The Fighting Littles

Author: Booth Tarkington

Publisher: Good Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 190

View: 714

"The Fighting Littles" by Booth Tarkington. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.

Love and the Fighting Female

A Critical Study of Onscreen Depictions

Author: Allison P. Palumbo

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 245

View: 547

The fighting female archetype--a self-reliant woman of great physical prowess--has become increasingly common in action films and on television. However, the progressive female identities of these narratives cannot always resist the persistent and problematic framing of male-female relationships as a battle of the sexes or other source of antagonism. Combining cultural analysis with close readings of key popular American film and television texts since the 1980s, this study argues that certain fighting female themes question regressive conventions in male-female relationships. Those themes reveal potentially progressive ideologies regarding female agency in mass culture that reassure audiences of the desirability of empowered women while also imagining egalitarian intimacies that further empower women. Overall, the fighting female narratives addressed here afford contradictory viewing pleasures that reveal both new expectations for and remaining anxieties about the "strong, independent woman" ideal that emerged in American popular culture post-feminism.

Tomahawk, Fighting Horse of the Old West

Author: Thomas C. Hinkle

Publisher: DigiCat

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 115

View: 137

DigiCat Publishing presents to you this special edition of "Tomahawk, Fighting Horse of the Old West" by Thomas C. Hinkle. DigiCat Publishing considers every written word to be a legacy of humankind. Every DigiCat book has been carefully reproduced for republishing in a new modern format. The books are available in print, as well as ebooks. DigiCat hopes you will treat this work with the acknowledgment and passion it deserves as a classic of world literature.

Fighting Lady Jayne

Divinity Warriors Book 2

Author: Michelle M. Pillow

Publisher: The Raven Books LLC

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 346

View: 164

"It is in me to run and it is in you to capture." Jayne Hart has earned her independence by becoming Divinity Corporation’s inter-dimensional boxing champion. Life is great, until a dirty fighter knocks her unconscious and she loses everything. Now, abandoned by the corporation in an alternate reality filled with alpha male warriors and strange marriage customs, Jayne will use every weapon she has. Even if it means running from her sexy new “husband” and spending the rest of her life in a primitive forest. Ronen of Firewall longs for a woman to warm his bed and his home, but he had no intention of choosing a bride. In an unprecedented move, one chooses him. Never in the history of the marriage ceremony has a woman dared to lay claim. How can he resist the alluring Lady Jayne? She’s confident and sure in her decision to be with him—until their wedding night when she’s nowhere to be found. But, Ronen is not one to shy from a battle. He will find Jayne and, when he does, he will do everything he can to tame the heart of his wayward wife. Book Two of the Divinity Warriors series: Alternate Reality/Parallel Universe Romance by NYT & USAT Bestseller, Michelle M. Pillow ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________ About the Divinity Warriors Series In a land forever at war, meeting women is the last thing they can think about, so what's a lonely alpha warrior to do? Praise For Fighting Lady Jayne 5 Stars! "Favorite quote and it also sums up their courtship, Jayne to Ronen. 'It is in me to run and it is in you to capture.'" Jeep Diva Reviews 4.5 Nymphs! "Michelle M. Pillow's characters are full of wit, charm, and sensual qualities. ... recommend Fighting Lady Jayne to those who enjoy knights who know how to treat their woman and the woman who keep them on their toes." Literary Nymphs Review 4.5 Stars! "Ms. Pillow again gifts us with a strong and capable woman who shows determination in her decisions to follow her heart and her mind by loving the sexy and devoted man who has claimed her. This series is an example of true love at first sight between courageous women and the warrior men who love them." Bitten by Books 4 Angels! "Michelle M. Pillow has done a fabulous job of continuing the Divinity Warriors series with Fighting Lady Jayne. ...Ms. Pillow gives us a whole new world to discover with unique characters and an explosive story will have readers running back for more. Fighting Lady Jayne is a fast-paced fantasy romance that will take readers on a wild ride. I truly enjoyed Fighting Lady Jayne and I cannot wait to see what will happen next in this series." Sonya, Fallen Angel Reviews Divinity Warriors series: Lilith Enraptured Fighting Lady Jayne Keeping Paige Taking Karre Divinity Healers series (connected series, part of the Divinity World): Ariella’s Keeper Seducing Cecilia Linnea’s Arrangement Genre: nobility, alternate reality romance, action and adventure, Parallel Universe, paranormal, alpha male, warrior romance books, bad boy hero, Damaged Hero, hero knight, kick ass heroine, kick butt chick, legends, military, warrior, soldier, special ops, pirate, thief, royalty, corruption, Portal Travel, fated mates, fantasy, first contact, futuristic, time travel, hea, sfr, romantic adventure, sci-fi, science fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy, space exploration, Alternate History, arranged marriage, boxer, sports romance, knight, lady, medieval type society, war and battle. If you enjoy this series, you'll enjoy Michelle's other sci-fi romance series: Dragon Lords, Lords of the Var®, Space Lords, Captured by a Dragon-shifter, Galaxy Alien Mail Order Brides, Dynasty Lords, Qurilixen Lords, and more.

The Fighting Irish

The Story of the Extraordinary Irish Soldier

Author: Tim Newark

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 288

View: 861

"Tells the story of the Irish fighting man with wit, clarity, and scholarship." —Andrew Roberts, author of The Storm of War For hundreds of years, Irish soldiers have sought their destiny abroad. Wherever they've traveled, whichever side of the battlefield they've stood, the tales of their exploits have never been forgotten. Leaving his birthplace, the Irish soldier has traveled with hope, often seeking to bring a liberating revolution to his fellow countrymen. In search of adventure the Fighting Irish have been found in all corners of the world. Some sailed to America and joined in frontier fighting, others demonstrated their loyalty to their adopted homeland in the bloody combats of the American Civil War, as well as campaigns against the British Empire in Canada and South Africa. The Irish soldier can also be found in the thick of war during the twentieth century—facing slaughter at the Somme, desperate last-stands in the Congo—and, more recently, in Iraq and Afghanistan. In The Fighting Irish, Tim Newark tells their tales in the dramatic words of the soldiers themselves, gathered from diaries, letters, journals, and interviews with veterans in Ireland and across the world.

Fighting from Home

The Second World War in Verdun, Quebec

Author: Serge Durflinger

Publisher: UBC Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 296

View: 497

In Verdun, English and French speakers lived side by side. Through their home-front activities as much as through enlistment, they proved themselves partners in the prosecution of Canada's war. Shared experiences and class similarities shaped responses based first and foremost in a sense of local identity. Fighting from Home paints a comprehensive, at times intimate, portrait of Verdun and Verdunites at war. Durflinger offers an innovative interpretive approach to wartime Canadian and Quebec social and cultural dynamics in this history of the Canadian home front during the Second World War.

The Fighting Corsairs

The Men of Marine Fighting Squadron 215 in the Pacific during WWII

Author: Jeff Dacus

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 272

View: 856

From historian and columnist in Leatherneck and Armor magazines, this is the exciting, personal account of a Marine fighter squadron in the South Pacific during the critical days of 1943 when the tide turned against the Japanese. Based on individual interviews and wartime documents, this is a thrilling narrative of the Marines who lived, and died, during the toughest battles of the entire war. It looks at the war through the eyes of some of the greatest fighter pilots of all time, including Bob Hanson, the “Maharajah of Rabaul,” and highest scoring Corsair pilot in history.

Temple Bar

A London Magazine for Town and Country Readers

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 951

When You Were Everything

Author: Ashley Woodfolk

Publisher: Delacorte Press

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 402

View: 257

For fans of Nina LaCour's We Are Okay and Adam Silvera's History Is All You Left Me, this heartfelt and ultimately uplifting novel follows one sixteen-year-old girl's friend breakup through two concurrent timelines--ultimately proving that even endings can lead to new beginnings. "Stunning." --Nic Stone, bestselling author of Dear Martin and Odd One Out You can't rewrite the past, but you can always choose to start again. It's been twenty-seven days since Cleo and Layla's friendship imploded. Nearly a month since Cleo realized they'll never be besties again. Now Cleo wants to erase every memory, good or bad, that tethers her to her ex-best friend. But pretending Layla doesn't exist isn't as easy as Cleo hoped, especially after she's assigned to be Layla's tutor. Despite budding friendships with other classmates--and a raging crush on a gorgeous boy named Dom--Cleo's turbulent past with Layla comes back to haunt them both. Alternating between time lines of Then and Now, When You Were Everything blends past and present into an emotional story about the beauty of self-forgiveness, the promise of new beginnings, and the courage it takes to remain open to love. "Breathtakingly beautiful....Woodfolk has a way of making words sing and burst with light." --Tiffany D. Jackson, award-winning author of Monday's Not Coming and Let Me Hear A Rhyme