The Eternity Cure

Author: Julie Kagawa

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 409

View: 504

When Allie follows the call of blood to save her creator, Kanin, from a psychotic vampire, she returns to her birthplace in New Covington and what she finds there may change the world forever.

Dawn of Eden

Author: Julie Kagawa

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 100

View: 115

Before The Immortal Rules, there was Red Lung, a relentless virus determined to take out all in its path. For Kylie, the miracle of her survival is also her burden – as a doctor at one of the clinics for the infected, she is forced to witness endless suffering.

The Forever Song (Blood of Eden, Book 3)

Author: Julie Kagawa

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 416

View: 121

‘Julie Kagawa is a strong new voice’ The Sunday Express The final hunt is on. Vengeance will be hers.

The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden, Book 1)

Author: Julie Kagawa

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 512

View: 187

‘Julie Kagawa is a strong new voice’ The Sunday Express What if having a chance to save humanity meant becoming what you hate and fear most? To survive in a ruined world, she must embrace the darkness...

Shadow of the Fox

Author: Julie Kagawa

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 400

View: 264

One thousand years ago, the great Kami Dragon was summoned to grant a single terrible wish—and the land of Iwagoto was plunged into an age of darkness and chaos. Now, for whoever holds the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers, a new wish will be granted. A new age is about to dawn. Raised by monks in the isolated Silent Winds temple, Yumeko has trained all her life to hide her yokai nature. Half kitsune, half human, her skill with illusion is matched only by her penchant for mischief. Until the day her home is burned to the ground, her adoptive family is brutally slain and she is forced to flee for her life with the temple’s greatest treasure—one part of the ancient scroll. There are many who would claim the dragon’s wish for their own. Kage Tatsumi, a mysterious samurai of the Shadow Clan, is one such hunter, under orders to retrieve the scroll…at any cost. Fate brings Kage and Yumeko together. With a promise to lead him to the scroll, an uneasy alliance is formed, offering Yumeko her best hope for survival. But he seeks what she has hidden away, and her deception could ultimately tear them both apart. With an army of demons at her heels and the unlikeliest of allies at her side, Yumeko’s secrets are more than a matter of life or death. They are the key to the fate of the world itself. New from the New York Times bestselling author of The Talon Saga and The Iron Fey. Fans of Sarah J. Maas, Julie C. Dao, Marie Lu, Cassandra Clare and more bestselling YA fantasy will be captivated by book one of this enchanting new series. “One of my all-time favorite fantasy novels! I'm in love with this book, its characters, its worldbuilding!” —Ellen Oh, author of the Prophecy and Spirit Hunters series

Vampires Are Us

Understanding Our Love Affair with the Immortal Dark Side

Author: Adler, Margot

Publisher: Weiser Books

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 256

View: 589

“Vampires. Why do we care? In these pages you will find what is very simply, the most literate, imaginative, and just plain fascinating answer to that question ever written.” ?Whitley Strieber In a culture that does not do death particularly well, we are obsessed with mortality. Margot Adler writes, “Vampires let us play with death and the issue of mortality. They let us ponder what it would mean to be truly long lived. Would the long view allow us to see the world differently, imagine social structures differently? Would it increase or decrease our reverence for the planet? Vampires allow us to ask questions we usually bury.” As Adler, a longtime NPR correspondent and question asker, sat vigil at her dying husband’s bedside, she found herself newly drawn to vampire novels and their explorations of mortality. Over the next four years—by now she has read more than 270 vampire novels, from teen to adult, from gothic to modern, from detective to comic—she began to see just how each era creates the vampires it needs. Dracula, an Eastern European monster, was the perfect vehicle for 19th-century England’s fear of outsiders and of disease seeping in through its large ports. In 1960s America, Dark Shadows gave us the morally conflicted vampire struggling against his own predatory nature, who still enthralls us today. Think Spike and Angel, Stefan and Damon, Bill and Eric, the Cullens. Vampires Are Us explores the issues of power, politics, morality, identity, and even the fate of the planet that show up in vampire novels today. Perhaps, Adler suggests, our blood is oil, perhaps our prey is the planet. Perhaps vampires are us.

Girls on Fire

Transformative Heroines in Young Adult Dystopian Literature

Author: Sarah Hentges

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 290

View: 737

 Under the threat of climate change, corruption, inequality and injustice, Americans may feel they are living in a dystopian novel come to life. Like many American narratives, dystopian stories often focus on males as the agents of social change. With a focus on the intersections of race, gender, class, sexuality and power, the author analyzes the themes, issues and characters in young adult (YA) dystopian fiction featuring female protagonists—the Girls on Fire who inspire progressive transformation for the future.

Rulers of the Darkness

Author: James D. Elliott

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 44

View: 837

-none-