The Ivory Gate (1893)

Author: Walter Besant

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 398

View: 655

This scarce antiquarian book is a facsimile reprint of the original. Due to its age, it may contain imperfections such as marks, notations, marginalia and flawed pages. Because we believe this work is culturally important, we have made it available as part of our commitment for protecting, preserving, and promoting the world's literature in affordable, high quality, modern editions that are true to the original work.

Annual Report

Author: Providence. Athenaeum

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 680

The 55th report, submitted Sept. 27, 1886, includes a historical sketch of the institution from 1836-86.

Gates of Horn and Ivory

Author: Joseph J. Sollish

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 295

In 1893 Baltimore, Cornelius Maximilian, a rugged ships master who has been summarily dismissed from the merchant navy as a result of the conniving of an avaricious trader, meets strong-willed, independent Vanessa Tompkins. Over everyones objections, Vanessa accompanies him to the Shelbourne coal mine in Pennsylvania, where Captain Max uncovers embezzlement, wretched exploitation, and a murder. When the mine is flooded by an underground river, and is abandoned by its absentee English owners, Vanessa, Captain Max, and mining engineer Andrew Campbell secretly reclaim it and restore it to operation. Overcoming tremendous odds, the three build Port Maximilian, an entirely new kind of mining town, where instead of being treated as slaves, cheated and exploited, miners live in exceptional housing and enjoy good schools and services, without rent or taxes because everything is supported by profits from the mine. Gates of Horn and Ivory is an unusual tale of adventure, love, and family. Vanessa and Captain Max marry, have two children. Joshua grows into a mean, spiteful young man, in conflict with his father, whose power he envies and despises. Annie, gentle and devoted to her father, has her mothers strength and will. While the captain battles against conspiracies to destroy him and the industries he has built, plus an attempt by the former English owners to take back the mine, he also supports Vanessa in her leadership of the local womens suffrage movement and in improving the lives of women and young girls. With profits from the mine, they establish a free college for women on a bluff overlooking Port Maximilian. But with all the success she and her husband achieve, in the end Vanessa faces a heart-breaking situation as she uncovers her son Joshuas evil plot to destroy the mine and bring Captain Maximilian down.

Victorian Yellowbacks & Paperbacks, 1849-1905

Author: Chester W. Topp

Publisher: Hermitage Antiquarian Book Shop

ISBN:

Category: English fiction

Page: 616

View: 186

Dr. Chester W. Topp has spent 30 years compiling the definitive bibliography of over 25 publishers of Victorian Yellowbacks and Paperbacks. Based on his own extensive library of 1700 Yellowbacks and 1900 19th century paperbacks and an exhaustive search of every major trade and literary journal of the last century, this series of bibliographies represents a unique and major accomplishment in bibliographic studies in the tradition of Jacob Blanck, Michael Sadleir, Joseph Sabin and others.

Annual Report

Author: Ohio. Department of Inspection of Workshops, Factories and Public Buildings

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Factory inspection

Page:

View: 281

Vols. for 1887-92 include proceedings of 1-6th annual convention of the International Association of Factory Inspectors of North America.

Spectres of the Self

Thinking about Ghosts and Ghost-Seeing in England, 1750–1920

Author: Shane McCorristine

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page:

View: 615

Spectres of the Self is a fascinating study of the rich cultures surrounding the experience of seeing ghosts in England from the Reformation to the twentieth century. Shane McCorristine examines a vast range of primary and secondary sources, showing how ghosts, apparitions, and hallucinations were imagined, experienced, and debated from the pages of fiction to the case reports of the Society for Psychical Research. By analysing a broad range of themes from telepathy and ghost-hunting to the notion of dreaming while awake and the question of why ghosts wore clothes, Dr McCorristine reveals the sheer variety of ideas of ghost seeing in English society and culture. He shows how the issue of ghosts remained dynamic despite the advance of science and secularism and argues that the ghost ultimately represented a spectre of the self, a symbol of the psychological hauntedness of modern experience.