The Complete Nonsense and Other Verse

Author: Edward Lear

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 624

View: 708

'Nonsense is the breath of my nostrils', wrote Edward Lear (1812-88), and this collection demonstrates the wonderfully varied ways in which he pursued his philosophy of life. He created an extraordinary world filled with bizarre creatures - from the Dong with a luminous nose to the Pobble who has no toes - who misbehave with joyful abandon. Here can be found such exuberant and timeless verse as 'The Owl and the Pussy-cat', 'The Quangle Wangle's Hat' and numerous comic limericks, along with stories, letters, alphabets and recipes, all accompanied throughout with his fantastical line drawings. Gently pointing out human follies and the absurdities of the conventional Victorian society in which he lived, Lear's nonsense has enchanted children and adults alike for generations.

The Complete Verse and Other Nonsense

Author: Edward Lear

Publisher: Allen Lane

ISBN:

Category: Limericks

Page: 566

View: 364

The absurd and fanciful verses of Edward Lear-from "The Owl and the Pussy-cat" to "The Jumblies," from "The Scroobious Pip" to countless limericks-have enchanted generations of readers, children and adults alike. This delightful collection, the most comprehensive ever compiled of his work, presents all of Lear's verse and other nonsense writings, including stories, letters, and illustrated alphabets, as well as previously unpublished material. Featuring Lear's own line drawings throughout and an introduction by leading Lear authority Vivien Noakes, this captivating volume reveals a complex man of ample talents, achievements, and influence-and is teeming with timeless nonsense.

The Complete Nonsense of Edward Lear

Author: Edward Lear

Publisher: Courier Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 288

View: 676

Compiles all of the nonsense limericks, songs, poems and stories written by the English poet

Complete Nonsense

Author: Edward Lear

Publisher: Wordsworth Editions

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 528

This edition of Lear's work contains all the verse and stories of "The Book of Nonsense", "More Nonsense", "Nonsense Songs", "Nonsense Stories and Nonsense Alphabets" and "Nonsense Cookery".

Complete Nonsense Book of Edward Lear

Author: Edward Lear

Publisher: Book Sales

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 480

View: 513

An in-depth volume celebrates a popular and witty children's author, providing a complete collection of his endearing limericks, wacky verses, and nonsense alphabets, and accompanying many with black-and-white illustrations.

The Natural History of Edward Lear, New Edition

Author: Robert McCracken Peck

Publisher: Princeton University Press

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 240

View: 437

"Edward Lear is well known as the brilliant writer of nonsense poetry, children's books, and travel books who popularized the limerick, and wrote verses such as "The Owl and the Pussycat." But few people are aware that Lear was one of the most talented and accomplished painters of natural history subjects in the nineteenth century, and worked with British scientists, collectors, and publishers to make Britain the nexus for scientific investigation and its circulation. One of the best ornithological artists of his generation, Lear published his first book, a monograph on the parrot family, at age 18, and established a format that would be followed by decades by such publishers as John Gould, with whom he worked closely and often anonymously. Over his career, Lear produced a multitude of drawings of birds and mammals from around the world for scientific publications, public institutions, and individual patrons, not just of English species, but of birds and mammals from Australia, New Zealand, and the Americas. He is also the Lear in the name of the rare species Lear's Macaw. In this book, Peck has assembled the first comprehensive view of this important part of Lear's career. Featuring over 200 illustrations and a foreword by Sir David Attenborough, the book also examines the influence Lear had on modern artists such as Walton Ford and Tony Foster. This new edition includes a new chapter that addresses Lear's continued fascination with wildlife and the natural world after giving up his career as a scientific illustrator, and his fascination with domestic pets, from his own beloved cat which he cartooned repeatedly, to the portraits of dogs owned by his family and friends, alongside thirteen never-before-published illustrations, including fully finished watercolors, rough preliminary sketches, and whimsical cartoons"--

Complete Nonsense

Author: Mervyn Peake

Publisher: Carcanet

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 256

View: 900

Nonsense', wrote Mervyn Peake, can take you by the hand and lead you nowhere. It's magic.' Peake (1911-68) is one of the great English nonsense poets, in the tradition of Lewis Carroll and Edward Lear. His verses lead the reader into places where cause is cut free of effect and language takes on a giddy life of its own. Malicious bowler hats threaten their owners, a cake is chased across an ocean by a rakish knife, aunts become flatfish or live on sphagnum moss. Fully annotated, with a detailed introduction, Complete Nonsense contains all the poems and illustrations from Peake's Book of Nonsense (1972), with forty unpublished poems discovered in manuscripts and thirty from uncollected sources, including all the nonsense verses from his novels. It reprints complete - for the first time and in colour - the words and images from Rhymes without Reason (1944), and Peake's comic masterpiece Figures of Speech (1954). All the poems have been newly edited, often from Peake's manuscripts, by Robert Maslen, editor of Peake's Collected Poems (Carcanet), and Peter Winnington, the leading Peake scholar and biographer. Peake wrote of the rare art that glitters with the divine lunacy we call nonsense': Complete Nonsense glitters with Peake's benign and wayward imagination.