The Fourth Crow

Author: Pat McIntosh

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 366

The crows are gathering above Glasgow, watching the movements of the clergy and townspeople alike... Tied to St Mungo's Cross by the cathedral to be cured of her madness overnight by the saint, the young woman is found in the morning beaten and strangled, still tied to the cross. But is she who she seems to be? And who would flout the saint's protection like this? Gil Cunningham must trace the dead woman and find her enemies, track down the thieves and murderers and identify the watchers in the shadows, particularly the elusive fourth person who holds the secret of what happened that night. Questioning cathedral staff and apprentice boys, pilgrims and tradesmen, he uncovers only more puzzles. And then there is another death. How is it connected to the first? While his wife Alys deals with the tensions within their family, Gil has to untangle the threads of the mystery to find the solution to all the crimes.

The Merciful Crow

Author: Margaret Owen

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company (BYR)

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 384

View: 678

A Tor.com Best of 2019 Pick A 2020 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick Debut author Margaret Owen crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, survival, and sacrifice—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake—in The Merciful Crow. "Packed to the teeth with fresh worldbuilding and righteous fury...It's a ride that is wildly fun."—Emily A. Duncan, New York Times-bestselling author of Wicked Saints "Rich, harrowing, and unafraid to tackle discrimination—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Tomi Adeyemi."—Kirkus, Starred Review One way or another, we always feed the crows. A future chieftain Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime. A fugitive prince When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses—and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns. A too-cunning bodyguard Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’s life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own?

Higher Education in the Era of the Fourth Industrial Revolution

Author: Nancy W. Gleason

Publisher: Springer

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 229

View: 361

This open access collection examines how higher education responds to the demands of the automation economy and the fourth industrial revolution. Considering significant trends in how people are learning, coupled with the ways in which different higher education institutions and education stakeholders are implementing adaptations, it looks at new programs and technological advances that are changing how and why we teach and learn. The book addresses trends in liberal arts integration of STEM innovations, the changing role of libraries in the digital age, global trends in youth mobility, and the development of lifelong learning programs. This is coupled with case study assessments of the various ways China, Singapore, South Africa and Costa Rica are preparing their populations for significant shifts in labour market demands – shifts that are already underway. Offering examples of new frameworks in which collaboration between government, industry, and higher education institutions can prevent lagging behind in this fast changing environment, this book is a key read for anyone wanting to understand how the world should respond to the radical technological shifts underway on the frontline of higher education.

The Gift of the Face

Portraiture and Time in Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian

Author: Shamoon Zamir

Publisher: UNC Press Books

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 352

View: 774

Edward S. Curtis's The North American Indian is the most ambitious photographic and ethnographic record of Native American cultures ever produced. Published between 1907 and 1930 as a series of twenty volumes and portfolios, the work contains more than two thousand photographs intended to document the traditional culture of every Native American tribe west of the Mississippi. Many critics have claimed that Curtis's images present Native peoples as a "vanishing race," hiding both their engagement with modernity and the history of colonial violence. But in this major reappraisal of Curtis's work, Shamoon Zamir argues instead that Curtis's photography engages meaningfully with the crisis of culture and selfhood brought on by the dramatic transformations of Native societies. This crisis is captured profoundly, and with remarkable empathy, in Curtis's images of the human face. Zamir also contends that we can fully understand this achievement only if we think of Curtis's Native subjects as coauthors of his project. This radical reassessment is presented as a series of close readings that explore the relationship of aesthetics and ethics in photography. Zamir's richly illustrated study resituates Curtis's work in Native American studies and in the histories of photography and visual anthropology.

SAMY'S STORIES FOR KIDS

Author: KULANDAISAMI S.M.

Publisher: PartridgeIndia

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 104

View: 986

If animals in children's stories could talk and walk, why can't they post letters, too? THE JUNGLE LETTERBOX, one of the 25 titles in this Book, tells you all about it. What could be a funnier misadventure than this one of a man who steps on the leg of a sleeping street dog and then bends to touch the animal's body to say sorry as it wakes up growling? This happens to KUPPANDI, the hero of A FUNNY MISADVENTURE. While filling out a Karate class admission application form for a boy, his neighbour puts the kid's birthtime height and weight against the relevant query simply because the information to be furnished comes next to date of birth of the applicant! 'HEIGHT AND WEIGHT' is that story. Want to know about planned escapes, daring self-rescues, eccentric ideas of cheapness and of buying platform tickets for rail passengers arriving with train tickets, crazy notion about faulty gear stick in a bus, etc.? You may find a lot of such like funny and thrilling happenings in stories like A PLANNED ESCAPE, CATCH ME IF YOU CAN, KUPPANDI'S FIRST BUS RIDE, KUPPANDI BUYS FOUR PLATFORM TICKETS, RAJA PLANS HIS OWN RESCUE, KUPPANDI'S IDEA OF CHEAPNESS, PARROT IN A SWING, MURUGAN'S DARING ESCAPE, etc.!

Ring Game

Author: Pete Hautman

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 452

View: 551

Directed by a family friend who wants him to investigate his daughter's fiance, ex-cop Joe Crow finds himself caught in the middle of a conflict between the would-be groom and the man's murderous cult. Reprint.