The Mammoth Book of Short Erotic Novels

Author: Maxim Jakubowski

Publisher: Running PressBook Pub

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 530

View: 944

In the tradition of Carroll & Graf's The Mammoth Book of Erotica, The Mammoth Book of International Erotica, The Mammoth Book of New Erotica, and The Mammoth Book of Historical Erotica - which together have sold more than 400,000 copies - comes this provocative new volume in a hot-selling series, featuring such top writers of erotic fiction as Robert Coover, O'Neil De Noux, Mark Ramsden, Gene Santagarda, and Lucy Taylor along with the editors of this sizzling collection, Michael Hemmingson and Maxim Jakubowski. Written especially for this anthology, these piquant tales do not only titillate. As novellas, they also expatiate, involving the reader in the complications of plot as well as of lust and exploring the emotional interiors of their characters as well as in their sensual intrigues and sexual gymnastics. From Michael Perkins's "Night Moves" to William Vollmann's "De Sade's Last Stand," from Josephine Jarmaine's "The Doll" to M. Christian's "Speaking Parts" - whether disturbingly autobiographical or wildly fantastical, meditative or action-packed - these tales will arouse, fascinate, astound, and delight in their racy variety.

The Mammoth Book of Erotic Photography, Vol. 4

Author: Maxim Jakubowski

Publisher: Robinson

ISBN:

Category: Nude in art

Page: 448

View: 194

An all-new collection of both black-and-white and color erotic art photography, featuring the work of 74 leading photographers from the US, Europe, and beyond who have made a name for themselves with their female nude and erotic work, including Renée Jacobs, Thomas Karsten, Chas Ray Krider, Steven Lyon, Natacha Merritt, Craig Morey.

The Mammoth Book of Erotica presents The Best of Michael Hemmingson

Author: Michael Hemmingson

Publisher: Robinson

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 160

View: 862

Movements A married couple explores the possibilities of swinging, partner-swapping, and making money online through amateur pornography... The Dress A man finds a skimpy, sexy black dress and convinces his wife to wear it in public, enticing her exhibitionist desires and his voyeuristic delights. What seems to be a mere item of clothing has transformative properties for them both... Hollow Hills Cinda explores her sexuality one night in a car full of men, as the man she plans to marry watches her indulge in every debauchery... The Misery and Agony of Bodies... In the roaring 1920s, a young woman finds herself a willing sex slave for a wealthy man with very perverted ideas... The Comfort of Women An author with his first novel published finds a cure to several years of isolated celibacy: wanton and sultry women in the academic and literary world all willing to give the young author new sensuous material to write about...

The Mammoth Book of Science Fiction

Author: Mike Ashley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 160

View: 861

The art of writing great science fiction is that it challenges the imagination, pushing it to extreme limits and in this anthology, selecting some of the best modern science fiction from the last fifty years, twenty leading authors of the genre ask the question 'What if...?' and then give their own very personal views of the changes and surprises which may befall humanity in the centuries to come. In Ulla, Ulla Eric Brown recounts the first manned Martian expedition and discovers that H. G. Wells may have been right after all. In The Infinite Assassin Greg Egan polices the dimensions, seeking those who are taking over their alternate selves. Geoffrey A. Landis takes us into the depths of a black hole in Approaching Perimelasma. Is the ultimate Utopia heaven or hell? Robert Sheckley finds out in the classic A Ticket to Tranai. These and other stories by James White, Eric Frank Russell, Robert Reed, H. Beam Piper and H. Chandler Elliot make this one of the most entertaining and thought-provoking science fiction anthologies in lightyears.

The Mammoth Book of UFOs

Author: Lynn Picknett

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 160

View: 410

The ultimate guide to the history, background and meaning of whether UFOs really exist, plus associated phenomena such as alien abduction, crop circles and cattle mutilations. There is also a comprehensive overview of the many conspiracy theories which surround UFOs and abductions - from the craft as secret Nazi technology to weird CIA plots. Written by a ufologist with many years in the field, this exciting and highly provocative book at times reads like a thriller. What messages do UFOs hold for us and for the future of life on earth?

The Mammoth Book of the Adventures of Professor Moriarty

37 Short Stories about the Secret Life of Sherlock Holmes?s Nemesis

Author: Maxim Jakubowski

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 555

The hidden life of Sherlock Holmes’s most famous adversary is reimagined and revealed by the finest crime writers today. Some of literature’s greatest supervillains have also become its most intriguing antiheroes—Dracula, Hannibal Lecter, Lord Voldemort, and Norman Bates—figures that capture our imagination. Perhaps the greatest of these is Professor James Moriarty. Fiercely intelligent and a relentless schemer, Professor Moriarty is the perfect foil to the inimitable Sherlock Holmes, whose crime-solving acumen could only be as brilliant as Moriarty’s cunning. While “the Napoleon of crime” appeared in only two of Conan Doyle’s original stories, Moriarty’s enigma is finally revealed in this diverse anthology of thirty-seven new Moriarty stories, reimagined and retold by leading crime writers such as Martin Edwards, Jürgen Ehlers, Barbara Nadel, L. C. Tyler, Michael Gregorio, Alison Joseph and Peter Guttridge. In these intelligent, compelling stories—some frightening and others humorous—Moriarty is brought back vividly to new life, not simply as an incarnation of pure evil but also as a fallible human being with personality, motivations, and subtle shades of humanity. Filling the gaps of the Conan Doyle canon, The Mammoth Book of the Adventures of Professor Moriarty is a must-read for any fan of the Sherlock Holmes’s legacy. Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Arcade, Yucca, and Good Books imprints, are proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in fiction—novels, novellas, political and medical thrillers, comedy, satire, historical fiction, romance, erotic and love stories, mystery, classic literature, folklore and mythology, literary classics including Shakespeare, Dumas, Wilde, Cather, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

The Mammoth Book of Awesome Comic Fantasy

Author: Mike Ashley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 160

View: 815

A new and truly awesome collection of comic fantasy masterpieces! It isn't often you find a posse of Greek goddesses putting down insurrection among unruly classical mortals, stranded aliens escaping earth in a church converted into a rocket, or a light-fingered time-traveller attempting to steal the universe - but here they all are, in another selection of bizarre comic fantasies.

The Mammoth Book of Fantasy

Author: Mike Ashley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 160

View: 618

The Mammoth Book of Great Fantasy offers a wonderful collection - both classic and new - of this ever-popular genre. Mike Ashley brings together the great masters and originators of the form, such as George Macdonald and Lord Dunsany, through the great days of Conan the Barbarian, Elric and Melnibone and, of course, the creations of J.R.R.Tolkien, to today's craftsmen of fantasy such as Terry Pratchett, David Gemmell and Tanith Lee. Stories include: Yesterday was Monday, in which Theodore Sturgeon writes about a man who goes to sleep on Monday and awakes to find the next day is Wednesday - he has slipped out of time. The Wall Around the World, by Theodore Cogswell, tells of a young boy who masters flight in order to escape from a world in which he has become trapped. A Witch Shall be Born, one of Robert E.Howards greatest Conan the Barbarian stories. Aelfwine of England, a rare tale by J R R Tolkien, linking Dark Age Britain to Middle Earth.

The Mammoth Book of New Comic Fantasy

Author: Mike Ashley

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 160

View: 873

Mike Ashley is back with an all-new edition of one of the bestselling Mammoth Books ever, from the funniest writers in the field, including Neil Gaiman, Tom Holt, and Terry Jones. The thirty- five off-the-wall comic fantasies featured in Ashley's new collection are a mix of specially written stories and hard-to-find gems: a computer salesman in fairyland, a vampire football match, a psychotic Father Christmas, and a wizard allergic to magic. Ashley expertly turns fantasy and horror fiction on its head and magic into mayhem. This is huge fun for all comic fantasy fans.

The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 10

Author: Maxim Jakubowski

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 608

View: 439

42 fantastic stories from Britain's best crime writers. A superb collection of the year's most outstanding short crime fiction published in the UK. Jakubowski has succeeded, as ever, in showcasing the impressive breadth of crime writing, from cosy tales of detection to noir mayhem and psychological suspense and terror. There are puzzles to solve, nagging questions about the nature of the society in which we live, but, above all, there is an abundance of first-class entertainment. Last year saw a sixth Crime Writers Association Dagger award for the series - shared between Margaret Murphy and Cath Staincliffe - and an Edgar award for Peter Turnbull. All three award-winning stories are included in this volume. Lee Child makes his debut and there is a first story from Neil Gaiman, too, in Sherlockian rather than fantastical mode. Return offenders include Ann Cleeves, Phil Lovesey and Ruth Rendell, among many other familiar names. There are a number of newcomers to the series, too, including Nina Allan, Joel Lane and Lisa Tuttle.