Colvett Family Chronicles

The History of the Colvett Family of Tennessee, 1630-1990

Author: Latayne Colvett Stanfill



Category: Tennessee

Page: 635

View: 639

Descendants are located in Tennessee, Virginia, California and elsewhere.

The Eleventh and Twelfth Books of Giovanni Villani’s “New Chronicle”

Author: Rala I. Diakité

Publisher: Walter de Gruyter GmbH & Co KG


Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 487

View: 886

Giovanni Villani’s New Chronicle traces the history of Europe, Italy, and Florence over a vast sweep of time – from the Tower of Babel to the great earthquake of 1348. In the eleventh and twelfth books, Villani depicts a particularly eventful period in the history of Florence, whose grandeur is illustrated in several famous chapters describing the city’s income, expenses, and magnificence. The dramatic account follows Florence’s internal affairs as well as its conflicts with powerful lords like Castruccio Castracani and Mastino della Scala. The chronicler’s perspective, however, ranges beyond his city, as he documents such events as the imperial coronation of Louis of Bavaria, the penitential pilgrimage of Venturino da Bergamo, and the first campaigns of the Hundred Year’s War.

Rekindled (Fountain Creek Chronicles Book #1)

Author: Tamera Alexander

Publisher: Bethany House


Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 497

A Gripping Story of Love, Loss, and Second Chances When her husband disappears into a mountain snowstorm one morning, Kathryn Jennings is flung into the world of ranching, banking, and business. Penniless and pregnant, Kathryn is determined to keep her land as a legacy for her child. The man who offers her a job seems to have an awful lot of secrets, but she is desperate. Most disconcerting of all is the uncanny familiarity she feels toward the badly scarred ranch hand who works in the dark shadows of the horse stables.

Elkmont's Uncle Lem Ownby

Sage of the Smokies

Author: F. Carroll McMahan

Publisher: Arcadia Publishing


Category: Photography

Page: 128

View: 246

Born in 1889 in the Smoky Mountains, Lem Ownby became one of the region's most recognized figures. Sight-impaired from an early age, Lem spent his life logging, bear hunting, farming and tending his beehives. He welcomed the arrival of logging operations into the pristine wilderness but became an eyewitness to the devastation it brought to land, streams and wildlife. As the last leaseholder living within the Great Smoky Mountains National Park, Lem became a legend, selling his honey and offering pearls of wisdom to hikers, writers and even the governor. Lem's principles remained solid, his opinions so unwavering that he once refused to entertain two Supreme Court justices. Enter the forest with author F. Carroll McMahan as he tells dramatic, fascinating and sometimes humorous stories of a man who lived truly on his own terms.

A Chronicle of the Kings of England

From the Time of the Romans Government, Unto the Death of King James. Containing All Passages of State and Church, with All Other Observations Proper for a Chronicle ... Whereunto is Added, the Reign of King Charles the First, and the First Thirteen Years of His Sacred Majesty, King Charles the Second ... All which Additions are Revised in this Eighth Impression, and Freed from Many Errors and Mistakes of the Former Editions

Author: Sir Richard Baker



Category: Great Britain

Page: 866

View: 430