The Devil in Iron

Author: Robert E. Howard

Publisher: Read Books Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 60

View: 852

This early work by Robert E. Howard was originally published in 1934 and we are now republishing it with a brand new introductory biography. 'The Devil in Iron' is a story in the Conan series involving the resurrection of a mythical demon. Robert Ervin Howard was born in Peaster, Texas in 1906. During his youth, his family moved between a variety of Texan boomtowns, and Howard – a bookish and somewhat introverted child – was steeped in the violent myths and legends of the Old South. At fifteen Howard began to read the pulp magazines of the day, and to write more seriously. The December 1922 issue of his high school newspaper featured two of his stories, 'Golden Hope Christmas' and 'West is West'. In 1924 he sold his first piece – a short caveman tale titled 'Spear and Fang' – for $16 to the not-yet-famous Weird Tales magazine. Howard's most famous character, Conan the Cimmerian, was a barbarian-turned-King during the Hyborian Age, a mythical period of some 12,000 years ago. Conan featured in seventeen Weird Tales stories between 1933 and 1936 which is why Howard is now regarded as having spawned the 'sword and sorcery' genre. The Conan stories have since been adapted many times, most famously in the series of films starring Arnold Schwarzenegger.

Who Put the Devil in Deviled Eggs?

A Food Lover's Guide to America's Favorite Dishes

Author: Ann Treistman

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing Inc.

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 173

View: 176

Collects recipes, histories, and trivia of American favorite foods, including chocolate chips, corn dogs, and steak.

The Devil in Montmartre: A Mystery in Fin de Siècle Paris

Author: Gary Inbinder

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 138

When the mutilated corpse of a beautiful dancer is found in a Montmartre sewer, a nervous public fears that Jack the Ripper has crossed the Channel—but Inspector Achille Lefebvre has his own theories. Amid the hustle and bustle of the Paris 1889 Universal Exposition, workers discover the mutilated corpse of a popular model and Moulin Rouge Can-Can dancer in a Montmartre sewer. Hysterical rumors swirl that Jack the Ripper has crossed the Channel, and Inspector Achille Lefebvre enters the Parisian underworld to track down the brutal killer. His suspects are the artist Toulouse-Lautrec; Jojo, an acrobat at the Circus Fernando, and Sir Henry Collingwood, a mysterious English gynecologist and amateur artist. Pioneering the as-yet-untried system of fingerprint detection and using cutting edge forensics, including crime scene photography, anthropometry, pathology, and laboratory analysis, Achille attempts to separate the innocent from the guilty. But he must work quickly before the “Paris Ripper” strikes again.

The Devil In Disguise: Regency Rogues

Author: Stefanie Sloane

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 142

The first in Stefanie Sloane's intoxicating series of rogues and romance in which a spy must seduce an exquisite lady in order to protect her - and threatens his heart in the charade. Perfect for fans of Sabrina Jeffries, Stephanie Laurens and Eloisa James. Lord William Randall, the Duke of Clairemont, is a rake with little regard for society - a most unlikely suitor for Lady Lucinda Grey. But his latest assignment for the Young Corinthians, an elite spy organisation, involves protecting her from a kidnapping plot. To do this, the notorious 'Iron Will' must use his devilish charm to seduce Lucinda and convince her he's worthy of her attention. William never planned to become enthralled by the lovely Lady Grey - or to lose his own heart in the bargain. Beautiful and fiercely intelligent, Lucinda has managed to gracefully sidestep even the most persistent suitors. Until the Duke of Clairemont, that is. She's tempted by his sinfully sensuous mouth and piercing eyes, and finds it hard to resist the champion thoroughbred he offers her in exchange for the honour of courting her. Can she keep him at arm's length when his touch begs her to let him so much closer? For more sweeping romance check out The Angel In My Arms, The Sinner Who Seduced Me, The Saint Who Stole My Heart, The Scoundrel Takes A Bride and The Wicked Widow Meets Her Match.

The Devil in Disguise

A Regency Rogues Novel

Author: Stefanie Sloane

Publisher: Ballantine Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 278

BONUS: This edition contains an excerpt from Stefanie Sloane's The Saint Who Stole My Heart. Filled with espionage and intrigue, Stefanie Sloane’s witty and sexy debut is a Regency historical—the first novel in a back-to-back Regency Rogues trilogy that features seductive spies and the ladies they must protect. Lord William Randall, the Duke of Clairemont, is a rake with little regard for society—a most unlikely suitor for Lady Lucinda Grey. But his latest assignment for the Young Corinthians, an elite spy organization, involves protecting her from a kidnapping plot. To do this, the notorious “Iron Will” must use his devilish charm to seduce Lucinda and convince her he’s worthy of her attention. William never planned to become enthralled by the lovely Lady Grey—or to lose his own heart in the bargain. Beautiful and fiercely intelligent, Lucinda has managed to gracefully sidestep even the most persistent suitors. Until the Duke of Clairemont, that is. She’s tempted by his sinfully sensuous mouth and piercing eyes, and finds it hard to resist the champion thoroughbred he offers her in exchange for the honor of courting her. Can she keep him at arm’s length when his touch begs her to let him so much closer?

The Devil in Velvet

Author: John Dickson Carr

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 426

View: 651

To solve a centuries-old crime, a man makes a deal with the devil: “The fantasy, the murder and the historical action are . . . all wonderful” (San Francisco Chronicle). An aging scholar of Restoration history, Nicholas Fenton has long dreamed of traveling into the past. He has a date in mind—May 10, 1675—as well as a purpose: to solve the murder case of the woman he loves, his rakehell ancestor’s lovely wife. Obsessed with delivering her from danger, he turns to an unlikely accomplice: the devil. After striking a bargain with the prince of darkness, Fenton awakens in the seventeenth century in the much-younger body of dashing Sir Nick Fenton. In an era when gentlemen died by the blade, Fenton is handy with a rapier, and his knowledge of local history gives him a leg up on the swashbucklers who would have his hide. But while his sword may help him rescue his beloved, it will take more than that to save his soul. Even in 1675, the devil is in the details.

The Devil in Your Garden

Finding Victory Over Shame

Author: Natalie Witcher

Publisher: Tate Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 127

View: 895

Where did it all come from? Why is it such a cancer in our hearts, in our minds? What's the deal here? Why are we paralyzed and afraid? Our soul cries, 'Something's got to give ' Something did. Some One did. Natalie Witcher addresses the pain of shame head on in her book The Devil in Your Garden: Finding Victory over Shame. Through the use of God's Word, inspiring stories, and personal testimony, Natalie shows you the way to freedom from shame through the power of Christ's love. You were not created for shame and can rid The Devil in Your Garden forever.

The Devil in Silicon Valley

Northern California, Race, and Mexican Americans

Author: Stephen J. Pitti

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 297

View: 463

This sweeping history explores the growing Latino presence in the United States over the past two hundred years. It also debunks common myths about Silicon Valley, one of the world's most influential but least-understood places. Far more than any label of the moment, the devil of racism has long been Silicon Valley's defining force, and Stephen Pitti argues that ethnic Mexicans--rather than computer programmers--should take center stage in any contemporary discussion of the "new West." Pitti weaves together the experiences of disparate residents--early Spanish-Mexican settlers, Gold Rush miners, farmworkers transplanted from Texas, Chicano movement activists, and late-twentieth-century musicians--to offer a broad reevaluation of the American West. Based on dozens of oral histories as well as unprecedented archival research, The Devil in Silicon Valley shows how San José, Santa Clara, and other northern California locales played a critical role in the ongoing development of Latino politics. This is a transnational history. In addition to considering the past efforts of immigrant and U.S.-born miners, fruit cannery workers, and janitors at high-tech firms--many of whom retained strong ties to Mexico--Pitti describes the work of such well-known Valley residents as César Chavez. He also chronicles the violent opposition ethnic Mexicans have faced in Santa Clara Valley. In the process, he reinterprets not only California history but the Latino political tradition and the story of American labor. This book follows California race relations from the Franciscan missions to the Gold Rush, from the New Almaden mine standoff to the Apple janitorial strike. As the first sustained account of Northern California's Mexican American history, it challenges conventional thinking and tells a fascinating story. Bringing the past to bear on the present, The Devil in Silicon Valley is counter-history at its best.

The Devil in the Flesh

Author: Raymond Radiguet

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 160

View: 400

As the First World War reaches its final year, an illicit love affair is beginning between a sixteen-year-old boy and a young woman married to a soldier at the front. They meet secretly in her flat on the outskirts of Paris, in cornfields and on river banks. When she receives letters from her husband, they burn them together. Intoxicated by passion, they cannot bear to end their affair, even when it causes a scandal among their friends and neighbours. Instead, they hurtle towards tragedy. Written in spare, haunting prose when Raymond Radiguet was still a teenager, this semi-autobiographical novel became an instant bestseller and its author was hailed as a genius before his tragic death at the age of twenty. Expressing all the anguish and joy of adolescence, it is a work of startling imagery and subtle beauty. Translated by Robert Baldick with an introduction by Fay Weldon