The Madman’s Daughter

Author: Megan Shepherd

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 982

A dark, breathless, beautifully-written gothic thriller of murder, madness and a mysterious island...

The Madman's Daughter Trilogy: The Complete Collection

The Madman's Daughter, Her Dark Curiosity, A Cold Legacy

Author: Megan Shepherd

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 1264

View: 849

Megan Shepherd's gothic suspense trilogy, inspired by the stories of H.G. Wells, Robert Louis Stevenson, and Mary Shelley, is perfect for fans of Libba Bray, Leigh Bardugo, and classic horror and science fiction. This collection also contains a sneak peek of The Cage, the first book in Megan Shepherd's gripping new series about teens held captive in a human zoo by an otherworldly race. The Madman's Daughter, inspired by The Island of Dr. Moreau, is the story of Dr. Moreau's daughter Juliet, who travels to her estranged father's island only to encounter murder, madness, and a scintillating love triangle. Her Dark Curiosity: Inspired by The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, this tantalizing sequel explores the hidden natures of those we love and how far we'll go to save them from themselves. A Cold Legacy: With inspiration from Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, this breathless conclusion to the Madman's Daughter trilogy explores the things we'll sacrifice to save those we love . . . even our own humanity.

I Am Rembrandt's Daughter

Author: Lynn Cullen

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 320

View: 645

With her mother dead of the plague, and her beloved brother newly married, Cornelia must manage her father's household, though he teeters on the brink of madness. She knows that among Amsterdam's elite circles, people are gossiping about her father's fading artistic genius--and about her, too. Yet there are two young men who seem unfazed by the slander- and very much intrigued by Cornelia. Set within the vibrant community of the 17th century Dutch Masters, I Am Rembrandt's Daughter is a moving coming of age story filled with family drama and a love triangle that would make Jane Austen proud.

The Madman's Tale

A Novel

Author: John Katzenbach

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 681

It’s been twenty years since Western State Hospital was closed down and the last of its inmates reintegrated into society. Francis Petrel was barely out of his teens when his family committed him to the asylum, after his erratic behavior culminated in a terrifying outburst. Now middle-aged, he leads an aimless, solitary life housed in a cheap apartment, periodically tended to by his sisters, and perpetually medicated to quiet the chorus of voices in his head. But a reunion on the grounds of the shuttered institution stirs something deep in Francis’s troubled mind: dark memories he thought he had laid to rest, about the grisly events that led to Western State Hospital’s demise. It begins in 1979, when twenty-one-year-old Petrel descends into the state-run purgatory of an overcrowded, understaffed Massachusetts mental hospital. Surrounded by inmates roaming the halls like drugged zombies and raving behind locked doors, well-meaning orderlies, jaded nurses, and patronizing doctors, Francis finds friendship with a motley assortment of fellow patients: a would-be Napoleon, a wise ex-firefighter, and a man obsessed with battling imagined devils. But there’s nothing imaginary about the young nurse found sexually assaulted and brutally murdered late one night after lights-out. The police suspect an inmate, while patients whisper about visions of a white-shrouded “angel.” But the striking and mysterious prosecuting attorney who arrives to investigate has her own chilling theory—about the grim, telltale “signature” left on the victim’s body, a string of unsolved sex killings, and a very real devil who, by chance or design, has come to turn a madhouse into a slaughterhouse. Now, with the past creeping back to haunt his thoughts, and nothing but a pencil and the bare walls of his bleak apartment, Francis surrenders to the overwhelming need to tell the story of those nightmarish days. But because the crime was never solved, it’s a story doomed to remain unfinished. Until, like Francis’s long-buried recollections, the killer resurfaces . . . with a vengeance. A tour de force narrative journey through the eerily unpredictable mind of an utterly unusual hero, The Madman’s Tale will keep even the most astute thriller reader uncertain, unnerved, and unable to resist the tantalizing twists and turns of this fiendishly suspenseful shadow show. From the Hardcover edition.

The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 25

Author: Stephen Jones

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 160

View: 962

For a quarter of a century, this multiple award-winning annual selection has showcased some of the very best, and most disturbing, short stories and novellas of horror and the supernatural. As always, this landmark volume features superior fiction from such masters of the genre and newcomers in contemporary horror as Michael Chislett; Thana Niveau; Reggie Oliver; Tanith Lee; Niel Gaiman; Robert Shearman; Simon Strantzas; Lavie Tidhar; Simon Kurt Unsworth and Halli Villegas. With an in-depth introduction covering the year in horror, a fascinating necrology and a unique contact directory, The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror remains the world’s leading anthology dedicated solely to presenting the very best in modern horror. Praise for previous Mammoth Books of Best New Horror: 'Stephen Jones . . . has a better sense of the genre than almost anyone in this country.' Lisa Tuttle, The Times. 'The best horror anthologist in the business is, of course, Stephen Jones, whose Mammoth Book of Best New Horror is one of the major bargains of this as of any other year.' Roz Kavaney. 'An essential volume for horror readers.' Locus

Vengeance Road

Author: Erin Bowman

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 330

View: 769

When Kate Thompson’s father is killed by the notorious Rose Riders for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, the eighteen-year-old disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers and justice. What she finds are devious strangers, dust storms, and a pair of brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, she gets closer to the truth about herself and must decide if there's room for love in a heart so full of hate. In the spirit of True Grit, the cutthroat days of the Wild West come to life for a new generation.

Illusion

Author: Martina Boone

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 480

View: 652

Barrie must rescue her beloved and her family from evil spirits in this stunning conclusion to the Heirs of Watson Island trilogy. Caged by secrets all around her and haunted by mistakes that have estranged her from Eight Beaufort, Barrie Watson is desperate to break the curse that puts her family in danger—without breaking the beautiful magic that protects Watson’s Landing. To do that, she must heal the rifts that have split the families of the island apart for three hundred years, unravel the mystery of the Fire Carrier and the spirits he guards, and take control of forces so deadly and awe-inspiring they threaten to overwhelm her. With the spirits that cursed Watson Island centuries ago awake and more dangerous than ever, she finds an unlikely ally in the haunting and enigmatic Obadiah, whose motivations and power she still can’t read—or trust. His help comes at a price, however, plunging Barrie into a deadly maze of magic and wonder, mystery and intrigue that leads through history to places she never imagined she could go.

The Madman

His Parables and Poems

Author: Kahlil Gibran

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 80

View: 108

Life-affirming parables and poems by the author of The Prophet cast an ironic light on the beliefs, aspirations and vanities of humanity. Also features 3 illustrations by author.

The Madman's Kiss

Author: James Lawson

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 168

View: 373

Martin Jeppesen, a down-to-earth, savvy marketing executive, deals with stress by imagining things - a bat wafting around a boardroom, for example, or molten ink enveloping the head of a garrulous luncheon companion. As his life becomes more and more stressful, his imaginings begin to run wild and hallucinations eventually dominate his life, to the point where the only thing he thinks is a hallucination is reality. How he deals with this, and how it affects the people in his life, is the subject of The Madman's Kiss.

The Madman and the Assassin

The Strange Life of Boston Corbett, the Man Who Killed John Wilkes Booth

Author: Scott Martelle

Publisher: Chicago Review Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 240

View: 348

As thoroughly examined as the Civil War and the assassination of Abraham Lincoln by John Wilkes Booth have been, virtually no attention has been paid to the life of the Union cavalryman who killed Booth, an odd character named Boston Corbett. The killing of Booth made Corbett an instant celebrity who became the object of fascination and of derision. Corbett was an English immigrant, a hatter by trade, who was likely poisoned by mercury. A devout Christian, he castrated himself so that his sexual urges would not distract him from serving God, which he did as a street evangelist and preacher. He was one of the first volunteers to join the US Army in the first days of the Civil War, a path that would in time land him in the notorious Andersonville prison camp. Eventually released in a prisoner exchange, he would end up in the squadron that cornered Booth in Virginia. The Madman and the Assassin is the first full-length biography of Boston Corbett, a man who was something of a prototypical modern American, thrust into the spotlight during a national news event. His story also encompasses tragedy—his wife died when he was young, and he struggled with poverty and his own mental health—as it weaves through some of the biggest events in nineteenth century America. Scott Martelle is a professional journalist and the author of The Admiral and the Ambassador, and Detroit: A Biography, and is an editorial writer for the Los Angeles Times.