The Heart of Betrayal

The Remnant Chronicles, Book Two

Author: Mary E. Pearson

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company (BYR)

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 480

View: 647

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape . . . and even less of being together. Desperate to save her life, Lia's erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komisar that she has a magical gift, and the Komisar's interest in Lia is greater than either Kaden or Lia foresaw. Meanwhile, the foundations of Lia's deeply-held beliefs are crumbling beneath her. Nothing is straightforward: there's Rafe, who lied to her, but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom she always believed to be barbarians but whom she now realizes are people who have been terribly brutalized by the kingdoms of Dalbreck and Morrighan. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her very sense of self, Lia will have to make powerful choices that affect her country, her people . . . and her own destiny.

The Beauty of Darkness

The Remnant Chronicles, Book Three

Author: Mary E. Pearson

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company (BYR)

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 496

View: 116

The third and final book in the New York Times-bestselling Remnant Chronicles. Lia has survived Venda—but so has a great evil bent on the destruction of Morrighan. And only Lia can stop it. With war on the horizon, Lia has no choice but to assume her role as First Daughter, as soldier—as leader. While she struggles to reach Morrighan and warn them, she finds herself at cross-purposes with Rafe and suspicious of Kaden, who has hunted her down. In this heart-stopping conclusion to the Remnant Chronicles trilogy that started with The Kiss of Deception and The Heart of Betrayal, traitors must be rooted out, sacrifices must be made, and impossible odds must be overcome as the future of every kingdom hangs in the balance. New York Times-bestselling author Mary E. Pearson's combination of intrigue, suspense, romance, and action makes this a riveting YA page-turner for teens. Read all of The Remnant Chronicles: The Kiss of Deception The Heart of Betrayal The Beauty of Darkness Praise for The Remnant Chronicles: A New York Times Bestselling Series “Readers will be gripping pages from the nerve-wracking start through the heart-stopping ending. . . . Pearson's Remnant Chronicles is an epic YA series to get behind.” —Romantic Times on The Beauty of Darkness “Fantastical.” —USA Today for The Kiss of Deception “A sumptuous fantasy.” —Chicago Tribune for The Kiss of Deception “In The Kiss of Deception, a new realm is masterfully created, featuring court intrigue, feuding nations, breathtaking landscapes, and the gift of sight. Fans of the Game of Thrones series will enjoy the magic and fantasy in this timeless dystopian world.” —VOYA for The Kiss of Deception

Living Beyond the Heart of Betrayal

Biblically Addressing the Pain of Sexual Sin

Author: Julie Ganschow

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Abused women

Page: 200

View: 498

Has your marriage been touched by sexual immorality? No matter what sexual sin your spouse has committed, when you learned of it your life was changed. Your world tilted off of its axis and you realized nothing would ever be the same again. This is true, nothing will be the same. But it can be better. Sexual sin does not have to ruin your life or your marriage. It does not define who you are. This book offers the help and healing our Lord offers in understanding and overcoming the pain of a spouse's sexual sin. You will find the God who heals.

Inside Out

My Story of Betrayal and Cowardice at the Heart of New Labour

Author: Peter Watt

Publisher: Biteback Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Great Britain

Page: 210

View: 660

As General Secretary of the Labour Party, Peter Watt was at the heart of government and personally witnessed one of the most tumultuous periods in recent political history. 'Inside Out' is the ultimate insider expose: an intimate viewpoint onto the personalities at the heart of government.

The Heart of a Savage 2

Bloody Betrayal

Author: Jibril Williams

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 188

View: 910

Now that RICO is dead, the Red Bottom squad looks to monopolize the game, but many hurdles lie in their way. TATA struggles to keep the clique together after one of its members chose love over their vows of loyalty to one another. When treason creeps into their ranks, blood is no longer thicker than water. Meanwhile, WHIP has a hunger for building his Blood Nation, but he's distracted by his lust for the Red Bottom Squad's top diva. Will he slip up and allow Tata to be the death of him and the BN? Or will he remain a certified gangsta on a mission to achieve his lofty goals? In the middle of the brewing storms, PHATMAMA'S past slithers up on her like a snake in the grass. Will Phatmama find out who her coiling enemy is before they strike again and eliminate her entire crew? Or will the girls show The Heart of A Savage, as they eliminate one foe after the other?

The Heart Of Leadership

Unlock Your Inner Wisdom and Inspire Others

Author: Sabina Spencer

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 240

View: 216

We stand on the doorway of the Relationship Age, says Sabina Spencer. With rapid connections now possible through the internet and digital technology, we feel the links between us more strongly than ever before. Words like 'networks', 'alliances', 'partnerships' and 'communities' reflect our sense of connectedness and require a very different orientation to leadership. We can no longer operate with a divide and conquer mentality, putting self-interest above the common good. In this groundbreaking and thoughtful book, the author explains that there are seven keys we need to possess if we want to be a source of inspiration to others. She describes how we can: -Establish security -Generate passion -Share power -inspire love -Voice truth -Trust our intuition -Honour the mystery of life Only then will we be able to create a future that is enriching and sustainable for everyone.

The Heart of the Night

An epic wartime novel of passion, betrayal and danger

Author: Judith Lennox

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 378

View: 574

Across continents, through times of war and peace, love lives on... Judith Lennox delves into the world of the Russian aristocracy in her gripping wartime novel, The Heart of the Night. Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore and Kate Morton. 'I have fallen completely in love with Judith Lennox's writing - she's a fantastic storyteller!' Jill Mansell '[A] wonderfully creative tale of how ordinary people across Britain and Europe lived through an extraordinary time... The characters are in many ways so normal, yet in other ways so unbelievably wonderful, in this gripping and heartfelt story' - Newcastle Herald In the spring of 1936, Kay Garland embraces an exciting new life of glamour when she becomes companion to Russian Konstantin Denisov's daughter, Miranda. The two girls become firm friends, and when Miranda falls in love with a young Parisian, Kay helps her keep the relationship secret. But Konstantin learns of the affair and promptly dismisses Kay, leaving her penniless and stranded in Nazi Berlin. By chance she meets Tom Blacklock, who pays for her ticket home, and is destined to play an important part in her life. As for Miranda, she makes a decision that will put her in the path of disaster. With the outbreak of war come death and destruction and, for both women, consuming passion, along with the fear of losing all that they hold dear. After Hitler's defeat, there are new dangers - and opportunities to find love where least expected. What readers are saying about The Heart of the Night: 'Ms Lennox's writing is truly amazing, and creates characters that remain with me after the last page is turned. This is a book to lose yourself in' 'The book is beautifully written - the author evokes an atmosphere so that you feel as if you are actually there' 'The best Lennox novel'

Knowing the Heart of God

A Year of Devotional Readings to Help You Abide in Him

Author: John Eldredge

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 384

View: 715

Get close to the heart of God. Understanding God's heart is the key to understanding life. For, it is his heart that designed redemption through Jesus. From his heart sprang the beauty of world, the wonder of the universe, the creativity of all humankind, and a specific love for you. His heart is the blueprint of all human hearts, and knowing his heart reveals the origin of goodness and bounty he endowed to us. In Knowing the Heart of God, 365 entries will take you closer to our vastly amazing and tenderly intimate God. You will encounter a daily installment of encouragement and insight, guidance and wisdom to: Understand the heart of God and your own heart Discover the purpose of your heart's deep desires Unravel the dynamics between parents and children, husbands and wives Fight the spiritual battle for your heart Connect intimately with the Father each day And much, much more God longs for you to know his heart, to tap into his love and plans for you. He designed you to long for the same. Knowing the Heart of God will satisfy your hardwired need to know him and will take you?day by day?closer and closer to the God who loves you.

Roadmap to the Heart of God

Author: Nancy J McLoughlin

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 172

View: 747

This books twenty-three chapters, when taken with a big gulp of humility and swallowed with a huge dose of courage, will lead you on a wild, exciting adventure of coming to know the heart of the God of the universe. Each chapter covers a stand-alone topic that, when assimilated into your thought process, will lead you a step closer to finding that incredible place where you know and embrace the truth: that youre a treasured child of the Most High God. As you walk through each subject, reading it with an open heart, dissecting it through answering the questions, and seeking the wisdom of the Holy Spirit to put your new knowledge into practice, you will find yourself traveling on a collision course with an intense, perfect love. At last you will come into complete union with your Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace (Isaiah 9:6), the One your heart has longed for since time began. So, fasten your seatbelts and join me for the ride of your lifethe one that will open your eyes, turn your world upside down, scare you half to death, and bring you the best life God has to offer you!

Dance of Thieves

Author: Mary E. Pearson

Publisher: Henry Holt

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 512

View: 844

Set in the same universe as her "New York Times"Dbestselling Remnant Chronicles, Pearson delivers a new novel in which a reformed thief and the young leader of an outlaw dynasty lock wits in a battle that may cost them their lives--and their hearts.ts.