The Golden Age of Bicycle Racing in New Jersey

Author: Michael C. Gabriele

Publisher: History Press (SC)

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 126

View: 206

The Nutley Velodrome will present a complete history of cycling in northern New Jersey, featuring the Nutley Velodrome, the site of the final chapter of the golden age of cycling in the United States. The book seeks to shed light on a lost history of professional cycling, which had been a major spectator sport during the early decades of the 20th century. As such, it examines the culture and noteworthy figures of this period in northern New Jersey. The story of the Nutley Velodrome is that it is the final chapter in cycling's golden era. It is, quite literally, where and when the golden age came to an end. It is a lost" history, which is why the story needs to be told."

Hearts of Lions

The History of American Bicycle Racing

Author: Peter Joffre Nye

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 576

View: 856

Heart of Lions recounts the development of bicycle racing in the United States, explains why its popularity faded, and profiles major American cyclists from the past through the 2016 Rio Olympics.

A History of Modern Tourism

Author: Eric Zuelow

Publisher: Macmillan International Higher Education

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 304

View: 946

Tourism as we know it is a surprisingly modern concept, both a product of modernity and a force helping to shape it. From the British Grand Tour in the sixteenth century to the onset of contemporary mass tourism, travel has played a crucial role in the rise of globalization and the development of the modern world.

The World's Fastest Man

The Extraordinary Life of Cyclist Major Taylor, America's First Black Sports Hero

Author: Michael Kranish

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 384

View: 198

In the tradition of The Boys in the Boat and Seabiscuit, a fascinating portrait of a groundbreaking but forgotten figure—the remarkable Major Taylor, the black man who broke racial barriers by becoming the world’s fastest and most famous bicyclist at the height of the Jim Crow era. In the 1890s, the nation’s promise of equality had failed spectacularly. While slavery had ended with the Civil War, the Jim Crow laws still separated blacks from whites, and the excesses of the Gilded Age created an elite upper class. Amidst this world arrived Major Taylor, a young black man who wanted to compete in the nation’s most popular and mostly white man’s sport, cycling. Birdie Munger, a white cyclist who once was the world’s fastest man, declared that he could help turn the young black athlete into a champion. Twelve years before boxer Jack Johnson and fifty years before baseball player Jackie Robinson, Taylor faced racism at nearly every turn—especially by whites who feared he would disprove their stereotypes of blacks. In The World’s Fastest Man, years in the writing, investigative journalist Michael Kranish reveals new information about Major Taylor based on a rare interview with his daughter and other never-before-uncovered details from Taylor’s life. Kranish shows how Taylor indeed became a world champion, traveled the world, was the toast of Paris, and was one of the most chronicled black men of his day. From a moment in time just before the arrival of the automobile when bicycles were king, the populace was booming with immigrants, and enormous societal changes were about to take place, The World’s Fastest Man shines a light on a dramatic moment in American history—the gateway to the twentieth century.

Wheel Fever

How Wisconsin Became a Great Bicycling State

Author: Jesse J. Gant

Publisher: Wisconsin Historical Society

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 256

View: 801

On rails-to-trails bike paths, city streets, and winding country roads, the bicycle seems ubiquitous in the Badger State. Yet there’s a complex and fascinating history behind the popularity of biking in Wisconsin—one that until now has never been told. Meticulously researched through periodicals and newspapers, Wheel Fever traces the story of Wisconsin’s first “bicycling boom,” from the velocipede craze of 1869 through the “wheel fever” of the 1890s. It was during this crucial period that the sport Wisconsinites know and adore first took shape. From the start it has been defined by a rich and often impassioned debate over who should be allowed to ride, where they could ride, and even what they could wear. Many early riders embraced the bicycle as a solution to the age-old problem of how to get from here to there in the quickest and easiest way possible. Yet for every supporter of the “poor man’s horse,” there were others who wanted to keep the rights and privileges of riding to an elite set. Women, the working class, and people of color were often left behind as middle- and upper-class white men benefitted from the “masculine” sport and all-male clubs and racing events began to shape the scene. Even as bikes became more affordable and accessible, a culture defined by inequality helped create bicycling in its own image, and these limitations continue to haunt the sport today. Wheel Fever is about the origins of bicycling in Wisconsin and why those origins still matter, but it is also about our continuing fascination with all things bicycle. From “boneshakers” to high-wheels, standard models to racing bikes, tandems to tricycles, the book is lushly illustrated with never-before-seen images of early cycling, and the people who rode them: bloomer girls, bicycle jockeys, young urbanites, and unionized workers. Laying the foundations for a much-beloved recreation, Wheel Fever challenges us to imagine anew the democratic possibilities that animated cycling’s early debates.

The History of Diners in New Jersey

Author: Michael C. Gabriele

Publisher: History Press (SC)

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 156

View: 821

The history of diners in New Jersey, including the importance of diners to Jersey culture and the role of the Garden State in diner manufacturing.

Stories from New Jersey Diners

Monuments to Community

Author: Michael C Gabriele

Publisher: History Press Library Editions

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 210

View: 431

Diners are where communities across the Garden State go to celebrate milestones, form lifetime bonds and take comfort in food. Daily life at the counter or in the booth inspires sentimental recollections that reflect the state's spirit and history. Late-night eats fueled Wildwood's wild rock-and-roll days. An entrepreneur traveled eight thousand miles from India and opened a diner in Shamong. From an impromptu midnight wedding in an Elizabeth lunch wagon to a Vietnam veteran sustained by a heartfelt note from a beloved Mount Holly waitress, these are true tales from the soul of New Jersey. Author Michael C. Gabriele documents colorful stories from the Diner Capital of the World.

Cycling

Author: Alison Cotter

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 112

View: 980

Presents the history of the sport of cycling, including equipment, personalities, and developments in the sport.

Sports Market Place

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Athletics

Page:

View: 844

The premier reference book for everything and everybody related to the sports industry.

The Tour de France Complete Book of Cycling

Author: David Chauner

Publisher: Random House Incorporated

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 235

View: 850

A comprehensive guide to the sport of cycling discusses training regimens, bicycle maintenance and repair, body positions and biomechanics, bike tours, and injury prevention, and includes tips from the pros

Major

A Black Athlete, a White Era, and the Fight to be the World's Fastest Human Being

Author: Todd Balf

Publisher: Crown

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 306

View: 502

A portrait of turn-of-the-twentieth-century cyclist Major Taylor, America's first great African-American sports celebrity, describes his remarkable sports career, his virtuous and devout lifestyle, and his competition with such white rivals as Floyd McFarland. 25,000 first printing.

American Sports

From the Age of Folk Games to the Age of Televised Sports

Author: Benjamin G. Rader

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Sports

Page: 344

View: 386

The Fourth Edition of this book offers a gracefully written, analytical history of American sports from the colonial era to the present. It gives special attention to the historical relationship between sports and such major social cleavages as class, race, ethnicity, gender, and region as well as the power that sports have exercised in binding diverse peoples together.

Two Wheel Travel

Bicycle Camping and Touring

Author: Peter W. Tobey

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Bicycle touring

Page: 192

View: 936

The Bicycling Book

Transportation, Recreation, Sport

Author: John Krausz

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Cycling

Page: 280

View: 495