The Grave Thief

Book Three of The Twilight Reign

Author: Tom Lloyd

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 488

View: 483

For Isak, the time for heartless decisions and ruthless action has come if he is to save the Land from its oppressors ... Scree has been wiped from the face of the Land in a brutal demonstration of intent. While those responsible scatter to work on the next step in their plan, the stakes are raised - all the way to the heavens - as the Gods themselves enter the fray. Returning home to a nation divided by fanaticism, Lord Isak is haunted both by the consequences of his actions in Scree and by visions of his own impending death. As the full extent of Azaer's schemes become clearer, he realises prophecy and zealotry must play their part in his battle-plans if there is to be any chance of surviving the coming years. As a white-eye, Isak has had to embrace the darker parts of his own soul, but now the savage religious fervour sweeping his nation must also be accepted and turned to purpose, in the name of survival. With the battle lines vague and allegiances uncertain, the time for heartless decisions and ruthless action has come. Two figures oppose Isak and his allies: the greatest warrior in history, who dreams of empire and Godhood, and a newborn baby whose dreams have no limit.

The Bone Thief

A Body Farm Novel

Author: Jefferson Bass

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 639

“The Body Farm novels have become bestsellers because of their attention to the fine details of forensics combined with great plot lines.” —Deseret News (Salt Lake City) The latest Body Farm novel from New York Times bestseller Jefferson Bass, The Bone Thief is a must for fans of Patricia Cornwell and TV’s C.S.I. The hero of four previous thrillers—Carved in Bone, The Devil’s Bones, Flesh and Bone, and Bones of Betrayal—Dr. Bill Brockton must stop a grisly black market dealing in body parts and cadavers in this white-knuckle adventure written by the man widely considered to be the world’s foremost expert in forensic anthropology. Read The Bone Thief and discover why Kathy Reichs calls Bass, “The real deal.”

The Hero and the Grave

The Theme of Death in the Films of John Ford, Akira Kurosawa and Sergio Leone

Author: Alireza Vahdani

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 175

View: 174

The theme of death is an essential component of film narrative, particularly in how it affects the hero. Filmmakers from different cultures and backgrounds have developed distinct yet archetypal perspectives on death and the protagonist's response. Focusing on Western and Japanese period genre films, the author examines the work of John Ford (1894-1973), Akira Kurosawa (1910-1998) and Sergio Leone (1929-1989) and finds similarities regarding death's impact on the hero's sense of morality.

The Grave Encounter

Author: Solomon Odiase Iguanre

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: AIDS (Disease)

Page: 79

View: 421

The Thieves of Stonewood

Book I of the Stonewood Trilogy

Author: Jeremy Hayes

Publisher: Jeremy Hayes

ISBN:

Category: Fantasy fiction

Page: 314

View: 950

Welcome to Stonewood. A large and wealthy city where thieves, thugs, and assassins lurk behind every shadow. The powerful Thieves Guild controls the underworld and only members are permitted to commit crimes within their city. This is the tale of Harcourt, a down-on-his-luck thief who desperately needs to gain a membership into the Guild. Jalanna, the love of his life has been scarred in a terrible fire and a priest claims he can heal her scars, but for a hefty price in gold. A near-impossible amount to acquire for a homeless thief without a Guild membership. Luck is not on the rogue's side as his goal slips further and further out of reach. Forces conspire against him. Then a chance encounter on a fateful night, could change Harcourt's life forever.

Exit The Thief

Author: Danny Miller

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 100

When Vince Treadwell spots a famous jewel thief in Soho one night and the next day reads about a daring robbery at the Ritz, he takes it upon himself to investigate the case as the missing jewels belong to the beautiful French movie star Capuchine, with whom Vince is smitten. But it soon leads to murder - and he is the chief suspect. In prison and looking at a life sentence, Vince is offered a lifeline from his old friend at Interpol, Ray Dryden. He wants Vince to go undercover and return the jewels to the movie star, who is secretly dating hotshot producer, Carlo Messina. But in reality Messina is one of the biggest gangsters in Marseille , running a heroin pipeline to America. So after a daring prison escape, and armed with fake jewels, Vince finds himself on the French Riviera - and it just happens to be the eve of the 1965 Cannes film festival. Against the backdrop of movie star glamour, Vince soon finds himself embroiled in a deadly game of cat and mouse with the charismatic and psychotic criminal; a man for whom movies and reality are indivisible, and murder and mayhem are on the script.

The Book Thief: Enhanced Movie Tie-in Edition

Author: Markus Zusak

Publisher: RH Childrens Books

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 576

View: 397

DON’T MISS BRIDGE OF CLAY, MARKUS ZUSAK’S FIRST NOVEL SINCE THE BOOK THIEF. The extraordinary #1 New York Times bestselling story about the ability of books to feed the soul is now a major motion picture. This enhanced ebook edition is perfect for new fans and collectors alike. It includes: · An exclusive video welcome to the enhanced edition from Markus Zusak. · The official movie trailer for The Book Thief. · Videos featurettes introducing Sophie Nélisse (Leisel Meminger) and Geoffrey Rush (Hans Hubermann) and their roles in the film. · Clips from the film embedded in the original text. · A video interview with Markus Zusak. It is 1939. Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still. Liesel Meminger is a foster girl who scratches out a meager existence by stealing when she encounters something she can’t resist: books. With the help of her accordion-playing foster father, she learns to read and shares her stolen books with her neighbors during bombing raids, as well as with the Jewish man hidden in her basement. In superbly crafted writing that burns with intensity, award-winning author Markus Zusak, author of I Am the Messenger, has given us one of the most enduring stories of our time.

ISLA

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Latin America

Page:

View: 726

Clippings of Latin American political, social and economic news from various English language newspapers.