The Death Sculptor

Author: Chris Carter

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 207

FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER THE CALLER. 'Good job you didn't turn on the lights ...' A student nurse has the shock of her life when she discovers her patient, prosecutor Derek Nicholson, brutally murdered in his bed. The act seems senseless - Nicholson was terminally ill with only weeks to live. But what most shocks Detective Robert Hunter of the Los Angeles Robbery Homicide Division is the calling card the killer left behind. For Hunter, there is no doubt that the killer is trying to communicate with the police, but the method is unlike anything he's ever seen before. And what could the hidden message be? Just as Hunter and his partner Garcia reckon they've found a lead, a new body is found - and a new calling card. But with no apparent link between the first and second victims, all the progress they've made so far goes out of the window. Pushed into an uncomfortable alliance with confident investigator Alice Beaumont, Hunter must race to put together the pieces of the puzzle . . . before the Death Sculptor puts the final touches to his masterpiece. Praise for Chris Carter: 'A touch of Patricia Cornwell about Chris Carter's plotting' Mail on Sunday 'Gripping . . . not for the squeamish' Heat 'A page-turner' Express

I Am Death

Author: Chris Carter

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 118

In Top 10 Sunday Times (UK) bestselling author Chris Carter’s electrifying follow-up to his “chilling” (Daily Mail) thriller An Evil Mind, the LAPD’s Ultra Violent Crimes Unit lead detective, Robert Hunter, races to stop a serial killer whose past secrets rival those of Hunter’s himself. Seven days after being abducted, the body of a twenty-year-old woman is found on a grassy area by the Los Angeles International Airport. She has been left with her limbs stretched out and spread apart, placing her in a five-point human star. The autopsy reveals that she has been tortured and murdered in a bizarre way but the surprises don’t end there. The killer likes to play, and he left something behind for the cops to find. Detective Robert Hunter is assigned to the case but almost immediately a second body turns up. Detective Hunter quickly realizes that he is chasing a monster—a predator whose past hides a terrible secret, whose desire to hurt people and thirst for murder can never be quenched—for he is DEATH. Fast-paced, action-packed, and filled with suspense, I Am Death is perfect for fans of Jeffery Deaver, Thomas Harris, and Chelsea Cain.

The Hunter

A gripping and terrifying short story

Author: Chris Carter

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 80

View: 239

A thrilling ebook exclusive short story from Sunday Timesbestselling author Chris Carter. Meet Robert Hunter, the youngest Homicide Detective the Los Angeles Police has ever recruited, on his first day. As a rookie, he is given a simple suicide investigation to cut his teeth on. But when he arrives at the scene, he swiftly begins to suspect that something is not quite right. Despite the fact that the door was locked from the inside, and there is no other way out of the apartment, Hunter has a hunch that the victim did not commit suicide. But with a new Captain to impress and the evidence stacked against him, Hunter has a lot to prove if he is to solve the case and keep his place on the team.

The Good Angel of Death

Author: Andrey Kurkov

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 801

When Kolya moves into a new flat in Kiev, he discovers an annotated manuscript hidden inside a copy of War and Peace and decides to track down its author, even if it means digging up the grave of a Ukranian nationalist who died in mysterious circumstances. An exhumation reveals that an item of great national importance is buried near a fort in Kazakstan so when, during his night shift as a security guard, Kolya is threatened with mysterious phone calls, he sets off on what turns out to be a very bizarre journey. Along the way he meets a host of unlikely characters including Bedouins, ex-KGB officers and a spirit-like companion in the form of a chameleon. From the author of cult bestseller, Death and the Penguin.

Constantin Meunier

A Dialogue with Allan Sekula

Author: Hilde van Gelder

Publisher: Leuven University Press

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 135

View: 472

This book is the outcome of a collaborative research project between LGC, the Leuven Museumsite and STUK Arts Centre. Constantin Meunier (1831–1905) was a Belgian painter and sculptor. On the occasion of the centennial anniversary of Constantin Meunier's death, the contributions by Sura Levine and Marjan Sterckx examine the importance of Meunier for Leuven, where he taught at the Arts Academy from 1887 until 1897 and lived from 1887 until 1894. As a complement, four authors from various disciplinary backgrounds address the actuality of Meunier's social realist thought today. Virginie Devillez investigates the possibilities of a social realist art after the debacle of socialist realism, focussing on the Belgian 20th century artistic context and the work of contemporary Belgian artists and filmmakers such as the fr?res Dardenne. Hilde Van Gelder specifically zooms in on the possibilities of making a social or critical realist art, comparing closely the work of Meunier and Sekula. Human rights specialist Eva Brems discusses the impact of contemporary globalisation on the current viability of social rights. Labour law expert Marc De Vos screens the jurisdictional actuality of social realist thought today, especially in respect to issues such as pensions and the greying of society.

The Dead Duke, His Secret Wife and the Missing Corpse

An Extraordinary Edwardian Case of Deception and Intrigue

Author: Piu Marie Eatwell

Publisher: Head of Zeus

ISBN:

Category: True Crime

Page: 352

View: 851

The extraordinary story of the Druce-Portland affair, one of the most notorious, tangled and bizarre legal cases of the late Victorian and Edwardian eras. In 1897 an elderly widow, Anna Maria Druce, made a strange request of the London Ecclesiastical Court: it was for the exhumation of the grave of her late father-in-law, T.C. Druce. Behind her application lay a sensational claim: that Druce had been none other than the eccentric and massively wealthy 5th Duke of Portland, and that the – now dead – Duke had faked the death of his alter ego. When opened, Anna Maria contended, Druce's coffin would be found to be empty. And her children, therefore, were heirs to the Portland millions. The legal case that followed would last for ten years. Its eventual outcome revealed a dark underbelly of lies lurking beneath the genteel facade of late Victorian England.

The 100 Most Influential Painters & Sculptors of the Renaissance

Author: Britannica Educational Publishing

Publisher: Britannica Educational Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 376

View: 336

The Renaissance was a fantastic period of rebirth in terms of art and culture. This book recounts the struggles and victories of the most celebrated artists who lived and worked at this time. The masterpieces of Leonardo da Vinci, Pieter Bruegel, Sandro Botticelli, and others are highlighted.