The Dark Inside

Author: Rod Reynolds

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 862

1946, Texarkana: a town on the border of Texas and Arkansas. Disgraced New York reporter Charlie Yates has been sent to cover the story of a spate of brutal murders - young couples who've been slaughtered at a local date spot. Charlie finds himself drawn into the case by the beautiful and fiery Lizzie, sister to one of the victims, Alice - the only person to have survived the attacks and seen the killer up close. But Charlie has his own demons to fight, and as he starts to dig into the murders he discovers that the people of Texarkana have secrets that they want kept hidden at all costs. Before long, Charlie discovers that powerful forces might be protecting the killer, and as he investigates further his pursuit of the truth could cost him more than his job... Loosely based on true events, The Dark Inside is a compelling and pacy thriller that heralds a new voice in the genre. It will appeal to fans of RJ Ellory, Tom Franklin, Daniel Woodrell and True Detective.

Black Night Falling

Author: Rod Reynolds

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 312

It was almost dark when i landed... 'There are echoes of Chandler in washed-up journalist Charlie Yates's terse, cynical narration but this is more than a mere pastiche: it's subtle, original and enthralling.' Jake Kerridge, Sunday Express Having left Texarkana for the safety of the West Coast, reporter Charlie Yates finds himself drawn back to the South, to Hot Springs, Arkansas, as an old acquaintance asks for his help. This time it's less of a story Charlie's chasing, more of a desperate attempt to do the right thing before it's too late. Rod Reynolds' exceptional second novel picks up just a few months on from The Dark Inside, and once again displays the feel for place, period and atmosphere which marked out his acclaimed debut.

Cold Desert Sky

Author: Rod Reynolds

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 559

No one wanted to say it to me, that the girls were dead. But I knew. Late 1946 and Charlie Yates and his wife Lizzie have returned to Los Angeles, trying to stay anonymous in the city of angels. But when Yates, back in his old job at the Pacific Journal, becomes obsessed by the disappearance of two aspiring Hollywood starlets, Nancy Hill and Julie Desjardins, he finds it leads him right back to his worst fear: legendary Mob boss Benjamin 'Bugsy' Siegel, a man he once crossed, and whose shadow he can't shake. As events move from LA to the burgeoning Palace of Sin in the desert, Las Vegas - where Siegel is preparing to open his new Hotel Casino, The Flamingo - Rod Reynolds once again shows his skill at evoking time and place. With Charlie caught between the FBI and the mob, can he possibly see who is playing who, and find out what really happened to the two girls?

The Supernatural Index

A Listing of Fantasy, Supernatural, Occult, Weird, and Horror Anthologies

Author: Michael Ashley

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 933

View: 600

Indexes story collections by editor, book title, author, and story title

Within Our Gates

Ethnicity in American Feature Films, 1911-1960

Author: America Film Institute Staff

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 1571

View: 120

"[These volumes] are endlessly absorbing as an excursion into cultural history and national memory."--Arthur Schlesinger, Jr. "[These volumes] are endlessly absorbing as an excursion into cultural history and national memory."--Arthur Schlesinger, Jr.

The Ashes of a Broken Life

Author: Roberta Kennedy

Publisher: Outskirts Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 405

View: 567

When Flannery O’Connor Larkin, age thirty, returns to the Chicago area to spend time with her Granny Anne, who raised her, she also hopes to reconnect with her ex-fiancé. Derek is going through a messy divorce from his wife, Chloe—a vengeful, selfish, and abusive mother to their two children, Jack and Lucy. Derek never loved Chloe, but married her when she tricked him into believing she was pregnant with his child. Throughout their six-year marriage, Chloe has continued her affair with Derek’s brother, Sean, who is Jack’s biological father—and everyone knows that Derek has been caught in Chloe’s web of deception. When Derek and Flannery meet again, it’s clear their love for each other never waned. They are married only months after Derek’s divorce is finalized from Chloe, who is Flannery’s younger half-sister. But Chloe is furious and determined to tear them apart. And she will go to any lengths to satisfy her warped need for revenge…

When Darkness Creeps

Author: Paul Schneider

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 258

View: 564

After losing his brother in the creature-infested woods in Congo, West Africa, Noah enlists the help of his new friends, JJ and Leah. An interesting friendship is forged among the three, with each hiding personal secrets. Leah lost her best friend to a disease infecting many in the village, but that is not all she is hiding. JJ holds the most secrets, as he is deeply involved in theft and drug activity back home in the States. They cross paths for reasons beyond anything they could ever imagine. The locals in the African village remain silent about the latest happenings as a dreadful disease continues to wreak havoc. A spiritual battle is at hand as Leah seeks help from the local witch doctor, Batu. And then there are the eyes—piercing, wild eyes that watch their every move and are about to become discontent with only observing from a distance. Will the trio escape the darkness both from within and without? Will the light prevail against the creeping darkness?

The Doctor Who Programme Guide

Fourth Edition

Author: Jean-Marc Lofficier; Randy Lofficier

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 247

View: 481

The Doctor Who Programme Guide is the complete guide to every Doctor Who story shown on television. The stories are listed in order of broadcasting, starting with the first episode broadcast in 1963. Each entry includes the storyline, the cast list, and the names of the producer, script editor, writer and director, and the details of novelizations, video and audio cassette releases. This indispensable guide first appeared over twenty years ago, and immediately established itself as the single, most important reference work about Doctor Who. "THE bible to an entire generation of [Doctor Who] fans on both sides of the Atlantic." -Andrew Pixley, Celestial Toyroom "A real treat for Doctor Who buffs." -David McDonnell, Starlog "It sits invaluably upon every fan's bookshelf and is a constant source of reference." -Gary Russell, Doctor Who Monthly "A remarkable work of...dedicated scholarship." -Barry Letts, Producer, Doctor Who