The Girl with the Dragon Heart

Author: Stephanie Burgis

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 240

View: 615

Once upon a time, in a beautiful city famous for chocolate and protected by dragons, there was a girl so fearless that she dared to try to tell the greatest story of all: the truth. Silke has always been good at spinning the truth and storytelling. So good that since arriving as a penniless orphan, she has found her way up to working for the most splendid chocolate makers in the city (oh, and becoming best friends with a dragon). Now her gift for weaving words has caught the eye of the royal family, who want to use her as a spy when the mysterious and dangerous fairy royal family announces it will visit the city. But Silke has her own dark, secret reasons for not trusting fairies ... Can Silke find out the truth about the fairies while keeping her own secrets hidden? From the author of the magical The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart comes a second magical adventure perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell and Cornelia Funke

Dragon Heart

Author: Peter Higgins

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 374

The great war ended with the death of the legendary dragon Vespertine. The last gambit failed the wizards lost, and now a final sickness leaks into the earth. There is no stopping it. it unfolds south as a bruise upon the sky, and forces Castrel and Shay from their small home days before their baby arrives. Now they wander, seeking food, seeking shelter, always trying to keep their daughter Hope safe. And then they come upon the dragon. Vespertine. It is colossal, it is humbling, it is still. When Hope begins to change soon after, Castrel and Shay's promise to keep their daughter alive is set to become even harder, and so much more important. For now she has the heart of the dragon, and - while a dragon still breathes - there is hope for new life in this ending world.

The Glow of the Dragon's Heart

Author: Willa Hart

Publisher: Willa Hart

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 101

View: 449

Who knew dragons could be so…hot? I grew up as a trashbag kid. I don’t want to even try counting how many foster homes I’ve lived in since I was orphaned at the age of five. When some long-lost relatives take me in during my last year in the system, I’m careful to remain on my best behavior. Finding family and living happily ever after has always been a secret fantasy, so getting the boot would be devastating. But these perfect strangers are turning out to be perfectly strange. Like when they tell me dragons are real and my great-aunt’s husband just happens to be one. Um… But before I can pack my few belongings and bolt, I see the evidence with my own eyes. Then I catch sight of my new uncle’s five gorgeous nephews and decide…maybe dragons aren’t so bad after all. The Glow of the Dragon's Heart is the prequel to the Harem of Fire series.

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo #2

(The Millennium Trilogy)

Author: Sylvain Runberg

Publisher: Titan Comics

ISBN:

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 68

View: 342

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Calibri} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Calibri; min-height: 14.0px} Hired to investigate an unresolved missing person’s case, discredited journalist Mikael Blomkvist headed to Hedeby Island in order to further explore the various twists and turns of the Vanger family history. Aided by the brilliant but deeply troubled hacktivist Lisbeth Salander, Blomkvist soon discovered a link between the disappearance and a brutal trail of murder, deception and dark secrets leading right to the heart of the Vanger family. But can the two investigators track down the culprit before another victim surfaces?

Emily de Dragonheart

Courier

Author: Ruth Ridgeway

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 180

View: 329

Emily Drayhart was taken from school under false pretenses. She thought she was going to visit her mother in a hospital halfway across the country. Instead she was escorted through a time tunnel and becomes Emily de Dragonheart: Courier. the time change is back to sixteen hundred eighty only with a twist. There were dragons, trolls, and a bounty of unbelievable adventure to overcome. She was given an egg, a dragon egg, and put on an impossible mission of transporting it through territory that was fi lled with obstacles. It was her task to deliver this egg to the Underworld for the battle of: Good and Evil before the egg hatches and becomes imprinted with her. Stay with Emily as her unknown past unfolds exposing mysterious secrets. Immerse yourself in the varied facets that legends are woven from as she carries her burden in a time she never knew existed.

Stieg Larsson

The Man Behind The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Author: Kurdo Baksi

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 192

View: 227

WHO IS STIEG LARSSON? The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. The Girl Who Played with Fire. The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. In 2005, Lisbeth Salander exploded as a cultural icon, captivating fans around the world, first in the bestselling suspense novels and later in the film adaptations. But what of her creator? Stieg Larsson—the man behind the Millennium Trilogy phenomenon— died tragically of a heart attack on the eve of the first book’s publication, leaving a brilliant legacy soon shrouded in mystery and controversy. Now, fellow journalist and activist Kurdo Baksi—who worked closely with Larsson for a decade and appears as himself in Larsson’s fiction—presents a heart-piercing tribute to a close friend that is also a clearheaded analysis of a complex man. This memoir is a candid attempt to answer many questions about Larsson, including: his upbringing; the death threats from neo-Nazi groups that plagued both Larsson’s and Baksi’s daily lives; Larsson’s insomnia and prodigious capacity for work . . . and his stubborn dogmatism when he felt he was right, an uncompromising side that could—and often did—lead him into trouble. Baksi sheds light on some of the dark memories that fueled Larsson’s writing, offers powerful insight into his influences, and describes how elements of this brilliant but secretive man are reflected in his iconic characters. Already controversial, Baksi’s story is gathering praise and criticism from Larsson’s family, from fans, and from reviewers worldwide. This eloquent but troubling window into his life may raise as many questions as it answers, but it is a must-read for any fan of the Millennium Trilogy.

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

Author: Stieg Larsson

Publisher: MacLehose Press

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 544

View: 803

Forty years ago, Harriet Vanger disappeared from a family gathering on the island owned and inhabited by the powerful Vanger clan. Her body was never found, yet her uncle is convinced it was murder - and that the killer is a member of his own tightly knit but dysfunctional family. He employs disgraced financial journalist Mikael Blomkvist and the tattooed, truculent computer hacker Lisbeth Salander to investigate. When the pair link Harriet's disappearance to a number of grotesque murders from forty years ago, they begin to unravel a dark and appalling family history. But the Vangers are a secretive clan, and Blomkvist and Salander are about to find out just how far they are prepared to go to protect themselves.

Corporate Medievalism

Author: Karl Fugelso

Publisher: D. S. Brewer

ISBN:

Category: Literary Collections

Page: 210

View: 122

Essays on the post-modern reception and interpretation of the middle ages, with a particular focus on its relationship with business and finance.

The Girl Who Played with Fire

Book Two Of The Millennuim Trilogy

Author: Stieg Larsson

Publisher: Penguin Canada

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 752

View: 574

The electrifying follow-up to the phenomenal best seller The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. The fierce heart of this novel is Lisbeth Salander: the troubled, wise-beyond-her-years genius hacker who teamed up with crusading journalist Mikael Blomkvist in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. This time, Lisbeth is implicated in a murder: her fingerprints found on the weapon used to kill two journalists the night before their explosive story about sex trafficking in Sweden was set to be published. Now, while Blomkvist—alone in his belief in her innocence—plunges into his own investigation of the slayings, Lisbeth is drawn into a hunt in which she is the prey, and which compels her to revisit her dark past in an effort to settle with it once and for all.

The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart

Author: Stephanie Burgis

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 240

View: 714

Aventurine is the fiercest, bravest kind of dragon, and she's ready to prove it to her family by leaving the safety of their mountain cave and capturing the most dangerous prey of all: a human. But when the human she captures tricks her into drinking enchanted hot chocolate, she finds herself transformed into a puny human girl with tiny blunt teeth, no fire, and not one single claw. She's still the fiercest creature in these mountains though – and now she's found her true passion: chocolate! All she has to do is walk on two feet to the human city, find herself an apprenticeship (whatever that is) in a chocolate house (which sounds delicious), and she'll be conquering new territory in no time ... won't she? Wild and reckless young Aventurine will bring havoc to the human city – but what she doesn't expect is that she'll find real friendship there too, along with betrayal, deception, scrumptious chocolate and a startling new understanding of what it means to be a human (and a dragon). A pinch of Ella Enchanted, a sprinkling of How to Train your Dragon and a generous helping of Eva Ibbotsen –The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart is entirely delicious.