The Good Goodbye

A Novel

Author: Carla Buckley

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 682

For fans of Jodi Picoult comes an enthralling domestic thriller about the lies we tell, and let ourselves believe, in the name of love. The first thing you should know is that everyone lies. The second thing is that it matters. How well do we know our children? Natalie Falcone would say she knows her daughter, Arden, very well. Despite the challenges of running a restaurant and raising six-year-old twin boys, she’s not too worried as she sends her daughter off to college—until she gets the call that Arden’s been in a terrible fire, along with her best friend and cousin, Rory. Both girls are critically injured and another student has died. The police suspect arson. Arden and Rory have always been close, but they have secrets they’ve never shared, secrets that reel all the way back to their childhoods, and which led them to that tragic night. Who set the fire, and why? As the police dig deep into both the present and the past, Natalie realizes that in order to protect her daughter, she’ll first have to find out who Arden really is, even if it means risking everything—and everyone—she loves most. Praise for The Good Goodbye “A fluid, suspenseful story that keeps you turning the pages to find out what happened—and what will happen next. I devoured this novel.”—Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train “[Carla] Buckley’s writing is totally addictive. . . . Equal parts Judith Guest’s Ordinary People and Lisa Gardner at her best, this is a stupendous effort by a major talent.”—The Providence Journal “Offers plenty of thematic richness to accompany its suspenseful plot . . . [Readers] will find their thoughts returning to the story, especially its affecting final scenes, long after it comes to a close.”—Bookreporter “Each chapter reveals a tantalizing new detail that further complicates the cousins’ bond. . . . Buckley’s characters are well-developed and interesting.”—Publishers Weekly “A journey through two marriages and a lifelong competitive friendship . . . The mystery of the fire runs through it all. . . . For readers who enjoy Jodi Picoult’s family dramas.”—Booklist

Before I Say Goodbye

Author: Mary Higgins Clark

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 580

After her husband Adam is killed when his private boat explodes, Nell McDermot is thrown into a pit of grief. She wants answers and she wants more than anything to say goodbye - but both now seem impossible. That is, until a medium contacts her claiming to be Adam's channel. When the investigation proves the explosion was not an accident but a bomb, Nell goes to visit the medium. And, soon enough, she is receiving instructions from Adam from beyond the grave. Or is she? Haunted by grief, Nell undertakes the instructions - unaware that a terrifying chain of events is about to be unleashed. With a dangerous loop closing around her, Nell doesn't realise that she might be going to meet Adam a lot sooner than she thinks . . .

Good-bye Marianne

The Graphic Novel

Author: Irene N. Watts

Publisher: Tundra Books (NY)

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 124

View: 482

Tells the story of Marianne Kohn, an eleven-year-old Jewish girl in Berlin in 1938 who experiences the division in her homeland due to the Nazi regime, and who eventually boards a boat to take her to safety in London. Original.

The Long Good-bye

Author: Raymond Chandler

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 847

The Long Good-bye is a classic novel by Raymond Chandler, the master of hard-boiled crime. Down-and-out drunk Terry Lennox has a problem: his millionaire wife is dead and he needs to get out of LA fast. So he turns to his only friend in the world: Philip Marlowe, Private Investigator. He's willing to help a man down on his luck, but later, Lennox commits suicide in Mexico and things start to turn nasty. Marlowe finds himself drawn into a sordid crowd of adulterers and alcoholics in LA's Idle Valley, where the rich are suffering one big suntanned hangover. Marlowe is sure Lennox didn't kill his wife, but how many more stiffs will turn up before he gets to the truth? 'Anything Chandler writes about grips the mind from the first sentence' Daily Telegraph 'One of the greatest crime writers, who set standards others still try to attain' Sunday Times 'Chandler is an original stylist, creator of a character as immortal as Sherlock Holmes' Anthony Burgess Best-known as the creator of the original private eye, Philip Marlowe, Raymond Chandler was born in Chicago in 1888 and died in 1959. Many of his books have been adapted for the screen, and he is widely regarded as one of the very greatest writers of detective fiction. His books include The Big Sleep, The Little Sister, Farewell, My Lovely, The Long Good-bye, The Lady in the Lake, Playback, Killer in the Rain, The High Window and Trouble is My Business.

The Best Goodbye

A Rosemary Beach Novel

Author: Abbi Glines

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 156

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Abbi Glines comes the next sizzling novel in the Rosemary Beach series, featuring well-known playboy and Blaire’s half brother, Captain. The look on Rose’s face had screamed that she was hiding something. Hell, she’d practically run away from me. There was something to that. I knew there was... After ten years in the employ of a mysterious crime boss, River “Captain” Kipling is ready to leave his sordid past—and his cover occupation as an upscale restaurateur—behind him. The only thing standing in the way of his “retirement” is his commitment to launch a new restaurant in the resort town of Rosemary Beach. With his sister, Blaire, nearby, Captain can delay his dream of running a humble bar on the waterfront, but the unwanted attentions of his head server, Elle, have him itching to get out. Until he notices Rose Henderson, the new server at the restaurant. All he knows about the pretty redhead with the cute glasses is that she’s a hardworking single mom from Oklahoma. But there’s something overly familiar about her laugh...something strange about the way she looks at Captain...

The Deepest Secret

A Novel

Author: Carla Buckley

Publisher: Bantam

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 785

For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, The Deepest Secret is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we’re scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves. Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more. Twelve years ago, Eve Lattimore’s life changed forever. Her two-year-old son Tyler on her lap, her husband’s hand in hers, she waited for the child’s devastating diagnosis: XP, a rare genetic disease, a fatal sensitivity to sunlight. Eve remembers that day every morning as she hustles Tyler up the stairs from breakfast before the sun rises, locking her son in his room, curtains drawn, computer glowing, as he faces another day of virtual schooling, of virtual friendships. But every moment of vigilance is worth it. This is Eve’s job, to safeguard her boy against the light, to protect his fragile life each day, to keep him alive—maybe even long enough for a cure to be found. Tonight, Eve’s life is about to change again, forever. It’s only an instant on a rainy road—just a quick text as she sits behind the wheel—and another mother’s child lies dead in Eve’s headlights. The choice she faces is impossible: confess and be taken from Tyler, or drive away and start to lie like she’s never lied before. Praise for The Deepest Secret “A taut family drama . . . smart and thrilling.”—People “Elegant, poignant, and utterly riveting . . . a suspenseful tale of love, forgiveness, and sacrifice that will leave you asking how far a mother really should go to protect her family and wondering about the cost of the secrets we all keep, even from ourselves.”—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author of Reconstructing Amelia “Exceptionally moving and unrelentingly suspenseful . . . everything a great novel, and thriller, should be.”—Providence Journal “Superb . . . The story offers the intricate suspense and surprise of a thriller, along with rich characterizations and nuanced writing. . . . A gripping read and a memorable reflection on the conflicting imperatives of love.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) “Carla Buckley masterfully portrays an ordinary family trapped in a heart-wrenching crisis.”—William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob “Fans of Jodi Picoult will enjoy this compelling blend of ripped-from-the-headlines suspense and close-to-your-heart characters.”—Lisa Gardner, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fear Nothing From the Trade Paperback edition.

Goodbye, Columbus

Author: Philip Roth

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 315

View: 477

National Book Award Winner Philip Roth's brilliant career was launched when the unknown twenty-five-year-old writer won the Houghton Mifflin Literary Fellowship for a collection that was to be called Goodbye, Columbus, and which, in turn, captured the 1960 National Book Award. In the famous title story, perhaps the best college love story ever written, Radcliffe-bound Brenda Patimkin initiates Neil Klugman of Newark into a new and unsettling society of sex, leisure, and loss. Over the years, most of the other stories have become classics as well.

Goodbye, Janette

Author: Harold Robbins

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 617

Tanya and her daughters, Janette and Lauren, survive the tortures of prison camp in Europe in World War II to begin a life of high fashion and high society. Tanya plunges headlong into the world of haute couture, building her fortune as she entices men and immortalizes women. Lauren chooses a path of decadence, benefitting from the stunning beauty that makes her a star in the world of glamour and fashion. But her choice to get involved with dangerous people threatens to destroy her. Janette, meanwhile, conquers the demons of her childhood to become a powerful, wealthy, and successful fashion model. The lives of these three sensual and exciting women unfold in one of Harold Robbins' most shockingly erotic novels of all time.

No Time to Wave Goodbye

A Novel

Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 790

BONUS: This edition contains a No Time to Wave Goodbye discussion guide and an excerpt from Jacquelyn Mitchard's Second Nature. Twenty-two years have passed since Beth Cappadora’s three-year-old son, Ben, was abducted. By some miracle he returned nine years later, and the family began to pick up the pieces of their lives. Now, in this sequel to Mitchard’s beloved bestseller The Deep End of the Ocean, the Cappadora children are grown: Ben is married and has a baby girl, Kerry is studying to be an opera singer, and ne’er-do-well older son Vincent is a fledgling filmmaker. His new documentary—focusing on five families caught in the torturous web of never knowing the fate of their abducted children—shakes his parents to the core. As Vincent’s film earns greater and greater acclaim and Beth tries to stave off a torrent of long-submerged emotions, the Cappadoras’ world is rocked as Beth’s greatest fear becomes reality. The family is soon drawn precipitously into the past, revisiting the worst moment of their lives—this time with only hours to find the truth that can save a life. A spellbinding novel about family loyalty and love pushed to the limits of endurance, No Time to Wave Goodbye is Jacquelyn Mitchard at her best.