was five years ago. Now, Diana is dead, a suicide note found near her body claiming that she longer wanted to live because of the cancer wreaking havoc inside her body. But the autopsy finds no cancer. It does find traces of poison, and evidence of suffocation. Who could possibly want Diana dead? Why was her will changed at the eleventh hour to disinherit both of her children, and their spouses? And what does it mean that Lucy isn’t exactly sad she’s gone? Fractured relationships and deep family secrets grow more compelling with every page in this twisty, captivating new novel from Sally Hepworth. Praise for Sally Hepworth: “With jaw-dropping discoveries, and realistic consequences, this novel is not to be missed. Perfect for lovers of Big Little Lies.” —Library Journal, starred review "Hepworth deftly keeps the reader turning pages and looking for clues, all the while building multilayered characters and carefully doling out bits of their motivations." —Booklist

The Mother's Promise

A Novel

Author: Sally Hepworth

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 467

A poignant and breathtaking novel from the author of The Things We Keep and The Secrets of Midwives. All their lives, Alice Stanhope and her daughter, Zoe, have been a family of two, living quietly in Northern California. Zoe has always struggled with crippling social anxiety and her mother has been her constant and fierce protector. With no family to speak of, and the identity of Zoe’s father shrouded in mystery, their team of two works—until it doesn’t. Until Alice gets sick and needs to fight for her life. Desperate to find stability for Zoe, Alice reaches out to two women who are practically strangers but who are her only hope: Kate, a nurse, and Sonja, a social worker. As the four of them come together, a chain of events is set into motion and all four of them must confront their sharpest fears and secrets—secrets about abandonment, abuse, estrangement, and the deepest longing for family. Imbued with heart and humor in even the most dismal moments, The Mother’s Promise is an unforgettable novel about the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters and the new ways in which families are forged. Sally Hepworth novels are "sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up." —Library Journal (starred review)

The Mother

A Novel

Author: Pearl S. Buck

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 302

View: 358

From the Nobel Prize–winning author of The Good Earth: The “moving story” of a peasant woman in pre-revolutionary China who is abandoned by her husband (Kirkus Reviews). Dickensian in its epic sweep, one of Buck’s finest novels centers on an unnamed peasant woman in pre-revolutionary China. Without warning, her restless husband abandons her. Shamed by the experience, she is left to work the land, raise their three children on her own, and care for her aging mother-in-law. To save face with her neighbors, she pretends her husband is traveling, and sends letters to herself signed in his name. Surrounded by poverty, despair, and a growing web of lies meant to protect the family, her children grow up and enter society with only the support of their mother’s unbreakable will. An unforgettable story of one woman’s strength and a remarkable fable about the role of mothers, this novel is a powerful achievement by a master of twentieth-century fiction. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Pearl S. Buck including rare images from the author’s estate.

Sins of the Mothers

A Novel

Author: Brenda S. Webster

Publisher: Baskerville Pub

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 364

View: 864

In Berkeley, California, in the mid-1970s, Connie's attitudes toward her eccentric husband, her domineering artist mother, and her adolescent children gradually changes when she engages in a life-changing affair

The Mother

A Novel

Author: Farin Powell

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 216

View: 486

After her father’s death, 25-year old Helen Miller needs a fresh start. She finds a job that takes her to Paris. But when her charming new boss, the rich 45-year old Jake Klein, begins dating her, Helen can’t resist falling for him despite the age difference. Shortly after a fairytale wedding, Helen discovers disturbing news about her husband’s past. Feeling homesick, dealing with a difficult pregnancy and her troubled marriage lead Helen to return to DC. She tries to start a new life with Jake and their daughter Daisy, but finds it impossible to ignore Jake’s infidelity. She divorces him not knowing she cannot escape Jake’s manipulative actions. Daisy’s illness and an inexplicable turn of events force Helen to ignore Jake and concentrate only on her daughter’s happiness, not knowing that a new love is waiting for her in an unexpected place.

Sins of the Mother

A Novel

Author: Victoria Christopher Murray

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 118

Have the sins of the mother come upon the daughter? Jasmine Larson Bush is finally living a drama-free life. She’s left her lying, cheating, stealing stripper days behind and is standing by her husband’s side as the first lady of one of the largest churches in New York City. The Bushes have been blessed with the best of everything—including two lovely children. But just when Jasmine has committed her life completely to God, her daughter Jacqueline is kidnapped from a mall the day after Thanksgiving. The police and the church community join in the frantic search to find the four-year-old. As the days pass without any sign of her daughter, Jasmine begins to crack under the strain and turns to Brian Lewis, Jacqueline’s biological father, for solace. Has Jasmine’s past finally caught up to her? Will her daughter be found or will Jasmine pay the ultimate price?

The Mother

A Novel

Author: Yvvette Edwards

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 960

The author of the critically acclaimed A Cupboard Full of Coats makes her hardcover debut with a provocative and timely novel about an emotionally devastated mother’s struggle to understand her teenage son’s death, and her search for meaning and hope in the wake of incomprehensible loss. The unimaginable has happened to Marcia Williams. Her bright and beautiful sixteen-year-old son, Ryan, has been brutally murdered. Consumed by grief and rage, she must bridle her dark feelings and endure something no mother should ever have to experience: she must go to court for the trial of the killer—another teenage boy—accused of taking her son’s life. How could her son be dead? Ryan should have been safe—he wasn’t the kind of boy to find himself on the wrong end of a knife carried by a dangerous young man like Tyson Manley. But as the trial proceeds, Marcia finds her beliefs and assumptions challenged as she learns more about Ryan’s death and Tyson’s life, including his dysfunctional family. She also discovers troubling truths about her own. As the strain of Ryan’s death tests their marriage, Lloydie, her husband, pulls farther away, hiding behind a wall of secrets that masks his grief, while Marcia draws closer to her sister, who is becoming her prime confidant. One person seems to hold the answers—and the hope—Marcia needs: Tyson’s scared young girlfriend, Sweetie. But as this anguished mother has learned, nothing in life is certain. Not anymore. A beautiful, engrossing novel that illuminates some of the most important and troubling issues of our time, The Motheris a moving portrait of love, tragedy, and survival—and the aftershocks from a momentary act of cruel violence that transforms the lives of everyone it touches.

Mother

A Novel

Author: L. A. Rentschler

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Female friendship

Page: 340

View: 876

Two women become friends while dealing with the deaths of their mothers.