The Crossword Mysteries Holiday Collection

A Crossworder's Holiday, A Crossworder's Gift, Wrapped Up in Crosswords, and A Crossworder's Delight

Author: Nero Blanc

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 755

View: 444

Four holiday whodunits in one—the perfect present for puzzle fans! “Light-hearted capers . . . Each as frothy as a cup of good eggnog” (The Wall Street Journal). Together, crossword editor and amateur sleuth Belle Graham and her private detective husband, Rosco Polycrates, are “a great investigative team in the tradition of Nick and Nora” (Bookbrowse). In this holiday-themed collection—featuring two story anthologies and two novels by national bestselling author Nero Blanc—Belle and Rosco follow the clues and fill in the blanks to find the answers to some very puzzling mysteries. A Crossworder’s Holiday: In these five short mysteries, Belle and Rosco solve puzzles in Pennsylvania Dutch Country, Nantucket, and a haunted house in the Cotswolds. Perhaps the most challenging is the case of mobster Freddy Five Fingers, who was sending tip-offs to the cops via crosswords printed in the local tabloid—before he croaked. A Crossworder’s Gift: Five more Yuletide mysteries take Belle and Rosco from sunny St. Lucia where they decipher clues to find a buried treasure to a blizzard that strands a sewing circle. And in Las Vegas, a high roller has strewn clues throughout his suite to form a crossword puzzle that leads to loot. Wrapped Up in Crosswords: With Christmas approaching, Belle does her part creating a Noel crossword contest while Rosco dons a red suit and snowy-white beard to collect toys for the town’s annual children’s drive. But his good will starts to dim when he and two Newcastle Police Department colleagues are mistaken for escaped convicts masquerading as small-town Santas. A Crossworder’s Delight: Just in time for the holidays at Newcastle’s historic Paul Revere Inn, Belle discovers an abandoned treasure: a book of dessert recipes written in the form of crosswords handed down from mother to daughter. But as nice as that is, someone else has been naughty: A valuable Longfellow poem has been stolen from its place of honor on the wall of the inn’s front parlor. As he starts to investigate, Rosco finds himself with a new sleuthing partner, twelve-year-old E. T. Whitman—a bit of a wordsmith himself.

The Harper Connelly eBook Collection

Author: Charlaine Harris

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 1500

View: 134

All four HARPER CONNELLY books, collected in one bundle Contains four fantastic novels: GRAVE SIGHT, GRAVE SURPRISE, AN ICE COLD GRAVE and GRAVE SECRET

Four-Letter Words

And Other Secrets of a Crossword Insider

Author: Michelle Arnot

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 240

View: 185

Crossword puzzle expert and champion Michelle Arnot has complied this irresistibly fun and entertaining manual filled with fascinating facts, puzzle miscellany, and surefire tips for puzzle solving. For devoted daily puzzlers, casual solvers, and fearless crossword warriors alike, this book offers insights into the addictive world of crossword puzzles including: • Insider secrets, techniques, and tips • Obscure four-letter words for scoring big points • Advanced strategies of competitive puzzlers • Inside stories of eccentric players and all-time champions of the grids • Trivia, lore, and the lingo of crosswording

A Crossword to Die For

Author: Nero Blanc

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 295

View: 731

Murder is a family affair when crossword editor Belle Graham’s dad dies under suspicious circumstances Newlyweds Rosco Polycrates and Belle Graham are settling into life with a new puppy in their charming New England townhouse when Belle’s estranged father sets out to visit them. Except renowned anthropologist Theodore A. Graham never makes it off the train. According to the coroner, he died of a heart attack aboard the Amtrak to Newcastle. Now Belle is flying down to Florida to dispose of the effects of a man she barely knew. On Sanibel Island, she makes some bizarre discoveries. And when another body turns up, she vows to uncover the truth behind her father’s secret life—and death. With Rosco aiding and abetting, Belle’s on the trail of a massive conspiracy to conceal a lethal secret. Up, down, and across states, she must stay one grid ahead of a diabolical killer. This ebook includes six crossword puzzles that can be downloaded as PDFs, with answers in the back of the book, plus a bonus recipe. A Crossword to Die For is the 4th book in the Crossword Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.

Anatomy of a Crossword

Author: Nero Blanc

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 327

View: 873

Someone’s trying to write characters out of the script in this suspenseful crossword puzzler featuring PI Rosco Polycrates and crossword editor Belle Graham Belle Graham is mired in New England’s snowy, late-January gloom when Hollywood comes calling. Seduced by visions of relaxing poolside in sunny Los Angeles, she heads to Hollywood to create a puzzle for a TV movie based on a crime she and her husband, Rosco Polycrates, recently cracked. The hook is that the show is interactive—viewers get to solve the crime on air with Belle. The trouble starts when Belle discovers that someone has replaced her crossword with a brand-new set of clues. Then a series of suspicious accidents culminates in murder. In a case in which everyone’s under suspicion—and all are harboring secrets—the backstage backstabbing is heating up to a fever pitch. Now Rosco’s jetting out to La-La Land to help Belle sort out the clues while the truth is still in development and a killer could make this show a done deal. This ebook includes six crossword puzzles that contain clues to solving the mystery and can be downloaded as PDFs, with answers in the back of the book. Anatomy of a Crossword is the 6th book in the Crossword Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.

ANAGRAMS FOR CROSSWORDS

A collection of word anagrams

Author: Dr Annavarapu Gopalakrishna

Publisher: Author House

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 228

View: 287

Even the manliest will suffer from ailments Sweat imparts body odour to armpits He has money aplenty to pay the penalty When education is auctioned and teachers become cheaters, naturally the student will be stunted Does the lameness of nameless salesmen affect their maleness? The gardener garnered the crop The getaway car was parked near the gateway When the designer was asked to redesign, he promptly resigned On being swindled one’s faith in others dwindles running after lucre Will give you ulcer Butlers are subtler

The Crosswords Club Collection

Author: Will Weng

Publisher: Random House Puzzles & Games

ISBN:

Category: Games

Page: 80

View: 570

·50 Sunday-size puzzles originally enjoyed by subscribers to the exclusive Crosswords Club mail-order service ·Classic crosswords offering a bit of nostalgia for any puzzler ·A special Answers section featuring quirky tidbits about each crossword

Fabulous Crossword Collection

Author: Parragon

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Games

Page: 384

View: 450

Everyone loves a crossword! This collection is packed with crossword puzzles of all challenge levels and makes an ideal gift or stocking stuffer for any crossword puzzle fan.

Amazing Facts

The Indispensable Collection of True Life Facts and Feats

Author: Richard B. Manchester

Publisher: Arrowood Press

ISBN:

Category: Curiosities and wonders

Page: 344

View: 377

The Times Crossword Collection:160 of the Most Famous Crosswords in the World

Author:

Publisher: Times Books Uk

ISBN:

Category: Games & Activities

Page: 384

View: 595

The Times Crossword is the world's most famous crossword. This is a compilation of The Times Crossword Books 1 & 4, the crosswords having been compiled by Mike Laws, the former editor of The Times Crossword. The Times Crossword has been baffling, infuriating, challenging and delighting its devotees for close on 75 years. Over this period of time it has become, quite deservedly, the world's most famous crossword. It is, quite simply, The Times Crossword. The majority of clues are of standard and familiar types, including double definitions, anagrams, build-ups (using concatenation, reversal, shortening and inclusion), clues based on homophones, and hidden clues. Essential to The Times crossword is the cryptic definition, relying solely on the subtle use of language. The crosswords are also peppered with 'makeshift' clues in which a single letter shifts within a word or group of words.