The History of Bees

Author: Maja Lunde

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 219

***THE NUMBER ONE INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER*** ‘Fans of Cloud Atlas and Never Let Me Go will love The History of Bees’ Good Housekeeping ‘Dystopian and electric, this book is set to blow minds everywhere' Stylist 'Haunting and poignant ... an important and wonderful book' Dave Goulson, bestselling author of Bee Quest In the spirit of Station Eleven and Never Let Me Go, this dazzling and ambitious literary debut follows three generations of beekeepers from the past, present, and future, weaving a spellbinding story of their relationship to the bees – and to their children and one another – against the backdrop of an urgent, global crisis. England, 1851. William is a biologist and seed merchant, who sets out to build a new type of beehive—one that will give both him and his children honour and fame. United States, 2007. George is a beekeeper and fights an uphill battle against modern farming, but hopes that his son can be their salvation. China, 2098. Tao hand paints pollen onto the fruit trees now that the bees have long since disappeared. When Tao’s young son is taken away by the authorities after a tragic accident—and is kept in the dark about his whereabouts and condition—she sets out on a grueling journey to find out what happened to him. Haunting, illuminating, and deftly written, The History of Bees joins these three very different narratives into one gripping and thought provoking story that is just as much about the powerful relationships between children and parents as it is about our very relationship to nature and humanity. ‘Haunting and poignant … an important and wonderful book’ Dave Goulson, author of Bee Quest ‘Spectacular and deeply moving. Lunde has elegantly woven together a tale of science and science fiction, dystopia and hope, and the trials of the individual and the strengths of family’ Lisa See, New York Times bestselling author ‘Such is the genius of debut novelist Maja Lunde that her tale of three eras—the long past, the tenuous present and the biologically damned future—is strung on the fragile hope of the survival of bees’ Jacquelyn Mitchard, New York Times bestselling author ‘As a lover of honeybees and a fan of speculative fiction, I was doubly smitten by THE HISTORY OF BEES. Maja Lunde’s novel is an urgent reminder of how much our survival depends on those remarkable insects. It is also a gripping account of how—despite the cruelest losses—humanity may abide and individual families can heal’ Jean Hegland, author of Into the Forest ‘By turns devastating and hopeful, The History of Bees resonates powerfully with our most pressing environmental concerns. Following three separate but interconnected timelines, Lunde shows us the past, the present, and a terrifying future in a riveting story as complex as a honeycomb’Bryn Greenwood, New York Times bestselling author ‘Here is a story that is sweeping in scope but intimate in detail’ Laura McBride, author of We Are Called to Rise

The Natural History of Bees

Comprehending the Uses and Economical Management of the British and Foreign Honey-bee; Together with the Known Wild Species. Illustrated by Thirty-six [i.e. Thirty-two] Plates Coloured from Nature, with Portrait and Memoir of Huber

Author: James Duncan

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Bee culture

Page: 301

View: 128

The Feminine Monarchy: Or the History of Bees (1623)

Author: Charles Butler

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 196

View: 552

This book, Lectures On The Formation Of Character, Temptations And Mission Of Young Men (1853), by Rufus Wheelwright Clark, is a replication of a book originally published before 1861. It has been restored by human beings, page by page, so that you may enjoy it in a form as close to the original as possible. This book was created using print-on-demand technology. Thank you for supporting classic literature.

The World History of Beekeeping and Honey Hunting

Author: Eva Crane

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 682

View: 258

This is the first book to explore in detail the world history of humankind's use of bees from prehistoric times to the present day. Both rock art and recent field studies have shown how honey hunters obtained their harvest from bees' nests. Honey has always been the chief prize, but bee brood has been eaten as meat, and beeswax has been utilized in many technologies. Bees, honey, and wax have special symbolic significance in both early beliefs and later world religions. But perhaps bees' greatest benefit has been their pollination of crops.

The Bee Book

The History and Natural History of the Honeybee

Author: Daphne More

Publisher: Universe Pub

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 143

View: 793

Examines the origins of bees and the functions of queens, workers, and drones, indicates flowers that attract honeybees, and discusses beekeeping in ancient and modern times and the uses of beeswax

Honey Bees

Letters from the Hive

Author: Stephen Buchmann

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 192

View: 959

In Honey Bees: Letters From the Hive, bee expert Stephen Buchmann takes readers on an incredible tour. Enter a beehive--one part nursery, one part honey factory, one part queen bee sanctum--then fly through backyard gardens, open fields, and deserts where wildflowers bloom. It's fascinating--and delicious! Hailed for their hard work and harmonious society, bees make possible life on earth as we know it. This fundamental link between bees and humans reaches beyond biology to our environment and our culture: bees have long played important roles in art, religion, literature, and medicine--and, of course, in the kitchen. For honey fanatics and all who have a sweet tooth, this book not only entertains and enlightens but also reminds us of the fragility of humanity's relationship with nature. Includes illustrations and photographs throughout. From the Hardcover edition.

The Feminine Monarchy

Or, The History of Bees; Shewing Their Admirable Nature and Property, Their Generation and Colony, Their Government, Loyalty, Art, Industry, Enemies, Wars, Magnanimity, &c. Together with the Right Ordering of Them from Time to Time, and the Sweet Profit Arising Thereof. Written in Latin

Author: Charles Butler

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Bee culture

Page: 150

View: 846