The Girl With All the Gifts

Author: M. R. Carey

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 398

In the ruins of civilization, a young girl's kindness and capacity for love will either save humanity -- or wipe it out in this USA Today bestselling thriller Joss Whedon calls "heartfelt, remorseless, and painfully human." Melanie is a very special girl. Dr Caldwell calls her "our little genius." Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant keeps his gun pointed at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don't like her. She jokes that she won't bite, but they don't laugh. The Girl With All the Gifts is a genre-defying, emotionally charged thriller that will shatter your expectations of the classic zombie novel. For more from M. R. Carey, check out:Someone Like MeFellsideThe Boy on the Bridge By the same author, writing as Mike Carey: The Devil You Know Vicious Circle Dead Men's Boots Thicker Than Water The Naming of the Beasts

The Girl With All the Gifts: by M. R. Carey | Conversation Starters

Author: dailyBooks

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 186

The Girl With All the Gifts: By M. R. Carey | Conversation Starters A Brief Look Inside: The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R. Carey takes place in a world divided by hungries, junkers, and humans after a fungus has been released into the world. Melanie, a child hungry with a genius-level IQ, lives at a military base where Dr. Caldwell is trying to find a cure or vaccine to the fungus' effect. Melanie develops a strong bond with her teacher, behavioral psychologist Helen Justineau. Melanie's life is about to change forever when Dr. Caldwell brings her into the laboratory to test a new treatment on her. The Girl with All the Gifts has received the Audie Award in 2015. It was nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award for Horror in 2014. In 2015, it was nominated for the Arthur C. Clarke Award, British Fantasy Award for August Derleth Award, and the James Herbert Award. EVERY GOOD BOOK CONTAINS A WORLD FAR DEEPER than the surface of its pages. The characters and its world come alive, and even after the last page of the book is closed, the story still lives on, inciting questions and curiosity. Conversation Starters is peppered with questions designed to bring us beneath the surface of the page and invite us into this world that continues to lives on. These questions can be used to… Create Hours of Conversation: • Foster a deeper understanding of the book • Promote an atmosphere of discussion for groups • Assist in the study of the book, either individually or corporately • Explore unseen realms of the book as never seen before Disclaimer: This book you are about to enjoy is an independent resource to supplement the original book, enhancing your experience of The Girl With All the Gifts. If you have not yet purchased a copy of the original book, please do before purchasing this unofficial Conversation Starters.

The Girl in the Silver Mask

Author: Dale Rominger

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 238

View: 918

Drake Ramsey is a successful author who has just moved to New Orleans to be with his love, the brilliant and now pregnant Zuri Manyika. While Zuri works as a professor at Loyola University, Drake spends his days in Treme Coffeehouse, contemplating a sequel without a clue his world is about to be turned upside down. Drakes horizons expand when his new friend, Adam Boateng, relays stories of life in early New Orleans that strangely hint he may have been there himself. After Drake invites his old buddy, Gerard Schleiermacher, to join them for Halloween, he looks forward to experiencing New Orleans at its most outrageous. But just as they learn that Zuris old Zimbabwean adversary has escaped from prison, Adam becomes a suspect in a murder. Now Drake is left to speculate if Adam is capable of killing, if the vengeful prisoner is guilty, or if a voodoo priest is responsible. As Drake, Zuri, and Gerard risk their lives in pursuit of the truth, bayous and beignets interweave with second lines and graveyards as a vampire lurks in the shadows. Will Drake ever find the killer? In this gripping mystery, a best-selling author transforms into an amateur sleuth intent on finding a murderer after a wild Halloween in New Orleans.

The Book of Koli

Author: M. R. Carey

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 533

The first in a gripping new trilogy, The Book of Koli charts the journey of one unforgettable young boy struggling to find his place in a chilling post-apocalyptic world. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and Annihilation. Beyond the walls of the small village of Mythen Rood lies an unrecognizable world. A world where overgrown forests are filled with choker trees and deadly vines and seeds that will kill you where you stand. And if they don't get you, one of the dangerous shunned men will. Koli has lived in Mythen Rood his entire life. He knows the first rule of survival is that you don't venture beyond the walls. What he doesn't know is -- what happens when you aren't given a choice? For more from M. R. Carey, check out:The Girl With All the GiftsFellsideThe Boy on the BridgeSomeone Like Me By the same author, writing as Mike Carey: The Devil You Know Vicious Circle Dead Men's Boots Thicker Than Water The Naming of the Beasts

Someone Like Me

Author: M. R. Carey

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 464

A naïve divorced mother of two faces the darkest parts of herself in this heart-stopping thriller from the author of USA Today bestseller, The Girl With All the Gifts. Liz Kendall wouldn't hurt a fly. Even when times get tough, she's devoted to bringing up her two kids in a loving home. But there's another side to Liz---one that's dark and malicious. She will do anything to get her way, no matter how extreme. And when this other side of her takes control, the consequences are devastating. Love her or hate her: there are two sides to every story... For more from M. R. Carey, check out:The Girl With All the GiftsFellsideThe Boy on the Bridge By the same author, writing as Mike Carey: The Devil You Know Vicious Circle Dead Men's Boots Thicker Than Water The Naming of the Beasts

The Devil You Know

A Felix Castor Novel

Author: Mike Carey

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 740

Felix Castor is a freelance exorcist, and London is his stamping ground. At a time when the supernatural world is in upheaval and spilling over into the mundane reality of the living, his skills have never been more in demand. A good exorcist can charge what he likes - and enjoy a hell of a life-style - but there's a risk: sooner or later he's going to take on a spirit that's too strong for him. After a year spent in 'retirement' Castor is reluctantly drawn back to the life he rejected and accepts a seemingly simple exorcism case - just to pay the bills, you understand. Trouble is, the more he discovers about the ghost haunting the archive, the more things don't add up. What should have been a perfectly straightforward exorcism is rapidly turning into the Who Can Kill Castor First Show, with demons, were-beings and ghosts all keen to claim the big prize. But that's OK; Castor knows how to deal with the dead. It's the living who piss him off . . .

Wonderland: An Anthology

Author: M. R. Carey

Publisher: Titan Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 552

From the greatest names in fantasy and horror comes an anthology of stories inspired by Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Join Alice as she is thrown into the whirlwind of Wonderland Within these pages you’ll find myriad approaches to Alice, from horror to historical, taking us from the nightmarish reaches of the imagination to tales that will shock, surprise and tug on the heart-strings. So, it’s time now to go down the rabbit hole, or through the looking-glass or... But no, wait. By picking up this book and starting to read it you’re already there, can’t you see? Brand-new works from the best in fantastical fiction M.R. CAREY MARK CHADBOURN GENEVIEVE COGMAN JONATHAN GREEN ALISON LITTLEWOOD JAMES LOVEGROVE L.L. McKINNEY GEORGE MANN JULIET MARILLIER LAURA MAURO CAT RAMBO LILITH SAINTCROW CAVAN SCOTT ROBERT SHEARMAN ANGELA SLATTER CATRIONA WARD JANE YOLEN RIO YOUERS

Vicious Circle

A Felix Castor Novel

Author: Mike Carey

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 965

Castor has reluctantly returned to exorcism after the case of the Bonnington Archive ghost convinced him that he really can do some good with his abilities ('good', of course, being a relative term when dealing with the undead). But his friend, Rafi, is still possessed; the succubus, Ajulutsikael (Juliet to her friends), still technically has a contract on him; and he's still - let's not beat around the bush - dirt poor. Doing some consulting for the local constabulary helps pay the bills, but Castor needs a big, private job to really fill the hole in his overdraft. That's what he needs. What he gets, good fortune and Castor not being on speaking terms, is a seemingly insignificant 'missing ghost' case that inexorably drags himself and his loved ones into the middle of a horrific plot to raise one of Hell's fiercest demons. And when Satanists, sacrifice farms, stolen spirits and possessed churches all appear on the same police report, the name of Felix Castor can't be too far behind . . .

Dead Men's Boots

Author: Mike Carey

Publisher: Orbit

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 355

Author of The Girl With All the Gifts Mike Carey presents the third book in his hip supernatural thriller series featuring freelance exorcist Felix Castor. You might think that helping a friend's widow to stop a lawyer from stealing her husband's corpse would be the strangest thing on your To Do list. But life is rarely that simple for Felix Castor. A brutal murder in the heart of London bears all the hallmarks of a long-dead American serial killer, and it takes more good sense than Castor possesses not to get involved. He's also fighting a legal battle over the body - if not the soul - of his possessed friend, Rafi, and can't shake the feeling that his three problems might be related. With the help of the succubus Juliet and paranoid zombie data-fence Nicky Heath, Castor just might have a chance of fitting the pieces together before someone drops him down an elevator shaft or rips his throat out. Or not.... The Felix Castor NovelsThe Devil You KnowVicious CircleDead Men's BootsThicker than WaterThe Naming of the Beasts By the same author, writing as M. R. Carey: The Girl With All the Gifts Fellside The Boy on the Bridge