The House of Thunder

Author: Leigh Nichols

Publisher: New York : Pocket Books ; Markham, Ont. : Distributed in Canada by PaperJacks

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 342

View: 259

Susan Thorton gradually recovers from amnesia caused by an automobile accident and sees in the hospital her lover's murderers, who are supposedly dead

The House of Thunder

A psychological thriller of masterful suspense

Author: Dean Koontz

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 246

How do you know what is real when you wake into a nightmare? The House of Thunder is an unforgettable novel of terror and murder from bestselling novelist Dean Koontz. Perfect for fans of Richard Laymon and Harlan Coben. 'Dean Koontz is a prose stylist whose lyricism heightens malevolence and tension. [He creates] characters of unusual richness and depth' - The Seattle Times In a cavern called The House of Thunder, Susan Thorton watched in terror as her lover died a brutal death in a college hazing. And in the following four years, the four young men who participated in that grim fraternity rite also died violently. Or did they? Twelve years later Susan wakes in a hospital bed. Apparently involved in a fatal accident, she is suffering from amnesia. She doesn't remember who she is or why she is there. All she knows is that her convalescence is unfolding into a fearful nightmare - and that the faces that surround her, pretending loving care, are those of the four men involved in that murder years before. Have the dead come back to life? Or has Susan plunged into the abyss of madness? With the help of her neurosurgeon, Susan desperately clings to her sanity while fighting to uncover who or what could be stalking her... What readers are saying about The House of Thunder: 'I have never read a book so filled with mystery and suspense' 'Koontz creates several ingenious plot twists and mysteries, some of which had me gasping out loud, they were so fantastic' 'Wonderful plot and living, breathing characters are of course the norm from Koontz, but this book has an indefinable quality about it that sets it apart from the others'

A Son of Thunder

Patrick Henry and the American Republic

Author: Henry Mayer

Publisher: Open Road + Grove/Atlantic

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 544

View: 788

An in-depth biography of the iconic American revolutionary that “helps us understand the significance of Henry’s enduring image” (The New York Times Book Review). Patrick Henry was a charismatic orator whose devotion to the pursuit of liberty fueled the fire of the American Revolution and laid the groundwork for the United States. As a lawyer and a member of the Virginia House of Burgess, Henry championed the inalienable rights with which all men are born. His philosophy inspired the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and, most significantly, the Bill of Rights. Famous for the line “Give me liberty or give me death!” Patrick Henry was a man who stirred souls and whose dedication to individual liberty became the voice for thousands. In A Son of Thunder, Henry Mayer offers “a biography as [Patrick] Henry himself would have wanted it written—a readable style, informal, engaging, and entertaining” (Southern Historian). “This is history and biography at its best.” —Charleston Evening Post “A fine job of placing Henry’s idea of republican rectitude in context without ignoring the many ironies of his life as a mediator between the yeomanry and the elite.” —The New York Times Book Review “A narrative that eases the reader with seemingly effortless grace into the rough-and-tumble world of eighteenth-century Virginia. Patrick Henry, patriot, emerges . . . a lion of a man, proud, earnest, melancholy, eloquent. The biographer has done his job; one sets this book down having heard the lion’s roar and having felt the sorrow that he is no more.” —San Francisco Examiner

The House of Impossible Loves

Author: Cristina López Barrio

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 319

View: 939

Cursed to suffer tragic love affairs and give birth to equally cursed daughters, a family of women in 20th-century Spain and France and their colorful inner circle watch over a youngest daughter's passionate affair with a landowner who leaves her pregnant and determined to make redemptive changes. 30,000 first printing.

The House of the Vestals

The Investigations of Gordianus the Finder

Author: Steven Saylor

Publisher: Minotaur Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 259

It is Ancient Rome, and Gordianus the Finder has a knack for finding trouble. Stalking about the city's twisting trails looking for clues and finding bodies, Gordianus has had his share of misadventure with nobles and slaves alike. Known to many as the one man in the ancient world who can both keep a secret and uncover one, Gordianus has stories to tell.

The Tryal of Dr. Henry Sacheverell, Before the House of Peers, for High Crimes and Misdemeanors

Upon an Impeachment by the Knights, Citizens and Burgesses in Parliament Assembled, in the Name of Themselves, and of All the Commons of Great Britain : Begun in Westminster-Hall the 27th Day of February, 1709/10, and from Thence Continued by Several Adjournments Until the 23d Day of March Following

Author: Henry Sacheverell

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Church and state

Page: 456

View: 693

A Spy in the House of Years

Author: Giles Goodland

Publisher: Giles Goodland

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 116

View: 967

This new collection from Giles Goodland further enhances his reputation as a published and award-winning poet. Goodland has a clutch of 1st prizes from major poetry competitions over the past 10 years, which is impressive enough, but when one considers that the judges of those competitions he has won include renowned writers such as Alasdair Grey, Fleur Adcock, Pauline Stainer and Robin Robertson, it is clear that he is a poet with great talent. A poet with a truly international appeal, Giles Goodland has had his work published in journals and poetry magazines all over the world including: Haiku International, Oxford Quarterly and Catharsis.