The Lace Reader

Author: Brunonia Barry

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 742

Drawn by family. Driven by fear. Haunted by fate.

The Lace Reader with Bonus Material

A Novel

Author: Brunonia Barry

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 390

View: 904

Every gift has a price . . . every piece of lace has a secret. Towner Whitney, the self-confessed unreliable narrator, hails from a family of Salem women who can read the future in the patterns in lace, and who have guarded a history of secrets going back generations. Now the disappearance of two women is bringing Towner back home to Salem—and is bringing to light the shocking truth about the death of her twin sister.

The Fifth Petal

A Novel of Salem

Author: Brunonia Barry

Publisher: Broadway Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 418

Could a witch hunt happen again in Salem? For readers of Deborah Harkness's A Discovery of Witches, New York Times bestselling author of The Lace Reader Brunonia Barry returns to Salem with this spellbinding new thriller, a complex brew of suspense, seduction and murder. When a teenage boy dies suspiciously on Halloween night, Salem's chief of police, John Rafferty, wonders if there is a connection between his death and Salem’s most notorious cold case, a triple homicide dubbed "The Goddess Murders," in which three young women, all descended from accused Salem witches, were slashed on Halloween night in 1989. He finds unexpected help in Callie Cahill, the daughter of one of the victims newly returned to town. Neither believes that the main suspect, Rose Whelan, respected local historian, is guilty of murder or witchcraft. But exonerating Rose might mean crossing paths with a dangerous force. Were the women victims of an all-too-human vengeance, or was the devil raised in Salem that night? And if they cannot discover what truly happened, will evil rise again?

The Everything Guide to Writing Your First Novel

All the Tools You Need to Write and Sell Your First Novel

Author: Hallie Ephron

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 304

View: 629

Guides readers in writing and publishing a book, including creating authentic characters, editing, and finding an agent.

The Map of True Places

Author: Brunonia Barry

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 297

From the author of The Lace Reader comes an emotionally resonant novel of tragedy, secrets, identity, and love.

The Breakout Novelist

How to Craft Novels That Stand Out and Sell

Author: Donald Maass

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 352

View: 980

The all-inclusive guide for novel writers If you're serious about making your fiction vibrant, engaging, and marketable, you've found the right book. The Breakout Novelist gives you the craft and business know-how you need to make your book stand out. Inside, veteran agent Donald Maass brings together the most innovative and practical information from his workshops and previous books to lead you through every aspect of setting your novel apart from the rest. Maass shares examples from contemporary writers across all genres to equip you with the strategies great writers use to craft great fiction - from core fiction-writing elements like character, setting, description, and plot, to more advanced techniques including point of view, voice, and suspense. Plus, you'll find over 70 practical exercises to help you move your writing from blah to breakout. You'll also learn from Maass' experiences over more than three decades in the publishing industry. Get straight talk from an insider about agents, contracts, how the industry is changing, and how to be the kind of author who builds a successful career book after book. Get the best of Maass' expertise and instruction in one easy-to-use reference.

The Fire in Fiction

Passion, Purpose and Techniques to Make Your Novel Great

Author: Donald Maass

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 272

View: 639

Discover the Difference Between a So-So Manuscript and a Novel Readers Can't Forget We've all read them: novels by our favorite authors that disappoint. Uninspired and lifeless, we wonder what happened. Was the author in a hurry? Did she have a bad year? Has he lost interest altogether? Something similar is true of a great many unpublished manuscripts. They are okay stories that never take flight. They don't grip the imagination, let alone the heart. They merit only a shrug and a polite dismissal by agents and editors. It doesn't have to be that way. In The Fire in Fiction, successful literary agent and author Donald Maass shows you not only how to infuse your story with deep conviction and fiery passion, but how to do it over and over again. The book features: • Techniques for capturing a special time and place, creating characters whose lives matter, nailing multiple-impact plot turns, making the supernatural real, infusing issues into fiction, and more. • Story-enriching exercises at the end of every chapter to show you how to apply the practical tools just covered to your own work. • Rich examples drawn from contemporary novels as diverse as The Lake House, Water for Elephants, and Jennifer Government to illustrate how various techniques work in actual stories. Plus, Maass introduces an original technique that any novelist can use any time, in any scene, in any novel, even on the most uninspired day...to take the most powerful experiences from your personal life and turn those experiences directly into powerful fiction. Tap into The Fire in Fiction, and supercharge your story with originality and spark!

Legendary Locals of Salem

Author: Jerome M. Curley, Dorothy V. Malcolm, and Nelson L. Dionne

Publisher: Arcadia Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 128

View: 416

Since 1626, Salem has had a rich history. Time has seen this small city that was founded by Puritans adapt and push forward. It has been the capital of the colony; the site of the witchcraft trials of 1692; a thriving seaport; home to Revolutionary War privateers and soldiers; an East India Seaport that opened trade with China; an industrial center; and a tourist destination. Each age has produced people of influence. They walked the city s lanes, wharves, and streets as they pursued their dreams people such as Roger Conant, Salem s Puritan founder; Anne Bradstreet, the first American poetess; Judge Sewell, the remorseful witchcraft judge; Elias Derby, the first American millionaire; Samuel McIntyre, the architect who changed the face of Salem; Nathaniel Hawthorne, a great American author; and Frank Benson, the noted impressionist painter. Ordinary people were and are legends, such as Caroline Emmerton, a philanthropist who sought to save Salem s heritage; David Goss, a historian and activist for Salem s past; Pep Cornacchio, an extraordinary civic volunteer; and Joan Boudreau, a preservationist restaurateur; as well as countless others. Legendary Locals of Salem celebrates the eclectic and noteworthy figures that have shaped and continue to shape the community."

Lace

A Novel

Author: Shirley Conran

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 604

View: 901

"Which one of you bitches is my mother?" Four elegant, successful, and sophisticated women in their forties are called to New York's Pierre Hotel to meet Lili -- a beautiful, young, and notoriously temperamental Hollywood movie star. None of the women knows exactly why she is there; each has a reason to hate Lili and each of them is astonished to see the others. They are old friends who share a guilty secret and who have for years been doing their best to keep that secret quiet. Their lives are changed forever, however, when Lili suddenly confronts them. When the women refuse to answer her, Lili proceeds to travel around the world through the playgrounds of the rich and famous, seeking to answer the question that has obsessed and almost destroyed her. From Paris to London, from the boardroom to the bedroom, "Lace" takes the reader into the rarified world of five unforgettable women who are as beautiful, as complex and as strong as...lace.

A Literary Cavalcade-I

Author: Robert A. Parker

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 434

View: 998

For six decades, writer and editor Robert A. Parker has followed up each book he reads, mainly novels, with an evaluation. His comments are informed by an independent critical view that balances a moral and literary sensibility. In this first of six volumes, the authors covered range from Kobo Abe to Michael Cunningham. They include Richard Adams, Russell Banks, Anthony Burgess, A.S. Byatt, James Carroll, Willa Cather, J. M. Coetzee, and Joseph Conrad. The commentaries are listed alphabetically by author, and the books by the date of publication for each author. Some authors are represented by one book, some by five or more. Future volumes will cover additional authors alphabetically. The writers here represent a broad range of writing styles, cultural influences, and moral philosophies. And all are rated on their literary achievement, the effectiveness of plot, character, and setting, plus their recognition of the moral, ethical, and spiritual values of mankind.