The Mortal Word

Author: Genevieve Cogman

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 833

The Mortal Word is part of Genevieve Cogman’s witty and wonderful Invisible Library series, which can be enjoyed as part of a sequence or as standalones. A corrupt countess. A spy in danger. And an assassin at large. Peace talks are always tricky . . . especially when a key diplomat gets stabbed. This murder rudely interrupts a top-secret summit between the warring dragons and Fae, so Librarian-spy Irene is summoned to investigate. In a version of 1890s Paris, Irene and her detective friend Vale must track down the killer – before either the peace negotiations or the city go up in flames. Accusations fly thick and fast. Irene soon finds herself in the seedy depths of the Parisian underworld on the trail of a notoriously warlike Fae, the Blood Countess. However, the evidence against the Countess is circumstantial. Could the assassin – or assassins – be closer than anyone suspects? The Mortal Word is perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Sherlock Holmes. 'Captivating story with animated characters . . . cracking pace' Guardian

Immortal Birthright

Author: Evelyn Theresa Watson

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 50

View: 690

Your Passport I am the author and expounder of "HISTORICAL PHASES OF PROPHETIC TEACHING" with its companion guide, the Mortal/Immortal Golden Rule of Measure. This Bible commentary and slide rule are your passport for gaining spiritual insight into the "mystery" and "miracle" of biblical prophecy. This passport provides ways to "search the scriptures and loose the seals," signs, of a primitive statutory code of ethics. These seals, as "the signs, of the times," will answer the questions posed by the revelator St. John the Divine, "Who is worthy to open the book, and loose the seals thereof?" I dedicate this booklet, "IMMORTAL BIRTHRIGHT," to the ancient people who wrote and preserved the original scrolls of biblical prophecy and to those translators who presented to the world the "AUTHORIZED KING JAMES VERSION of THE HOLY BIBLE."

The Queen of the Legion

Author: Jack Williamson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 278

View: 487

The fourth novel in the classic Legion of Space series. In swarming hordes they poured forth from the core of the Nebula: the shadowflashers - nightmarish parasites bent on enslaving the minds and bodies of the entire human race. Already they had killed the Keeper of the Peace, and stolen the great secret weapon Akka. Now nothing stood between Mankind and the ultimate destruction... It was Jil Gyrel who first sensed danger. Daughter of a lost Legion pilot, Jil had inherited her father's uncanny gifts of navigation - and his courage. But what was one girl's bravery against the most monstrous evil ever to emerge from the treacherous oceans of space?

The Great Falling Away

Volume I: the Biblical Age

Author: Adrian Salupo

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 569

View: 993

This first volume of our Great Falling Away Series biblically explicates both the beginning and the end of the biblical age, while also revealing mankinds great falling away from a biblically-defined faith in God and His mortal, immortal, and eternal Messiah - Jesus the Christ of Bethlehem/Nazareth/Judea. The full title for this first book of our series is: "The Great Falling Away Volume I: The Biblical Age". This book is now available directly from Xlibris, as well as from on-line booksellers and retail bookstores everywhere. The second book of our Great Falling Away Series is entitled: "The Great Falling Away Volume II: Anti-Christ, Babylon, and the Bride of the Lamb". This second and final book in our Great Falling Away series is now completed, and is now also available directly from Xlibris, as well as from booksellers everywhere.

Historical Phases of Prophetic Teaching Volume I

Author: Evelyn Theresa Watson

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 130

View: 598

"Historical Phases of Prophetic Teaching" is the culmination of the author Evelyn Theresa Watson's forty years of biblical research that authenticates the Bible's statutory code of ethics. The code, representing the moral principles of covenant law, judgment, and statute manner, is disclosed in a pattern of doctrinal precepts within metaphoric and parabolic prophecy. This pattern evolved into doctrinal guidelines that appear on the only Bible-based slide rule of its kind, the Mortal/ Immortal Golden Rule of Measure. Volume I consists of a manual with illustrations of Old and New Testament text that show the reader how to use the Ark of the Covenant terms on the ruler to loose the seals of biblical prophecy. The present century marks four thousand years of Judaic Christian history and the end times of biblical prophecy. This recorded time period completes the history of the former Judaic generations and the latter Christian generation in their search for God. However, the search continues for an all-inclusive deity that will unite all nations in the universality of one God. The world's search for a unifying deity will advance when individuals accept the one true God based on Genesis One as the reality of "it was good... and it was so." The author's commentary offers the reader an opportunity to become a scholar of honor testifying to the efficacy of scriptural and gospel prophecy.

Grammars of Creation

Originating in the Gifford Lectures for 1990

Author: George Steiner

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN:

Category: Philosophy

Page: 344

View: 616

"We have no more beginnings,” George Steiner begins in this, his most radical book to date. A far-reaching exploration of the idea of creation in Western thought, literature, religion, and history, this volume can fairly be called a magnum opus. He reflects on the different ways we have of talking about beginnings, on the "core-tiredness” that pervades our end-of-the-millennium spirit, and on the changing grammar of our discussions about the end of Western art and culture. With his well-known elegance of style and intellectual range, Steiner probes deeply into the driving forces of the human spirit and our perception of Western civilization’s lengthening afternoon shadows. Roaming across topics as diverse as the Hebrew Bible, the history of science and mathematics, the ontology of Heidegger, and the poetry of Paul Celan, Steiner examines how the twentieth century has placed in doubt the rationale and credibility of a future tense--the existence of hope. Acknowledging that technology and science may have replaced art and literature as the driving forces in our culture, Steiner warns that this has not happened without a significant loss. The forces of technology and science alone fail to illuminate inevitable human questions regarding value, faith, and meaning. And yet it is difficult to believe that the story out of Genesis has ended, Steiner observes, and he concludes this masterful volume of reflections with an eloquent evocation of the endlessness of beginnings.

Twilight's Ashes

Author: Auler Ivis

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 476

View: 429

The year is 635,039 A.D., and the world has descended into an ice age. Human beings no longer rule the Earth. Instead, a post-human race of creatures has emerged from the chaos, and they are hell-bent on destroying “prehistoric man” in order to take control of the planet. Against them stands nothing but a prophecy, foretelling the victorious arrival of the Seventh Shepherd. Jebden Gale is an unlikely hero. Living in an isolated village deep within the new ice sheet, he has a special ability to connect with a higher power. Although he despises his relationship with the gods, Jebden appears to be chosen by them for greatness. Could he possibly be the Seventh Shepherd? Time is short. The godless post-human hordes sweep the world, destroying surviving human enclaves one by one while their dying race waits for a sign. In order to strengthen Jebden, the gods must forge a partnership among the few remaining humans with the ability to guide their chosen one. But will Jebden realize his destiny in time, or will his weakness mean the end of the human race?

The Incarnate Word

Selected Writings on Christology

Author: John Williamson Nevin

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 288

View: 309

The Incarnate Word contains a selection of the key writings on the doctrines of Christology produced by the theologians of Mercersburg Seminary during the middle of the nineteenth century. Despite the seminary's small stature and marginal position within American religious life, these texts represent some of the most profound wrestlings with the doctrine of the person of Christ that appeared in antebellum America, engaging the latest in German theological scholarship as well as the riches of the Christian tradition. As such, they command more than mere historical interest, providing rich conversation partners for contemporary debates in Reformed Christology, and anticipating the insights of such key twentieth-century theologians as T. F. Torrance. The present critical edition carefully preserves the original texts, while providing extensive introductions, annotations, and bibliography to orient the modern reader and facilitate further scholarship. The Mercersburg Theology Study Series is an attempt to make available for the first time, in attractive, readable, and scholarly modern editions, the key writings of the nineteenth-century movement known as the Mercersburg Theology. An ambitious multi-year project, this aims to make an important contribution to the scholarly community and to the broader reading public, who can at last be properly introduced to this unique blend of American and European, Reformed and catholic theology.

Karl Barth and the Incarnation

Christology and the Humility of God

Author: Darren O. Sumner

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 256

View: 560

This work demonstrates the significance of Karl Barth's Christology by examining it in the context of his orientation toward the classical tradition - an orientation that was both critical and sympathetic. To compare this Christology with the doctrine's history, Sumner suggests first that the Chalcedonian portrait of the incarnation is conceputally vulnerable at a number of points. By recasting the doctrine in actualist terms - the history of Jesus' lived existence as God's fulfillment of His covenant with creatures, rather than a metaphysical uniting of natures - Barth is able to move beyond problems inherent in the tradition. Despite a number of formal and material differences, however, Barth's position coheres with the intent of the ancient councils and ought to be judged as orthodox. Barth's great contribution to Christology is in the unapologetic affirmation of 'the humanity of God'.