The Chateau on the Lake

Author: Charlotte Betts

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 681

A compelling tale of romance and betrayal set during the danger of the French Revolution, perfect for readers of Dinah Jefferies, Lucinda Riley and Jenny Ashcroft. 'Romantic, engaging and hugely satisfying' Katie Fforde on The Apothecary's Daughter 1792. As a teacher at her parents' Academy for Young Ladies in the heart of London, Madeleine Moreau has lived her life sheltered from the outside world. But on the night of a dazzling Masquerade, tragedy strikes and she is left alone in the world. Desperate to find the family she never knew, Madeleine impulsively travels to France in search of them. But with war around the corner, and fearing for Madeleine's safety, the enigmatic Comte Etienne d'Aubery offers her protection at his home, Chateau Mirabelle. Chateau Mirabelle enchants Madeleine with its startling beauty, but it is a place of dark and haunting secrets. As the Revolution gathers momentum and the passions of the populace are enflamed, Madeleine must take control of her own destiny and unravel events of the past in order to secure a chance of future happiness. Praise for Charlotte Betts 'Betts' description is second to none . . . you inhale all the sights, sounds and smells of the setting and engage with every one of the characters. I stayed awake until 3am to finish it. A superb book' The Sun 'Full of passion and drama . . . I was captivated by this moving, heart-warming and beautifully woven story - gripping, atmospheric, eloquently told and full of rich detail' Kate Furnivall, bestselling author of The Russian Concubine 'You will never be disappointed with a Charlotte Betts book!' Amazon reviewer 'Well-written and thought-provoking' Goodreads reviewer 'A fantastic story loaded with history' Amazon reviewer

A Week on the Lake

Author: Roger Lloyd

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 190

View: 339

The author was born in Oklahoma in 1934 and moved to England with his parents and sister in 1939. At the outbreak of War he returned to Oklahoma with his mother and sister, though his father remained in England. At the end of the War the family was reunited in England. During the following years the family spent many summers by the Lake of Geneva, Switzerland. It was partly these memories which brought the author to revisit the Lake, and partly his interest in the great figures of the Romantic movement associated with the Lake. In particular, he retraced the voyage which the poets Byron and Shelley took around the Lake in the summer of 1816. Apart from Byron and Shelley this brought the author to reflect on the lives, thought and careers of other persons associated with the Lake, including Mary Shelley, Edward Gibbon, J-J Rousseau, William Beckford, Benjamin Constant and Mme de Stael, reminders of whom he encountered in the course of his week on the Lake.

Steamboats on the Lakes

Author: Maurice D. Smith

Publisher: James Lorimer & Company

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 96

View: 443

Filled with rich illustrations, discover how steamships shaped the people and places of 19th century Ontario In the nineteenth century, steamships ruled the Great Lakes and rivers of Upper Canada (now Ontario). Powered by ever-evolving engines that helped them defy the forces of wind and waves governing the progress of a sailing ship, steamships sped up not only the transportation of passengers and goods throughout the province but its very settlement and growth. In Steamboats on the Lakes, marine historian Maurice D. Smith brings together technological and social history. From the story of the building of the first Ontario steamship in 1816, the Frontenac, and its successors that carried vital supplies into and rich resources out of growing communities, to the fire on board the passenger ship Noronic in 1949 -- an event that marked the beginning of the end for the steamboat era -- and the preservation of the Segwun, Smith shows us the range and colour of these magnificent vessels' history. With a rich collection of paintings, photographs, and other illustrations from museums and archives across Ontario, Steamboats on the Lakes tells the unique story of the boats, the dangerous waters they plied, and the daring entrepreneurs and hardy sailors who navigated the many rough and glorious passages of the steamships' heyday.

The British Novelists

With an Essay, and Prefaces, Biographical and Critical by Mrs. Barbauld

Author: Mrs. Barbauld (Anna Letitia)

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: English literature

Page:

View: 765

Guardians of the Peaks

Mountain Rescue in the Canadian Rockies and Columbia Mountains

Author: Kathy Calvert

Publisher: Rocky Mountain Books Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 327

View: 915

Mountain rescue in western Canada developed through the Canadian Pacific Railway's use of Swiss guides to enhance the climbing experience in the early 1900s. These guides brought their knowledge of mountain rescue to the Canadian Rockies. As climbing gained in popularity with the emerging middle classes after the Second World War, tragic accidents became more common. Two accidents in 195455 (the deaths of a group of female climbers from Mexico on Mt. Victoria and a group of Philadelphia schoolboys on Mt. Temple) forced the government to develop a professional mountain rescue team through the Park Warden Service under the tutelage of Walter Perren (a Swiss guide and the father of mountain rescue in Canada). Perren essentially turned cowboys into competent rescue personnel, and the story takes off from there.Following five principal men through the first 50 years of mountain rescue in Canada, Guardians of the Peaks also looks at all aspects of the rescue experience. It is the story of personal tragedy and the ability of individuals to cope with this stress-laced, demanding occupation.

The Mirror of Literature, Amusement, and Instruction

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 852

Containing original essays; historical narratives, biographical memoirs, sketches of society, topographical descriptions, novels and tales, anecdotes, select extracts from new and expensive works, the spirit of the public journals, discoveries in the arts and sciences, useful domestic hints, etc. etc. etc.

The Luckiest Man Alive

Author: Stephen R. Howard

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 514

View: 405

This story is the culmination of a dream, a family and a journey. The dream continued over three consecutive nights during and after a flight to Australia. Steve and his wife had changed flights in Hong Kong where they purchased some Melatonin tablets to help avaoid jet lag. Steve then slept from Hong Kong to Adelaide and the dream started. It continued over the next two nights whilst sleeping i the home of their great friend Marion just North of Adelaide. The family in the dream is Steve's real family as the dream had woven them all into the story. The other - French - family is pure dream. However Steve's wife is a doctor and they do both work in the NHS. Steve's brother did die too early at the age of 57. His Sister and her husband have raised money and built a school in Uganda and his younger brother is completing the conversion of a barn to the South West of Limoges. Steve has two children and one adorable grand daughter. His daughter has been looking at the geneology of the family and his son is a computer nerd whilst also being the family adventurer. The journey was to visit his brother near Limoges where he fell in love with the area and 'discovered' the Chateau that he had seen in the dream - smaller than he remembered but hey that's dreams for you.

The Canadian Rockies

Author: Douglas Leighton

Publisher: Rocky Mountain Books Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Photography

Page: 112

View: 368

Without a doubt, this is the all-time bestselling book on the Canadian Rockies. Through the lens of his camera, Douglas Leighton has captured the magic and the majesty of the Canadian Rockies. Because he is a resident of these mountains himself, his reverence for the alpine wilderness is evident in his photography. His images successfully convey the pristine nature of this ever-changing landscape. Leighton's work represents both his respect for the unique character of the Rockies and his aspiration to share with others the beauty of this untamed place.